@papa-peppers PEPPER PICKLED EGGS

in #food8 years ago

Don't let my last post make you think that I only like to watch others eat peppers. @papa-pepper got his name because of his own passion for The Way of The Pepper.

Preserving the harvest is key to making the most out of your garden. Since I have not yet established a local outlet for my peppers, I've got a lot to use up myself. With so many different ways of using and preserving them, it's not really that big of an issue for me. However, thanks to steemit, I can begin to share some of the ways that I enjoying using and preserving my peppers so that they can be enjoyed months later, long after the harvest has ended.

I've always enjoyed pickled eggs, and some years ago I found out that if you add a hot pepper to each jar, the heat from that pepper penetrates everything in that jar, bringing up the spice level of all the contents.


When you wind up with piles and piles of peppers like papa, you need something to do with them.


Writing things with them only gets you so far, and you still need a way to preserve them.


If you have access to piles of eggs too, then I've got a great idea for you!


INGREDIENTS:

* Eggs

* Peppers

* Pickling Salt

* Water

* Vinegar

* Apple Cider Vinegar (Optional)

DIRECTIONS

Hard boil and peel the eggs.


Be sure to get a bunch of them, as you can fit a lot in each quart jar.


In a pot, bring a mixure of 50% Water & 50% Vinegar to a boil.


Fill your sterilized Quart jars with as many hard boiled Eggs as can easily fit.


Halve your Peppers (I used Carolina Reapers) and feel free to save the seeds to grow next year.


Add a Pepper to each jar, along with a splash of Apple Cider Vinegar and a tablespoon of Pickling Salt. Then fill with the hot Water/Vinegar mixture. Hot water bath or pressure cook for long, non-refrigerated storage or just allow to cool and place in the fridge if you have the space.

I realize that this method does not use up that many peppers, since only one goes into each jar. However, this gives an excellent flavor to the pickled eggs and adds a tolerable edge to them. Plus, I'll have some more uses coming up in the near future, after all, I'm @papa-pepper! For the best results, allow the jars to sit for at least three weeks to a month, to allow time for the heat from the peppers to saturate the eggs.

I made these a few weeks before heading to Wisconsin, and though it may have been a little premature to try them when I got back, sometimes it is hard to wait for a good thing, so here it goes.

And now for the moment of truth, the taste test.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:

FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation.)

Sort:  

I don't like pickled eggs, but never tried a pickled pepper egg, :)

You could always cut back on the vinegar and add more peppers.

More peppers never hurt anyone....

nevermind,

Hot peppers hurt going in and out lol

I want had a friend puke after eating a ghost pepper and he said it was worse puking it than it was eating it.

I asked him if there was anything he enjoyed puking up more than eating.

Oh the things people say when their mouth is on fire!

ouch Sounds painful lol would give me indigestion and heart burn too

Oh, maybe you meant going out the other way...

Yeah that's what I meant hahaha

This is interesting. I'm attempting to translate to Chinese.

Great job and thanks for your effort!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Me too, but they're better with spice.

Yeeeeeeaaaaaahhhh!!! Nice one @papa-pepper, legend. I love pickled eggs and also love hot peppers so as far as I'm concerned you nailed it buddy. Gonna do some tomorrow. Thanks for sharing

Do a post about it when you do it!

I'll upvote that!

Pickled pepper eggs! Hot dang, sounds and looks awesome!

Yeah, they hit the spot!

@papa-pepper, Chinese Translation Link Here:

https://steemit.com/food/@ace108/papa-peppers-translated-by-ace108
Had some formatting issues before but it's fixed and look OK now.
Let you have any feedback, let me know.

Thanks, I'll check it out right now.

💸 💰

After payout from the Chinese post already.
Shared some Steem and SD with you.

There way no need to do that....
but I certainly accept your support!!!

I actually find it encouraging when a translation does better than my original too!

Nice work, and let me know if you ever want to translate another one @ace108!

I cannot do much with the SP anyway. So, it's also good other people had thought of translating. So, there may be people who want to beat me to it in future. :-)

Never thought of pickeling eggs with peppers. That would be delicious. I eat 2 eggs a day scrambled every morning.
Upvoted.

Peppers are good in scrambled eggs too, but this sure spices up a jar.

You want in for the super-hot pepper challenge?

I could ship some over.

excellent, possessing endless ideas, very original congratulations

Thanks, those ideas do not stop coming!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50