Hard Boiled Eggs in the Instant Pot Recipe and Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago


DSC_0278.JPG

Hard boiled eggs are both classic and notoriously not easy to get right. There's a specific balance required to keep them from bursting or just not cooking fully. Many people don't bother just because it is easy to get it wrong and end up with a sub par egg. I've spent several months experimenting with the Instant Pot at this point and I honestly cannot believe I didn't try deviled eggs in it before this.

DSC_0271.JPG

What you need:
Eggs, however many you want. I've seen people do several layers.
1 cup water
Instant Pot
Instant Pot Trivet (Included with it)

Put the trivet in the bottom with the water then carefully set the eggs in the pot. Put on the locking lid in the locked position, then put the steam vent to closed. Set on manual for 5-7 minutes depending on desired done-ness (some like a liquidy yolk). Allow to natural release, that is sit for 5 minutes after the timer stops then quick release.

DSC_0272.JPG

Take the eggs out into cold water one by one, although this step isn't totally necessary.

DSC_0273.JPG

DSC_0275.JPG

DSC_0277.JPG

And that's honestly all it takes! Peeling is straight forward, especially if they're a bit cracked by the end of it like a few of mine were. They're now ready for whatever you need them for, or just for eating.

Separator-2-Lily-Vine.png

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Adventures Around Acapulco: Night Time Photo Shoot Adventure to Airport
Local Flowers and the Chayote Experiment
Farm Update: Progress on the Wall of Paul

Separator-2-Lily-Vine-3.png

If you found this useful, don't forget to resteem, share, upvote, follow me and comment with your thoughts!

Main-sign.jpg

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I love my instant pot, it truly is a bad ass piece of kitchen equipment. First thing I put in it was a roast and it came out incredibly good, surprisingly since it was the first time using it. We use it almost daily for rice which is astounding since it is about 15 minutes for white or jade rice by using hot water to start. We do large batches of 2 dozen eggs at a time and they come out wonderful. We have found that older eggs, ones that have sat out for a couple weeks, will peel super easily compared to freshly laid eggs.

I've never tried using fresh eggs but I have heard they are harder to peel. Good to hear you've had instant pot success, its a surprisingly good thing to have around!

Thank you for the recipe! Are you eggs cold or room temp to start? And to get the yolk looking like yours, I'm assuming 7 minutes? Thx.

I live in Mexico so eggs are actually kept at room temperature here, so that's where they started. The recipes I found online all suggested to allow them to come to room temp for consistent results. 7 minutes is a safe bet for a well done egg

JUST trying it myself for the first time... I hear the eggs making sounds, and wonder if they are cracking? Did you have that? Will wait and see if I end up with boiled or scrambled eggs.... Nathan told me you had already tried it, so I read your post. :).... Turned out perfectly! About three were cracked, but not spilled out of the shells. VERY easy to peel and good tasting. It is my new way to boil eggs forever now!

I think the sounds were from the eggs, I had it happen to a few myself. Once I found the egg out of shell in the pot....fed it to the dogs haha.Good to hear you had good luck though, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

Good Post Upvote

Great post thanks for sharing.

hello friend @lily-da-vine , Pure protein thanks for sharing , i congratulate you , keep it up

Thank you for including the recipe. It sounds and looks healthy. You should start a steemit recipe book online here for others. - Thanks again for sharing. - Troy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38