Peanut Butter Cacao Nut and Seed Chewy Bar Food Photo Shoot and Recipe

in #food7 years ago

I love seeds, I always have.  My favorite thing about carving pumpkins was roasting the seeds afterwards.  On our last market trip, I came home with a lot of seeds and nuts so I decided to make a gluten free nut and seed bar that was naturally sweet, or as much as possible.  What I came up with was tasty and intense, I give you Peanut Butter Cacao Nut and Seed Bar. 

For about 500 pesos or 25 USD we got: half kilo of almonds, cashews, two different types of pumpkin seeds, a half kilo of sunflower seeds, a quarter kilo of dates, a quarter kilo of dried pineapple.   


 What I used (This is totally versatile, use what’s available):
 pumpkin seeds (2 kinds) 

flax seeds 

sunflower kernels 

cashews 

almonds 

dates 

dried cranberries 

ground flax seeds 

peanut flour 

peanut butter 

honey 

vanilla 

ground cinnamon 

cacao nibs

I started by chopping the nuts coarsely and adding them to a large bowl. Then I added a few handfuls of each type of seed and the cranberries too.    

Chopped the cacao into small pieces, probably about a handful. 

Then add...probably a cup of flax seed meal and stir to combine.

I used three dates although there could have been more. I just took the seed out and chopped them as finely as possible.  Then I added them to a cup with probably a half cup of peanut butter, most of a cup of honey and probably about a half a cup of peanut flour. 

Combine until smooth, mine looked like this. The little hunks are date bits. So tasty. 

 

Just add the wet stuff to the seeds and nuts and combine. I honestly used my hands to do this, and it worked fairly well.   

Once it’s evenly combined, pour it into a pan, a bread loaf pan works PERFECT for this.   

Press until it’s a thick even layer and chill for an hour, then slice into bars.  I have just been keeping these in the fridge in a container. 

So these look super healthy and they are, but they taste good.  Think chewy bar meets actually healthy and this is what came out.  What I love about recipes like this is that they are so versatile, so you can change anything.  If you don’t use honey, agave would do fine here. Any seeds and nuts combination would work.  A Mexican would probably like this with some enchiladas nuts mixed in, that is chile seasoned nuts. 

I like them as is and I munch them when my energy is waning.  I found it to be a good recipe in my search for healthier foods, a great snack to have around for those that like to munch.   

Check out some of my other recent Steemit Originals!

Dot Stacking Spoon Pipe Photo Shoot

Silver Fumed Spoon Pipe Photo Shoot

Acapulco Sunset: The Last Set

Back on the Torch
 
 

Sort:  

This looks absolutely amazing, cashews, almonds, dates, seeds. damn it sounds sooo yummy. I;d love to try them.

The bars looks delicious. I can imagine the crunch and flavor in each bite. Do you have to keep them refrigerated? Or can they sit on the shelf once they have set up? Thanks!

I have no idea, I've only made this specific type once. They didn't seem to want to stay set up at room temperature, so I just keep them in the fridge for ease of eating.

looks better than any ive tried

It tasted better than many I've tried.

Nom Nom Nom!! I love this! Thx for sharing!

I love peanut butter and it looks healthy. Save me some!!!!!!

I think that's very delicious, I wanna try it :D

These look amazing delicious! And that view at the end, stunning!

Those sound (and look) incredible!

They look amazing and very tasty! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23