Gary's Lamb and Tomato Curry

in #recipes7 years ago

It's been a while since I posted a (cookbook based) recipe (Last one here) and it would seem that I have another one after this to finish off the things I made from the cookbooks at my Mum's house.

The cookbook this time around is Gary Mehigan's Comfort Food, published by the Penguin Group, ISBN 978 19213 82321. I can't remember if there is much modification in this, though I know I used nutmeg instead of strands of mace. I don't have the book near me either, since it's at my Mum's house.

Served up.jpg

Ingredients

Ingredients Spices.jpg
Mum needed some more of most of the spices. And I think the nutmeg managed to hide from the photo too

Ingredients Other Things.jpg
So many ingredients that they nearly escaped from 2 photos!

Ginger Paste

60 ml Oil
1 thumb ginger, roughly chopped
6 cloves Garlic, peeled
4 long red chillies
30 ml water

Spice Mix

3 tbsp cumin seeds
3 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tbsp salt
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp chilli powder
2 tbsp paprika
6 cloves
8 cardamom pods, crushed
2 cinnamon sticks
5 star anise

Meat and Onion

90 ml oil
1 kg lamb, diced
3 large onions, sliced

Remaining Ingredients

150 ml white vinegar
2 tbsp tomato paste
400 g tin chopped tomato
2 sprigs fresh curry leaves
1 L chicken stock
1/2 bunch coriander, leaves picked, roots cleaned.
6 potatoes (dutch cream, kipfler, similar), halved or quarterd

Method

Ginger Paste

Ginger Paste pre mix.jpg
I chopped up the chilli to give it a bit of a start too

Add the Ginger, Garlic, Chilli, Water and 60 ml Oil to a food processor.
Blend until a paste forms.
Set aside until needed.

Ginger Paste blended.jpg
I'm sure I could have gotten it smoother, but this is a good enough paste for me

Spice Mix

Cumin and Coriander.jpg
There is something about the smell of seeds roasting that is so nice. Possibly related to knowing what comes

In a dry pan over medium heat, dry roast the Cumin and Coriander seeds until fragrant (about 3 to 5 minutes).
Grind them in a mortar and pestle (or spice grinder if you have one) before mixing in all the rest of the spice mix ingredients (salt, turmeric, nutmeg, chilli powder, paprika, cloves, cinnamon, cardamom and star anise)
Set this aside until needed.

Spice Mix.jpg
I just mixed all the spices in the mortar, since it's a nice sized bowl that already had most of the volume in it

Meat and Onion

Batch of Lamb.jpg
I probably still have too large a batch in this pan

Heat 90 ml of Oil in a large pan over high heat.
In batches, brown the Lamb for 6 to 8 minutes, stirring until browned on all sides and setting aside when done.

Browned Lamb.jpg
When all the lamb was in here, this bowl was big enough. And held the juices well too

Add the Onion to the pan and reduce the heat to low, stirring occasionally for 20 minutes until the onion is golden and very soft.

Onion 1.jpg Onion 2.jpg
Sliced onion goes in and become quite soft. Would have liked more colour on it really, but this was 20 minutes and I was already tight for time

Final steps

Spices added.jpg
That's a much better colour on the onions

Add the Spice Mix to the Onion and mix well, cooking over medium heat for 5 minutes, stirring regularly.
Stir in the Vinegar.

Lamb and paste added.jpg
I'll stir it in properly after this photo, promise

Return the Lamb and any juices that have accumulated to the pan.
Add in the Ginger Paste and stir well to combine into the sauce that is starting to form.

Tomato etc added.jpg
phew! This recipe fit inside the pan. Only made a small mess when I stirred it

Add the Tomato, Tomato Paste, Curry Leaves, and stock to the pan and stir.
Bring to the boil before reducing the heat to low and adding the Coriander Root.
Simmer over a low heat for 1 hour.

Potato added.jpg
By this point, the house smelled fabulous. Heck, the front yard smelled great!

Add the Potato and cook for another hour, stirring regularly.

Coriander Leaves Added.jpg
So close to finished. Just have to stir those leaves through and serve it up

Remove from the heat and stir through Coriander Leaves

Served up.jpg

Serve with Rice (and fresh coriander if you'd like. I didn't this time around as I was tired)

Thoughts

  • That list of ingredients can seem imposing, which is why I've broken it down into 4 smaller groups here. When you take 4 out for the paste and another 11 out for the spice mix, it really makes a much less imposing list of ingredients.
  • It takes a long time to make, so make sure you have the whole afternoon. Sure, it took me longer because I take my time and have photos to remember to take (I think I used about half of them this time around...), but from start to finish it is going to be 3+ hours. That sounds like a lot, but then you look at the last 2 hours of it, and it's just simmering away, so you can be elsewhere. I watched a couple of episodes of Game of Thrones, and played some games on the PC between stirring. So it's really only an hour or so of actually doing things.
  • It has some heat to it. If you don't like spicy, I'd recommend halving or removing the chilli powder as the first options, and halving the fresh chilli content as another possibility. De-seeding the chilli would also be an option.
  • It makes a lot of food. Each of those containers actually does me for 2.5 to 3 serves. Or a bit over 2 of the serves as shown above.

It made a lot.jpg
I still have 1 of these containers in mum's freezer as it's too hot for her

  • It is delicious. Yes, that's going to be my final word on it. Delicious and will certainly make again at some point.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats.png

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for awesome post. I have followed, upvoted and resteemed your post. Just follow me and upvote this comment for future upvote and resteem for your content.

Nice food, thank for you recipes

Looks like a pretty intense curry O_O also tasty. And most definitely a large batch freezer meal with the amount of time required.

Yeah, I was pretty pleased that it made so much given the amount of time to make it. 10-12 serves for me, made in 3 hours isn't really too bad. Someone that eats a larger serving though, might only get 6-8 serves from it.

It certainly had heat to it that I could feel, but it wasn't "I need a drink" level of heat, even on day 3 or 4. Super flavour from the spices were easily able to come through which is the main thing for me. Not really a great curry if all you get is burning

Congratulations @ratticus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97