Homemade Almond Milk | Easy & Affordable | Video Recipe

in #food7 years ago

Almond milk is a beverage made from ground almonds, often used as a substitute for dairy milk. Unlike animal milk, almond milk contains neither cholesterol nor lactose. As it does not contain any animal products, it is suitable for vegans and vegetarians who abstain from dairy products. I hope you all enjoy this amazing recipe for homemade almond milk. I used vanilla and honey as my flavor and sweetener, but there are so many other flavor profiles that you could use: cinnamon, lemon zest, maple syrup, agave, etc.

Don't Forget to Resteem so others can learn too. :)

If you have recipe you would like to see me make, let me know in the comments below. Let me know of what you think of this recipe on Instagram or Twitter (@vegetarianbaker).

Print This Delicious Recipe

Subscribe To My YouTube

<

I enjoy homemade almond milk in all of my daily smoothies.Check the links at the bottom of the page to see some of my smoothies on Steem.

Ingredients:
1 Cup Raw Almonds
5 1/2 Cups Filtered Water
1 TBS Honey or Agave
1 TBS Vanilla

Directions:

  1. Soak the almonds overnight in 2 cups of filtered water.
  2. Drain the almonds and put them in a blender with 1 1/2 cups filtered water and flavorings.
  3. Blend on high for 3 minutes.
  4. Scrape down sides and add up to 2 more cups of filtered water. (Less water = thicker, more intensely flavored milk)
  5. Line a colander with cheesecloth, and strain the mixture through it.
  6. Make sure to squeeze all the milk out of the almonds.
  7. Drink immediately or store in jar in the fridge.

Print This Delicious Recipe

A few of My Last Recipes:
Almond Butter
Vegan BBQ Sauce
Vegan Baked Doughnuts
Tropical Bliss Green Smoothie
Strawberry Banana Smoothie


Follow, Upvote, & Resteem!

@vegetarianbaker

Sort:  

I love home made "milk" as it's so much cheaper and you're in control how rich you make it. Golden milk (with turmeric) from home made almond milk must be delish, have you tried yet?

I love golden milk. :)

I just learned about gorilla milk. I resteemed it, but need to try it still.

Gorilla milk looks so rich, must be a calcium bomb! I have tried similar recipes but not the "gorilla milk" yet!

I'm intrigued. I'm working on green milk, but it's very different than that.

Love your posts , keep us hungry :D

Aww thanks. Ill do my best.

Ooh that doesn't sound too bad! My boyfriend always says "Almond milk? But how do you milk them when they are so small!". Yup, he's a joker.

I wake up every morning to do it. :) haha

Haha awesome :D

Yup, agree with this. Sometimes give my baby almond milk, find it much easier on the tummy compared to cow's milk. Good alternative if you're lactose-intolerant.

We as humans are becoming more and more lactose-intolerant. we just think the side effects are normal because we are taught that.

If you think about it, we're the only species drinking another animal's milk. Unfortunately, the world's been brainwashed to believe that cow milk is a necessity. Just need to look at the expensive range of infant formula for proof of this propaganda.

OH I KNOW. That's one reason I stopped drinking milk way before I was vegan. I think dairy is the leading cause of obesity. Why I say that is because milk has growth hormones in it to promote growth in the young. Thats why we drink breast milk.

So if we drink milk from a cow, that means we are ingesting the growth hormones to grow into the size of a cow.

Imagine if they had "Upsize to Cowsize" stamped on every carton. Fastest way to cut consumption ever lol

Another delish post!
Happy Thursday to you :)

Thanks :) Happy Thursday to you as well. :) or like i to say it, Friday Eve. :)

I made it today. I don't drink it on its own, I make smoothies with it, because I don't like to eat and drink replacements for animal products, but smoothies taste lot better with ti.
And for the recipe, I would really want to know how to make something delicious with cantaloupe like a cake or something :)

I don't drink it alone either. I love dipping my vegan cookies into them. :)

A cantaloupe recipe. Ill get on that. :) Thanks for the suggestion

Great tips dear! I'm just wondering a simple pannacotta made with that fresh almond milk! Must be amazing ! Thanks for the share !

Ooh, I bet that would be delicious. I have a chocolate almond milk and strawberry almond milk recipe as well. I'll be posting those in the coming weeks. :)

That's wonderful! Will look forward to these recipes!

Thanks. :) and thanks for the resteem. :)

As someone that is lactose intolerant, this sounds delicious and I love almond milk.

I have so many milk alternative recipes coming soon. :)

That's great, I'm gonna follow you. :D

Ohhh I love almond milk with vanilla and cinnamon ♥ I use dates to sweetend mine or my beloved date syrup :p Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe :)

This almond milk looks delicious. I bet it's amazing with honey! Must try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50