Local Flowers and the Chayote Experiment

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


DSC_0344.JPG

Chayote squash is damn near a delicacy here and is known as a bit of a superfood locally. I'll admit, I'm not a fan of it but I've heard it grows super prolifically so I opted to give it a try. Then I got lazy. Then when I tried to plant it, I remembered much of the ground here is hardpan, making it damn near impossible to do quickly, so I just took a chance.

DSC_0339.JPG

Because it's getting into the wet season, there's a certain amount of moisture on the ground, especially mulched ground. So I sat it fat side down (where the seed already naturally pokes out a little) standing up and left it.

DSC_0337.JPG

When I lifted it up to check it's progress, it looked like this! So I snapped some shots to share with you, this is how food grows in the wild people.

DSC_0336.JPG

With just a bit of my assistance for the placement. I literally have not done anything else since, however.

DSC_0335.JPG

Something tells me this might be one of the best low maintenance crops I've ever grown!

DSC_0333.JPG

DSC_0332.JPG

Limes are coming! Not very many but they will be tasty :)

DSC_0329.JPG

The organic waste we get from Verde Vegan has yielded us some free accidental mango trees!

DSC_0327.JPG

This flower is known locally as cupo de oro, cup of gold.

DSC_0325.JPG

I don't know what this plant is, it's just a weed but damn the flower is pretty.

DSC_0324.JPG

Here's a shot of another flower not yet open.

DSC_0321.JPG

Some yellow flowers I'm interested in identifying; they grow wild everywhere here.

Separator-2-Lily-Vine.png

Check out some of our other recent posts!

Farm Update: Progress on the Wall of Paul
The Shelf From Hell: Why Employing People Sucks Part 3
Green and White Sherlock Practice Pipe Photo Shoot
Acapulco Sunsets: Crescent Moons and City Lights

Separator-2-Lily-Vine-3.png

If you liked this post, don't forget to upvote, resteem, follow and (or) comment with your thoughts!

Main-sign.jpg

Sort:  

Great post. I wish I had your "green thumb". Was the Chayote squash bitter or just an odd texture?

It's got a weird slimy texture that sticks to the hands really hard and dries weird and is hard to wash off haha. Apparently good for digestion XD

I see... I hear the same story with Jackfruit as well. My fellow nutritionists and health practitioners love how versatile it is in vegan cuisine, but say the sticky residue it leaves is so difficult to clean as well. Perhaps it's something about nature making it difficult for us to get an abundance of nutrition too easily..haha!

I've noticed most tropical fruits have weird drawbacks, taste smell or texture.

It's nice that you are finding some plants that want to grow in your setting. That makes gardening so much easier! It's really half-wild gardening, lol. It's so much easier to learn to how to cook plants that grow well for you, rather than trying to grow plants not well adapted for your area. Do you see many yucca or prickly pear cactus in your area?

I see lots of both, I have a small prickly pear on the property and a lot of yucca thats wild. Or maybe its cassava...

Maybe you will like your prickly pear fruits or the new pads. And the Yucca flowers are worth eating! I've been reading posts by @galberto, in El Salvador. Some of the plants he's growing may do really well in your area, too, without much effort. He's big on bringing the wild plants closer to home, where they can really grow well. Good luck with your chayote -- and I hope you learn to really like to eat it! :D

This submission has made it on the @MutuWhale MutuList!

Thanks for this variety of plantation. It's adorable.
I didn t know about Chayote but when I tasted it was just amazing.
@creativewoman

I love how low maintenance veggies all they need is good frequency and some sun. How does it taste? Let us know!

Yours Truly,

#Theeillgloryfactory

It's very bland, it's the texture that's weird.

great photo

Awesome photography with this nature.You deserve for vote and i am following you.Please check my post.

nice photography

The squash is doing rather well it seems! nice camera and pipe too :)

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.57 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @abh12345. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34