Island Silba: part two

in #food5 years ago

Hello everyone, its Ana again, food and travel enthusiast. In this post I’m going to cointinue talking about my food experience at island Silba, and try to pass on you some of magical Silba vibes.

1.png
@oprrosti

So Silba is really unknow island in Adriatic sea, suranded by two more islands named Permuda and Olib. It is accessible only by boat that comes to island about twice a day. The island is really know for many black spiders and their webs that are spreded around wide in treetops. Silba has many hidden beaches that are hard to come to, but if you give it a try, and after about an hour of a walk through a “wilderness” you will find yourself souranded by nothing but blue sky, warm sea and abruptly long beach. Silba hides an archeological discovery on a beach called Pocukmark. If you are a lover of diving, then better put your mask on and hurry. About 5 meter away from the shore you will find and antic sarcophagus from 5 century AC. It is the most amazing swim I have ever had. In antic times sarcophaguses were used for burying people inside, they were something like our coffins, and this one stayed in the sea opend but empty.
Silba activities.. There is a group of people that calls themselves JA:TO ( flock ), and they have organized Silba Vibra association which helps clening eco system on island, it organizes different events for children and dolescnet people. Also they organize concerts and sport activitys. If you want to support them, or just see what they do you can do it on Instagram of Facebook.

883dff47-08f4-44ac-a46f-e891c148ef1e(1).jpg

After all the sun, swimming and fun summer activities people find themselves hungy. So, after we discovered Silba Denis and I were really hungry and went to Vila Velebita. We found that restaurant by its good rewievs online, but for us they didn’t justify it. When we got there we were seated on a terasse by a jung man. He welcomed us and ask us what are we drinking. I orderd a draft beer expecting a big one, life half a liter, which is a standard in Croatia when ordering it. On my disappointment I got a small bear. Let me tell you something, I care deeply about beers and you better never mess with my beer. This was a bit of disappointment, but I take it as my mistake because I didn’t clarify which amount I want. Never mind. Waiter got us a menu, which didn’t have may thing to choose from, but still all of them sounded tasty. Also, no prices were declared, which I kinda of understand, cuz rich people don’t care, but I’m just not one of them, so I like to know how much I am paying for the food. Waiter was super nice and friendly. We talked to him for some time. He told us he was running the buissines with its family, and that they are living out of this restaurant. I guess it goes pretty well than. On menu they had squied, baked on bbq and maked in vine, they had tuna stake, octopus salad, otcopus under the bell and they had 1st class fish. That’s all I can remember, maybe they had one of two extra meals but I wouldn’t bet. Also, for appertizers they had bruschetta, and for dessert they had spong cake.

8e4c6e75-7209-4ded-aabc-98e1e005e5ab(1).jpg

I orderd a tuna stake with cooked magel and potatos on side. My friend orderd squids on bbq or as they called it at see side “on gradele”, with the same side dish. Waiter offered us bruschetta for the appertizers and we have accepted it. For appertizers we got each one slice of bred with various toppings like vegetables: peper bell, cucamber, olive, tomato. It was really finely chopped and flavoured with olive oli and acceto balsamico. Ofcourse cheese was all on top. Bred was store bought and wasn’t extra baked to taste like bruschetta. They were served on a wooden platter which was really nice and appeling. When our main dish got there it was kind of swimming in oil. Even though its fish, I don’t think it was supposed to swim at this point. Tuna staked look really big, and so did squids. I didn’t really like my food, it was mad in sunflower oil, and it tasted like pork. You cant mix fish with sunflower, its forbidden. Denis god 4 really big squids. They were really tasty. Soft, and well baked on the outside ends. Side dish was also good, it wasn’t salty but it’s a good thing for this dish. I felt really full after this meal. I guess it from all the bread I had to eat to soak up oiliness.

95e68958-3e5e-417f-b7b8-6b90a33fbcb4(1).jpg

Even though I was disappointed with the food, we decided to come back againg for the octopus under the bell. I just kinda tought it’s the meal you cant ruin. If you want to read about it, check my previous post. Its also my first one so be gentle. https://steemit.com/food/@swalow/cuisine-at-island-silba

6.png
@oprrosti

3.png
@oprrosti

Would you SPIT or SWALLOW this meal?
Please tell me your opinion in comments!

Sort:  

Congratulations @swalow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Silba je predivna! Jedan od ljepših otoka na kojima sam bio još 2012. godine. Iako ne jedem ni ribu ni meso (nijedne životinje), moram priznati da su ti super fotke, i hrane i svega ostalog. Bravo!

Congratulations @swalow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80