Another Ode to the Fantastic Marietta Square Farmers Market! {Purple Snow Pea & Black Rice w/ Garden Fresh Herbs}

in #food5 years ago

Happy Monday my friends! It was a really busy weekend here celebrating the mamas in both mine and @dksart's families for Mother's Day, but I still managed to make it to the farmers market on Saturday morning before we kicked off the festivities. I often get a little flustered when we have a full weekend as I'm usually a bit spoiled in my weekend routine. I know I talk about it often, but I really am so enamored with the offerings my local farmers bring to the market each week that I will do just about anything to prioritize my Saturday morning visit! Though I could have easily skipped, I got my butt out of bed right as the sun was coming up to get in a run and then head over to the Marietta Square to make my rounds and purchase all my goodies for the week!

IMG_20190513_152727110.jpg

I'll tease you with a quick photo of part of my weekly meal prep (catching up on that today!) before I share a few of the fresh new seasonal offerings I found this last visit. As @dandays well knows, it's all about the cover image to reel the masses in for a taste. 😉

text16.png

There were actually quite a few stunners in my haul this week. Some things you just will not ever be able to find in the grocery store! You may find a similar common variety, but I can assure you I have never seen purple snow peas in any of my local stores...
Purple Snow Peas.jpg

How cute are they? I'm a bit of a sucker for anything purple, but in the food world that's not a bad thing. Purple and other darkly pigmented foods have lots of beneficial antioxidants, vitamins and minerals. Food is also more satisfying when it is visually appealing.

text16.png

IMG_20190511_120130460.jpg
Speaking of cute, the first patty pan squash of the year popped up from one of the newer organic farmers! Though they are much like the more common yellow squash and zucchini (courgette) that you find here in abundance over the warmer months, they are fun to work with for a bit of a change. I think these are going to get put into a bowl of pasta with lots of fresh herbs!

text16.png

IMG_20190511_093028651.jpg
Prefer something juicy and sweet? The peaches are here!! I know some of you haven't even gotten into strawberry season yet, so I'm sorry to tempt you with this luscious bit of fruit, as well. I was surprised to see them so early, but my goodness there's nothing quite like a fresh-picked, ripe peach to bite into when the weather is warm. I'm reserving this first round to eat fresh as nature intended, but I'll load up soon when we can go picking and make some goodies with them!

text16.png

Garden Duo.jpg
Of course the market isn't where all the action is happening. We've finally got something other than herbs in our garden promising to fill our bellies soon! @dksart thought he had planted all beets, but it looks like we have our first ever homegrown kohlrabi coming along nicely! There are a few beets right next to it that are looking almost ready to pull up, as well. Some of the other plants are looking quite vibrant as they sprout up, so hopefully we'll have plenty more veggies to come!

Ok, on to how I put together this yummy meal up above...

IMG_20190513_152526658.jpg

  • 1 cup black rice or other grain of choice, cooked until just done then set aside to cool
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 bunch small Easter egg radishes, trimmed & thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup raw walnut halves or pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh snow peas, trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium tamari or liquid aminos
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup each fresh chopped dill, parsley & green onion

While you cook your grains, prepare the rest of your vegetables. Chop the pepper and radishes, then place in a large bowl. Drizzle with the rice wine vinegar.

Meanwhile, heat a skillet over medium heat on the stove top. Once the pan is hot, add in the walnuts to lightly toast for 2-3 minutes. Next add the trimmed snow peas and tamari to the pan. Stir and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes. You don't want to cook too long and lose the fresh texture of the snow peas!

Once the rice and snow peas are done cooking, combine with the raw vegetables in the bowl. Garnish with the herbs and lightly mix. Taste and add more vinegar or tamari to your liking!

IMG_20190513_152713192.jpg

I can't wait to dig into this yummy meal for lunches this week! Oh, and I almost forgot one more lovely farmers market find...
IMG_20190511_120146330.jpg
Flowers for our moms! I am not usually one to buy flowers, but these were just so pretty and locally grown. Snapdragons are one of my mom's favorites, and @dksart's mom said they used to have these in Poland growing up, as well. Winning on both fronts!

