Tropical Bliss Green Smoothie | Vegan & Gluten-Free | Green Smoothie Challenge

A big congrats to @amy-goodrich for 1,000 followers on Steem. If you don't know who she is, you definitely should follower her. She shows some of your favorite recipes daily with the world and they all look extremely scrumptious. For her 1,000th follower celebration, Amy has decided to have a green smoothie recipe contest. I love green smoothies already and I try to have one every day.

For me, green smoothies have variability and health benefits depending on the time of year. I try to use local ingredients and what ever is in season. Mango season is almost over, but I'm happy to have them in this recipe because it to this smoothie to the next level. I also used kale in this smoothie. I grew it this spring in my garden and then froze it for year around use.


For This recipe You'll Need:
1 Handful of Spinach
1 Handful of Kale
1 Banana, frozen
1 Orange, peeled
1 Mango
1 Cup of Almond Milk

Place all of the ingredients into a blender. I'm using a Vitamix 780. This is a very high powered blender that really pulverizes everything. It makes the smoothest smoothies. There's something about some cheaper, low powered blenders that just don't do the job on the kale and spinach. It just is unappetizing to have shreds of spinach in your smoothie that you are expecting to be smooth.

This recipe makes enough for one person. I found that it makes about 16-20 ounces depending on the juiciness of the mango and oranges. Feel free to double or triple this recipe for more to enjoy. This is one of my go to recipes to end my daily intermittent fasting. If you are curious about that, I may do a mini blog series about my experience with fasting.

This recipe is full of Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Calcium, Iron and protein. Get out there and start making healthier changes in your life. One smoothie at a time.

Cheers!


Follow, Upvote, & Resteem!

@vegetarianbaker

Sort:  

the smoothie matches your eyes 😍

I noticed that when I was editing the photo. haha I actually really loved the one with the Smoothie-Stache that I had to make it my profile pic on Facebook. :)

Haha love it :) that smoothie looks really tasty

It was very creamy and frothy. Turned out great. I make up most of my smoothie recipes by what I see in my fridge. :) This was one of my favorites.

yummy, I had a similar version of this smoothie today ;)

I posted it as well today ;) (it had the same ingredients as yours and as usual for me even more^^)

Smoothies for me are meant to be very simple. I try to keep to about 5-6 ingredients.

yeah I probably have to make them a bit simpler sometimes as well ;)

Smoothies are like soup. You take out whatever you have an mix it together hah

How many calories would you say that this shake has?

I'd say just under 500. Mangoes have a bit of calorie content to them.

Hehe, I love your green mustache :)

It looks delicious @vegetarianbaker!
I love raw food so I'm definitely going to follow you!
Thank you for sharing!

Thanks. Not all of my food is raw, but some of it is. :) I hope there are a few recipes you may enjoy. :)

Very nice. Healthy! my buddy @joehedz also taught me this.

taught you a smoothie recipe?

You should enter it into @amy-goodrich's competition then.

Ohh yum! Thanks for the entry! I love them too! Not sure if you read the challenge correct, though! The aim was to make people drink one green drink every day for 7 days to get them hooked! Hence the 7-day challenge. Though I love your post I'm going to need proof that you drink one every day! I'm sure you do. My mission is getting more greens in people's lives and through the exact same challenge, my husband and many other people I know or work with are now hooked on the green drinks! Love the green moustache pic!

Yeah. Definitely misread the rules. Oh well. :) Got a a great pic out of it still haha

Hehe! No worries... love the post! Good job!

Mmmmmmm... smoothieeees....
That is my cup of tea. I have to try this one 😆 thanks a lot brother!

You are very welcome Brother. :) haha I love smoothies. They're so satisfying and healthy.

I also posted a new smoothie recipe, I think you will like it 😉 check it out if you find the time for it

This looks AMAZING, definitely going to try this!!

Aww thanks. It really was. I wish i had some more mangos just so I could drink it again. :) Let me know how you like it. It was amazing. What's your favorite type of smoothie?

Right now its a PB2 powder, oatmeal, almond milk, honey and frozen banana breakfast smoothie, the oatmeal makes it so filling and thick! I will probably be posting that recipe soon so check it out :)

ooh that sounds delicious. Probably thick enough to eat with a spoon :) can't wait to see it.

Great recipe for smoothies! :)

Thank you so much. :) It was mighty delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56