Chicken Noodle Soup

in #food6 years ago

I've not been feeling that great over the last little while, and I've been wanting to make soup for a while also. And then a couple of different Chicken Noodle soup things crossed my feeds. It seems that these things got into me enough that I decided to try my hand at making my own. Purely from the memory of those recipes without looking them back up. What could possibly go wrong...

Chicken Noodle Soup - Serving.jpg
The finished product...

Ingredients

Chicken Noodle Soup - Ingredients.jpg
I know that I missed a couple of things from here. Specifically Butter

1 Chicken Breast
2 small Onions, finely diced
4 Celery sticks, finely diced
25 grams Butter
1.5 Liters Chicken Stock
1 can Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup
2 Rashers Bacon
1 packet Hokkien Noodles

Method

  • Bring a pot of water to boil.
  • Chop the Chicken Breast into pieces and add to the boiling water.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Chopped Chicken.jpg
About 10 even sized pieces. Only chopped up before poaching to speed the cooking process along

  • Cook the chicken until it's done. 5-10 minutes.
  • Remove the chicken and measure out 1.5L water. Use the chicken water to make stock from by adding stock powder.
  • Cook the Bacon until crispy before setting aside on some paper towel to absorb any fat.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Crispy Bacon.jpg
I think it was a little too crispy, but it does need to be quite crisp to crumble

  • In a large pot, melt the Butter over low-medium heat
  • Add the Onion and Celery and stir regularly until quite soft.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Onion and Celery.jpg
I really needed the onion to be finer diced, or maybe sliced thinly instead. The celery was good, but possibly too much of it

  • Add the Stock and Cream of Chicken Soup to the pot and stir well until smooth.
  • Increase the heat to bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Liquid Added.jpg

  • Prepare the Hokkien Noodles as instructed on the packet before adding into the simmering soup.
  • Shred the poached chicken pieces and add to the soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Shredded Chicken.jpg
I cheated and just chopped it with the knife, discovering that it was slightly overdone

Chicken Noodle Soup - Noodles and Chicken Added.jpg
Everything in the pot finally and just having a final stir and heat through for the cooled off chicken and noodles

  • Crumble the crispy bacon.
  • Serve in a bowl with the crumb scattered on top and some bread to dip in.

Chicken Noodle Soup - Serving.jpg
It was as delicious as it looks, which is to say not perfect but quite tasty

Thoughts

  • This needs less celery, as noted in one of the image comments. I had 4 sticks left and wanted them used though, so in they went. It wasn't a bad thing, just balance would have been better with half as much. It may also have been better for it to be sliced instead of diced.
  • The onion might have been better in either smaller dice, or fine slices (chop in half and then slice very finely). It may have also benefited from a longer time cooking them before adding the liquid.
  • I like my noodle soups to have lots of noodles, but others may wish for half as much in this volume of liquid
  • For crispy bacon, don't add it to the serving until actually ready to eat. I didn't do this for the leftovers, so it softened (as expected really).
  • The chicken could just as easily have been chopped into bite sized pieces and added to the soup as it cooked.
  • The final soup has a bit more surface oil than I'd like, which I presume comes from the butter at the start. Less or none could have been useful.

Even with all these notes, this has been quite delicious and I'm likely to make it again, with modifications as noted. I'll probably also add in some mushrooms.

Previous Recipes

Tuna Pasta Bake
Chicken Sliders
Lamb, Brocolli and Capsicum Stirfry
Beef and Brocolli Stirfry
Gary's Lamb and Tomato Curry
Moroccan Tagine
Chicken Paella
Sausage Rolls
Creamy Bacon Fettucine
Simple Chicken Curry


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

You enjoy cooking.

I enjoy eating, but not much cooking.
I am good at cooking Ramyon, Zawang(instant chinese noodle), just boiled rice and egg fry. ^..^

That looks so much better than the junk in the can. Comes with like 3 tinny little cubs of meat. Who they kidding that won’t feed anyone! I have never seen chicken noodle with bacon why that’s just cheating!

I hope you get better soon. Have an amazing week.

Thanks, I've had a reasonably productive week so far (asides from just making the soup) and am doing much better. Seems Chicken Noodle Soup was the medicine I was needing.

And while this uses a can of soup, I've always considered them a base to start from much more than an actual 'can of soup'. They certainly aren't anywhere near as good as making them into something else or to make better soup from.

Having said that, the cans tend to be better than the powdered sachets...

Powder sachets? Oh my that sounds like a new level of low. Never heard of such a thing here. Best to not think about them I think.

We had them many times on road trips while I was a kid. Empty sachet into mug, add hot water, stir. It produces a hot drink not entirely unlike chicken noodle soup (or whichever soup it was trying to emulate)

This would be good tutorial for all students
Very practical
Voted
Following

Cool

Thanks. I try to make my recipes easy to follow and practical. I can't afford not to be practical with my food, so everything I make has to be fairly practical

It looks delicious! I'm floowing you :-)

thanks. And I've finished eating all of it now too, and it was delicious to the last serving

that looks yummi! That soup is such a good thing if you got a flu. We always take a whole chicken or chicken legs and cook them until it falls off the bone. Perfect winter dish

Very yummy. Thankfully I didn't have the flu, but was just a bit off. I'd love to have the space to make the quantity I'd make from a whole chicken, but sadly I lack a chest freezer/deep freeze for storage. I also find it's not great for the noodles, so would have to freeze chicken soup and then add the noodles to it at serving.

Yes, delicious soup in (almost) Winter - Winning!

yeah, still a bit over a week until winter starts. Not sure when proper winter weather will set in, but I'm happy if it stays with this sort of winter weather for a while

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 22 SBD worth and should receive 87 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79