Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #06 : Raw+Vegan Jicama Sushi with Cashew-Turmeric Dip

in #food6 years ago (edited)

A few days back my fruit and veggie vendor surprised me with a jicama root in between my fruity delivery. He seemed to have sensed that I wanted to try raw vegan sushi with this exotic plant for weeks now. I had the pleasure to try jicama sushi at my favorite raw vegan restaurant in Bali (Seeds of Life, Ubud) and was astonished by its taste that was so similar to the traditional rice version.  

Guilt-free dining with this healthy sushi version

My previous attempts with cauliflower or broccoli didn’t prove to be the real deal and I was long searching for a great alternative. Jicama became the veggie I always wanted to experiment with and here we are, with a pretty unusual sushi version without any rice or fish. 

Since I am a total health enthusiast, I also don’t use any refined sugar, soy products, oil or refined salt and try to keep my dishes as natural as possible, but that doesn’t mean my sushi recipe is any less flavorful or exciting! 

Jicama - The heavyweight among power foods

Jicama is native to Central America and Mexico, where it’s nickname Mexican potato comes from. Nowadays it is also grown in many Asian countries as a popular ingredient for stir-fry dishes. Nevertheless, jicama is also enjoyed in its raw state, just as in my sushi creation. It is in fact only the root of the plant that is edible, grown underground with a skin similar to a potato. But they can easily be recognized by their larger size - the heaviest jicama was grown in Indonesia and weighed over 21 kilos.  

Not only has it a cool look and tastes delicious, jicama is also packed with nutrients, dietary fiber and antioxidants. Its nutritional value supports a healthy body while decreasing the risk of disease, enhances digestion and aids in weight loss.  

Enough talk about roots, let’s get started with what makes any foodie heart beat faster - the recipe for this delicious sushi dinner...

For the sushi rice: 

  • 1 jicama root (about 20 cm diameter) 
  • 3 tbsp pine nuts 
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup 
  1. Peel the jicama root with a knife and grate it finely. 
  2. Put it in a strainer and press out the excessive liquids
  3. Shred the pine nuts with the help of your blender.  
  4. Mix all ingredients together.  

For the dipping sauce:  

  • 2 medium tomatoes 
  • 2 medjool dates 
  • 2 tbsp cashew butter 
  • 1 thumb of ginger 
  • 2 garlic cloves 
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder 
  • 1 tsp curry powder 
  • Pinch of chili powder 
  • Juice of 1 lemon 
  1. You might want to soak the dates in water over night, so that they go easier on your blender. 
  2. Just throw everything into your blender and mix until it becomes a smooth and homogenous dip.

For the ginger topping:  

  • 2 thumbs of ginger 
  • 3 tbsp sauerkraut juice 
  • 1 tsp maple syrup 
  1. Peel the ginger and cut it into thin slices, you can easily use a peeler for that. 
  2. Mix the sauerkraut juice with the maple syrup. 
  3. Let the ginger soak in this marinade over night.

For the sushi filling:  

  • 10 nori sheets  
  • 1-2 avocados  
  • 1 cucumber 
  • 1 carrot 
  • 5 mushrooms 
  1. Cut all veggies into slices.   
  2. Spread the jicama rice onto the nori sheets and fill it with the veggies above. 
  3. Roll the sheets together and cut them carefully into sushi pieces. 
  4. Start dipping and enjoy the ride!


I hope you get the chance to use jicama yourself some day, because this root grown under the surface deserves to be in the light of attention, especially when it comes to healthy and uncooked rice alternatives!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

---

Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian, doctor or trained detox expert. My goal is to share my knowledge from conclusive research and personal experiences to inspire you on your own raw adventure. I do not give medical advice and am not liable for any negative consequences you might face by following any information from this post - even if it is too much energy from a newly gained vibrant health and no idea how to deal with it. Always do your individual research when it comes to your precious health, it is absolutely worth the extra effort!

Sort:  

This looks and sounds amazing; Discovered Jicama here in Cambodia. So cheap here and so good for you. Good luck ;)

I am already planning some more recipes - the texture is just pretty great as rice alternative ☺️

Good recipe. I like your explanation.

Thank you, Alexander!

Wow this looks great! I love sushi ^^

Thank you, me too - but only as a raw version 😁

Everytime you surprise me with a new fruit or vegetables, how many different kind there can be? 😄 This post made my mouth water, I really love sushi, especially with ginger, and that dipping sauce seems so tasty! 😋

I know, right? There is so much to explore in the fruit and veggie world when you look beyond apples and carrots 😁

It was the first time I marinated ginger as topping and I was surprised that is was so tasty right with the first try and really didn't need much preparation!

Thank you so much, Jasmin 💚

I love jicama! I had a client from Mexico who first introduced it to me a while back. This is a very different way of using it that looks great! I would never have thought of it this way. :)

That makes total sense, since it seems to be quite a big thing in Mexico.

So, what kind of jicama recipes did you come across so far? I am also still a jicama newbie and very eager for some new inspiration for this cool veggie! 😉

I've mostly done it raw or in salads, so I don't think I've done anything really neat yet. @amy-goodrich posted some really cool dessert recipes with it a while back!

I was so curious how you would interpred this theme and how your sushi would look like. And as expected I wasn't disappointed! Your entry is amazing! Wonderful raw vegan sushi idea!

Thank you so much! I am actually quite proud of the result, since I had some failed sushi attempts in the past with cauliflower and broccoli. Raw sushi was a long dream of mine to master in the kitchen - finally found a version that totally fits my wishes in taste, texture und healthiness 😁

Lovely re-interpretation of the sushi here! This is really a very nice entry!
Thanks so much for joining us my friend!

Thank you so much! It was a lot of fun working with jicama for my sushi ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44