Chilli Con Carne

in #food6 years ago

Chilli Con Carne

Chilli Con Carne - Served.jpg

It's been a while since I've covered a recipe from one of my expanding library of cookbooks. It comes from the 1 mince mix, 50 dinners book that my mum gave me a few years ago. It's quite a handy book with a simple mince mix that is kind of utilised by every one of the recipes. It's not exactly the same quantities or proportions in each recipe, but it is the same ingredients (Mince, Garlic, Onion, Salt and Pepper)

Ingredients

Chilli Con Carne - Ingredients.jpg

2 tablespoons Oil
2 Onions, thinly sliced
1 Carrot, cubed
2 Celery Sticks, cubed
2 Garlic Cloves, finely chopped
650 grams Beef Mince
200 grams Chopped Tomatoes (canned, ~1/2 a normal can)
5 tablespoons Tomato Puree
1 teaspoon Ground Cumin
1 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1 tablespoon Chilli Powder
1 teaspoon Dried Oregano
1 Bay Leaf
350 ml Beef Stock
400 grams Canned Red Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed
Salt

Chilli Con Carne - Prepared Onion Celery and Carrot.jpg
I'd like the onion to be finer sliced, but was quite happy with the cubing of the carrot and celery

Method

  • Heat the Oil in a large saucepan.
  • Add the Onions, Carrot, Celery, and Garlic and cook over a low heat, stirring occasionally, for 5 - 10 minutes until softened.

Chilli Con Carne - Sweating started.jpg
sweating them probably took more like 10 minutes over low heat, but it was worth the extra time to get the ingredients properly softened

  • Add the Beef and increase the heat to medium and cook, stirring frequently and breaking it up with a wooden spoon for 8-10 minutes until evenly browned.
  • Stir in the Tomatoes, Tomato Puree, Cumin, Cayenne Pepper, Chilli Powder, Oregano, Bay Leaf and Stock, before seasoning with Salt to your taste.

Chilli Con Carne - Cooking.jpg
As expected, when you add the stock in, it all becomes quite liquidy and soup like

  • Bring to the boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally.
  • Add the Kidney Beans, re-cover the pan and continue simmering for a further 30 minutes.

Chilli Con Carne - Beans added.jpg
After an hour of simmering the liquid is reduced quite nicely. And that lot of purple beans adds a nice bit of colour to the dish

  • Remove the Bay Leaf and serve with rice.

Chilli Con Carne - Cooking done.jpg
Half an hour later and it's all ready to go

Chilli Con Carne - Served.jpg
As usual with this style of meal, it's got a very 'brown' look, but it certainly doesn't taste bad

Thoughts

  • I added a few extras as is my way with most things. Carrots and Celery weren't in the original recipe.
  • This made me around 6 meals worth of food. It was better the next day than immediatly afterwards, and it froze well.
  • This could be a better version of chilli con carne, but it probably couldn't be a simpler one.

Book Details

**Title: ** 1 Mince Mix, 50 Dinners
Publication: LOVE FOOD, and an imprint of Parragon Books, 2011
ISBN: 978-1-4454-0639-8

Last 10 Recipe Posts

Porcupines
Chicken Noodle Soup
Tuna Pasta Bake
Chicken Sliders
Lamb, Brocolli and Capsicum Stirfry
Beef and Brocolli Stirfry
Gary's Lamb and Tomato Curry
Moroccan Tagine
Chicken Paella
Sausage Rolls


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Nice. I always cook almost like that. I used to do beef all the time but now I found ground milkfish so that's what I cook regularly now.

Only difference is, i just use garlic (sometimes with onion) and then I add in the vegetables last. 😊

Interesting. I will have to find ground milkfish sometime to give it a go. I like to give new things a go

😁😁😁 hope you find some to enjoy!

So I upvoted this a bit ago while I was out waiting but didn't have time to comment. And then when I got home would you believe what we had for dinner XD

I would, yes. I'm very suggestable like that :P

I love me some chilli con carne.
@amandaclarke does little pies. Real spicy.
I call them malev-au-vents.

Love the name! I have some pastry currently with plans to make pies of some sort. I didn't with this batch of chilli con carne though. I may have made a soft tortilla wrap/buritto/taco, but most of it was just 'on rice'. Simple and easy, but having it in a pie is certainly a good option

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34