Medusa Smoothie Photo Shoot and Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)


This is based off a smoothie served at the local bitcoin accepting vegan restaurant here in Acapulco, Verde Vegan.  My favorite thing they serve is called the maniac and it’s a chocolate banana concoction with all sorts of stuff in it.  I set out to make my own version and now I share it with you, I call it the medusa. 

I’ve had several friends make jokes about me looking like medusa with my crazy dreads that spit off in crazy directions sometimes.  For that reason, I think the name fits.

 What I used: 

3 dates 

2-3 T flax seed meal 

2-3 T hemp seed protein 

2-3 T cacao nibs 

2 T cacao powder sweetener, I used brown sugar 

yogurt 

kombucha 

frozen bananas 

frozen strawberries 

almond milk 

peanut powder

peanut butter

I usually start with a base of yogurt.  Then I add any superfood things, in this case just flax meal and hemp protein. Cacao nibs and powder are added at this point too.

After the cacao, add a little milk, an even mix of the frozen fruit and a little more milk.  

Blend and add milk to thin as desired. 

It looked like this. 

This is just a variation of my basic smoothie recipe.  The addition of the dates are new and it added an interesting texture that I enjoyed but it seemed to throw John off a little.  He said it was like I attempted to make a peanut butter and jelly smoothie.  I mildly agreed...and continued drinking the smoothie.    
 
 

Check out my other recent Steemit Originals

Peanut Butter Cacao Nib Nut and Seed Bar

Dot Stacking Spoon Pipe Photo Shoot

Gluten Free Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins Recipe

Acapulco Sunsets: Shot by Shot

Thanks for following and supporting!

Sort:  

This looks so good - great nutritional way to start the day! Add some sunshine to make it perfect!

I can recommend this one also:
ginger smoothy.jpg

Wow looks very fresh, is this banana juice? May i try?

Its like a strawberry banana chocolate peanut butter smoothie... :)

Definitely worth an upvoted and a resteem :)

OMG, i love smoothies! I'm so curious how this smoothie taste like.

You might wanna check my recent post about Watermelon seeds, never thought these seeds has great health benefits. I used to throw them ;) Upvoted and I'm following you now ;)

Great post, nice photos and I love your photo! @lily-da-vine

Wow first time I have seen kombucha used in a smoothie!! Epic

Is there a banana free avocado substitute solution in the works?

Ill be honest, i am not enough of a fan of avocado for that to have been an idea of mine. It might be good, though

Wow ,, it's a very good meal, it makes me starve when I see it, if I were there, I would ask for it. This food is very delicious if we enjoy it with friends and family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23