Fermenting Adventures: Another Attempt at Sauerkraut Started!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0035.jpeg

I finally got over my slight irrational fear of sauerkraut after having overdone it while back and 2 days ago I started a new batch. This time I added garlic and onion too which will make the flavor profile pretty different.

DSC_0028.jpeg

DSC_0030.jpeg

I used less than a quarter of a red onion and probably 3 garlic cloves between one head of cabbage. I probably used 2 tsp salt for the head as well.

DSC_0033.jpeg

I sliced the onions, cabbage and garlic into a bowl, covered with the salt and just started smashing it with the bottom of a clean glass jar.

DSC_0034.jpeg

This helps both evenly distribute the salt and bring out the water suspended within the veggies.

DSC_0037.jpeg

I packed them into jars that came with those matching lids with the holes in the center. Using the lid to fasten the coffee filter on the top, they're in the other room fermenting nicely.

In a few days, I'll harvest and tell you all about it.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Fermenting Adventures: More Ginger Beer with Key Lime Harvest
Fermenting Adventures: How to Recycle Grolsch Style Flip Top Bottles for Home Brewing
Fermenting Adventures: Ginger Beer Harvest and a Fermenters Pride

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Farm Egg Bacon and Veggie Breakfast Pizza Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Air Fryer Cinnamon Twist Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Farm Update: Key Lime Harvest

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

sauerkraut = mystic alchemy. The fear isn't irrational!!! ;)

Nope. I just overdid it and had too much of a good thing making myself afraid of eating it for a long time :)

I was like that with manioc root for a long time, nothing like an entire night crouched over a stinking drop-pit toilet retching your guts up with a drop of food poisoning to put you off a food type for a while :P

Good job :)

Keep the bits of cabbage submerged below the juice line. Dunking the pieces down once a day will work as well. :) More salt will make for a longer ferment, this will increase the sour and softness.

Cool Beans! :D

I am not far from the Amish Amana Colonies in Iowa. The have the old fashioned family style dining. I grew to like sauerkraut in pizza (with pineapple, ham and black olives) and Reuben sandwiches using raisin bread. Thanks for the blog.

tasty food, i liked it very much. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88