Gluten Free Blueberry Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins Food Photo Shoot and Recipe

in #food7 years ago

 

I’ve been on a bit of a gluten free kick lately, partially because it’s starting to go well.  Once I started using gluten free flours in recipes where gluten isn’t necessary (breads need SOMETHING more) like cookies and such, it became a lot easier to wrap my head around the use of these things.  I actually made these several days ago, but I’m just now getting around to sharing it with you.  I give you, gluten free blueberry peanut butter and jelly muffins
 

What you need: 

.5 cup peanut flour 

1 cup quinoa flour 

¾ c sugar 

½ t salt 

1 t vanilla 

1/3 cup butter, melted 

1 egg 

½ cup milk 

2 T baking soda 

1 cup blue berries 

Strawberry Jelly 

½ c brown sugar 

¼ c butter, softened to room temp 

1/3 cup ground flax 

1/3 cup quinoa flour 

1 ½ t cinnamon

Starts with the wet ingredients in a large bowl: melted butter, eggs, sugar, vanilla, milk.  Cream that together.

Add the flours, salt, baking powder and mix until combined. 

After this, fold in the bluberries until evenly distributed. 

I used a silicone muffin pan, lightly oiled. 

Fill half full with batter, then add a dollop of jelly in the center of each. 

Cover the jelly in batter until it comes to the edge of the cup.  Prepare the strusel with the ¼ cup butter, 1/3 cup flour, cinnamon and flax until crumbly, distribute across the muffins. 

They should look like this, bake for about a half hour at 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

They’re finished when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  I let them cool before removing them from the pan to keep them together, remember theres a molten core of jelly in there.   

I tried making something similar several years ago with bad success.  I thought the idea of a peanut butter and jelly muffin was an awesome one, but what I came out with was SO heavy and hard to eat.  This was a lot better and it had to do with the peanut flour.  The gluten free aspect makes it a lot more digestible for most people as well. 

These are a pretty simple one and I figure just about any gluten free flours would substitute reasonably well here.  I’ve found that I just buy a few types and substitute for flour in varying ratios with flavor in mind.  Quinoa is known to have a slightly bitter flavor unless lightly roasted, but that takes a long time to do. For that reason I usually cut quinoa flour with something else to cut that flavor. 

Check out some other recent posts of mine!

Acapulco Sunsets: Shot by Shot

Steemit Photo Challenge 46: Bokeh

Kombucha Scoby Shots

Shrimp and Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms

Detroit Skillet Remix

Thanks for following and supporting, until next time! 

Sort:  

Nice post. Thank you for sharing

awesome post and delicious

I've never thought of mixing blueberries and peanut butter. Interesting combination;)

Aww stop it with all these wonderful suggestions. We keep getting stuck in our kitchen! :)

That's what I like to hear!

Sounds and looks delicious. The photos are beautiful too with those amazing backgrounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26