Hope all you Steemit mamas had a wonderful Mother's Day, as well! Happy new week my friends!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Wow!

Such photogenic veggies AND a fantastic recipe! You really do inspire with your content and you have made a difference in my life with the recipes I pass on to the family.

I am planting beans again this year in my garden but probably not the purple ones.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww, so happy you enjoy some of the things that I share! I am really so lucky to have such amazing farmers to purchase from with all of their awesome produce. Makes it easy and fun to create wholesome meals!

We've not tried growing any kind of beans or peas in the garden yet, but that's something I need to add to the list! Hope your garden is fruitful this year. :)

Super tasty vegan treat for cruelty-free foodies yummy

Way to knock out the cover image, chef, and then bring it all home with a grand slam closing image—ka’pow!

Marrietta. What county is that? One of my favorite rappers in all rap music is from Gwinette County, is Marrietta in Gwinette County?

I’ve never even heard of a kohlrabi, is it called something else or is that its common name? 🤔

Doing what I can over here to rep for my bad@$$ farmers. 😉 Though it's not too difficult to make their stuff look righteously delicious.

Marietta is Cobb County. Not sure if we have any big rappers from our county, but Atlanta as a whole has a pretty solid scene. Gwinnett is just a few counties East of us.

Just looked, and apparently kohlrabi is also called a German turnip. I don't think I've heard it by any other name, but it is also not one of those really common ones that people use. I only started cooking with it in the last few years. Before that I think I must have had blinders on any time I passed them by in the grocery store produce aisle. It's a yummy veggie, though. Crisp and refreshing when raw, but you can also cook it and eat it warm.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Thanks so much for the yummy treat to go with my meal! 😛

Gorgeous! Those purple snow peas are amazing in colours * ___ * Love how they liven up the dish :)

Very tasty and healthy looking dish, @plantstoplanks !

And I love that bouquet of flowers, also... Very beautiful~

They had green and yellow snow peas, too, but I couldn't resist the purple! Too much fun not to use. I am especially fond of the purple and green combination with all of the fresh herbs popping against the other colors. So much beauty growing all around! 😍

I have never seen purple peas! So pretty! And that peach... I would have never said that you are so far in the season in Canada! I mean Switzerland should be warmer :)

Do you have anything else in your garden too? The kohlrabi and beetroot look healthy and yum! Well done :)

I love this salad. Actually, I love anything with dill in it :) It's my favorite herb. I didn't like it in the past but then I found our about tzatziki and can't live without it now...

I didn't know that these were called snapdragons. There are plenty of them in Slovakia so I'm sure that this is the case in Poland too :)

Have a lovely day Katie!

Well I am actually in the Southern part of the US,so that's probably why you were especially surprised about the peaches. 😉 I know I keep our Canadian friends like @lenasveganliving and @thekitchenfairy drooling with being a good bit ahead in the season down here.

Dill has become one of my favorites, too! Last year it didn't grow very well, so I'm super happy we finally have it again in the herb garden. We have a few different squash plants growing pretty well, and a few tomato plants starting to get bigger, as well! I think there are some cucumber and peppers, but I need to hurry up and get some eggplants going before it's too late in the season.

Hope it is starting to warm up nicely for you there, too!

I actually knew at the beginning that you were in the US but then somehow I started to think that you were in Canada.. LOL

We used to have dill in the garden too and we always had it in abundance. It is one of traditional herbs in Slovakia..

I wish you a lot of fun with gardening this year!

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday - Cool Details Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much!

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That is a good haul from the market, I have never seen purple peas like that you find the coolest things at your farmers market

Thanks for being an active membe rof SteemUSA !tip

Thanks @tattoodjay! It really is amazing to see some of the things you can find at the market. Even though I go every week, there are still new things every now and then that I either haven't seen or that I've never tried! Keeps it fun in the kitchen. :)

I and from your posts we know you have fun inthe kitchen your creativity when cooking is amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50