Restaurants of Acapulco: La Tortuga Revisited

in #food7 years ago


DSC_0085.JPG

A long time ago at this point we shared pictures and thoughts on the local bitcoin accepting Mexican restaurant La Tortuga. At the time though, we were still doing all of our pictures through our cell phone with was a crappy 13 megapixels, good for a phone but not for a camera. Finally we've got nice cameras and we took the opportunity to take new photos to share with you all so you can see La Tortuga as it should be seen. The above photo is of @modprobe's toastadas.

DSC_0072.JPG

It's got a long rich history here starting back in the sixties in the form of a food truck on the corner of the street that it is on today. It was originally a few doors down at a green and white mostly outdoor place now housing a restaurant called Pollo Caliente, but has since moved to it's current location probably ten years ago or more.

DSC_0073.JPG

The original owner gave the restaurant to several of his best employees when he felt he was too tired to run it himself. Our friend Gustavo runs it at night and the others run it during the day time, making it an all day restaurant. I've heard from many sources that the morning food just isn't as good as the evening food, but I don't personally have experience with that fact.

DSC_0068.JPG

DSC_0069.JPG

The prices are great and the food is good, with nothing on the menu costing more than 250 pesos. The owner goes to the central market every day to buy his meats, cheeses and veggies, so the product is high quality for the price.

DSC_0071.JPG

We rallied some friends up for a meetup there a few nights ago and I brought a cake for dessert that I'll share with you all later on.

DSC_0077.JPG

One of La Tortuga's highest points is it's service and the friendly people that work there. The menu is in english and in spanish by the way, accommodating for foreign tourists.

DSC_0078.JPG

DSC_0079.JPG

DSC_0082.JPG

DSC_0083.JPG

DSC_0086.JPG

There's a whole variety of options on the menu but you can also make it your own if you need to as well. Often vegans, vegetarians and the like come in and they accommodate if you ask. That night, I wanted something light and this is what they came up with, just grilled chicken and a tortuga salad with tomatoes, avocado, oil and lime.

DSC_0087.JPG

If you find yourself in Acapulco, hit up La Tortuga one evening for dinner! They're located on Ave Lomas Del Mar, just off the Coastera behind the Office Max and it's worth the experience and possible friendship of those who work there. There's also free wifi there as well, an added bonus that helped us when we were posting on Steemit but without internet at home.

Separator-2-Lily-Vine.png

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Hard Boiled Eggs in the Instant Pot
Adventures Around Acapulco: Night time Photo Shoot Adventure Trip to the Airport
Local Flowers and the Chayote Experiment
Green and White Sherlock Pipe Practice Photo Shoot

Separator-2-Lily-Vine-3.png

Don't forget to upvote, resteem, share, follow me and share your comments below!

Main-sign.jpg

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Hi lily. I love your guys story. I found you because I was watching jeff berwick. My family and I are planning on moving there to get out of america. I can't wait. keep up these awesome posts.

Thanks for the support, anything you want to me to cover about Acapulco or life here? I always appreciate input from readers, I recognize I've become a source on real life in Acapulco so I'll share what you wanna see if you've got requests!

Yea I am wanting to move me and my family there and I was wondering if it is hard to find a place to live. and how should i go about it. I just want to rent.

Finding a place to live is easy, even with the language barrier. You can hire a realtor an expect to pay more as a result, but that's the easiest way from afar. I also recommend just coming here, staying in a hotel for a few days and finding a place. We've been known to help people find cool spots, so we could be a resource with that too. The best places for the best prices are found in person, but if you can spend a little more (which is still less than US prices) you can have a place rented and ready to move into when you get here. Renting is the way to go for a foreigner, you'd have to be a citizen to buy land so close to the coast.

ok thanks this is the kind of stuff I need to know. when I do make it down there the hotel way does seem like a good idea. I will defiantly keep you guys in mind as a resource too thanks love your posts

Yeah, just breathe and remember it's easy to get a place. Even if you pay extra, itll be so much cheaper than the states you'll barely notice. It's nice like that. And many people move houses or apartments after their first month in a place once they settle and determine what they want out of this place. Some determine they want a more simple existance where others go for the luxuries like air conditioning. But that's up to you guys!

I love the idea that it is something unique and simple, Mexican food is very tasty and traditional, I love the gastronomy in general. The place looks nice to be able to eat a good plate of food to measure a pleasure friend. I follow you

Looking forward to tasting mexican food when we come over for Anarcopulco next year. This week took a big step closer too.....

Good to hear, excited for more arrivals!

Thanks for another great post. I feel like I am getting to know the city and it's people with each one. I love the pictures with your new camera. I still just have my phone but hope to get a nice camera some day. It really makes a difference I live in Oregon but am really thinking of coming down this winter. The rain up here is dreadful. .

I like the traditional decor of the restuarnats you have visited in la tortuga! classic city at it's finest

This is fantastic and I love its ingenuity.

Woww great post.
This is a very good i would love to food like this where on sale this food and how one portion of?
Thsnk you

Portions range from 55 pesos to 250 pesos, the location is described in the post.

Oh yes..
Thank you.
Likd it

I want to know more, do you know i am your follower @ronaldmcatee

This type of post is likely to receive a downvote and mute from me

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34