STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #11 : Millet grain veggie burger

in #food7 years ago

Here is my entry for the cheeseless burger challenge. I made this burgers with millet grain and juice pulp that was left from juicing of beetroot and carrot. No juicer, no problem! Instead of using juice pulp, grate beet root and carrots and drain as much liquid as you can. It will be equally delicious. 

Enjoy!!

Suzanah

Ingredients:

  • 100 g of millet grain
  • one beet root
  • two carrots
  • 30-60 g of pumpkin and sunflower seeds mix
  • 1 tbs of flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbs of oil (I used walnut oil)
  • 1 tbs of apple cider vinegar
  • spices (I used a homemade salt of Svanetia that is a mix of spices that contains, salt, garlic, cumin, coriander seeds, fenugreek, paprika and cayenne pepper) 
  • Garlic sauce (yogurt, garlic and salt)

Steps:

1. Juice beet root and carrots.

2. Cook millet grain in boiling and salted water until al dente.

3. Mill the pumpkin and sunflower seeds in a food processor. (I like to make them a bit chunky)

 4. Mix all of the ingredients and form patties.

5. Make garlic sauce by mixing yogurt with minced garlic and salt.

6. Grill the burgers until cooked through.

7. Assemble everything together, garnish with veggies of your choice and enjoy!!

Badges are courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Oh wow!! This is fantastic!!! Thank you so much @englishtchrivy for hosting this contest!! I know I said this before but SCCs are a lot of fun!!
I also want to thank the judge @felixxx who really had a hard job to do judging all of the amazing recipes that were posted. And big thanks to @smooth, @sirwinchester and @knozaki2015 for sponsoring the prizes!!

@knittybynature my pleasure!

You brought this success to yourself by going on and just doing your best despite a few rounds of no luck. Keep up the same spirit here and you'll get far .

I totally agree that @felixxx must have a tough job but he was pretty fast at coming up with the winners. Strong head I must say - he knows what he wants and I wouldn't change a thing of his choices. When I saw this entry - I thought it was meat and anyone who could pull something like this off with a millet grain and a beet - could just bag 1st prize as well.

Congrats again and see you on the 12th round!

Congrats for winning the contest. I knew this was a great entry! Again, just an amazing post!

Thank you so much!!! I didn't expect this entry to do so well as it didn't get much votes but wow I am amazed!! Thanks for the support and I will look forward for your next fantastic food posts!!

Great Stuff! Good luck for SCC !

Thank you!! And good luck to you too!!

I love using millet in cooking, it gives an excellent texture. These look tasty and nutritious - good luck!!!

Thank you very much!! Good luck to you too!!
About millet, I have found it only recently and I started to explore different recipes. It become my favorite grain ever since. :)

Very, very nice food post. Good luck in the challenge

Thank you so much!!

@knittybynature since you made it with red beets and I could really use one now and probably every woman having that time of the month - I want to make one of this tomorrow!

I love the color of the burger and would definitely drink that juice down! And you just grilled them like that, too. What makes it very different aside from the ingredients is the sauce - that's himalayan salt ain't it? Better than normal rock salt .

Good luck! Am glad you joined again!

I hope the beets will make you will feel better!! The patties are breaking a bit before you place them on a grill or pan so be gentle with them but they hold together nicely after cooking. and yes it is Himalayan salt. Some time ago I read about the health benefits of this one above the normal salt and now it is a habit of mine to add it to nearly everything.
And thank you for wishing me good luck!! I will make sure to participate in these challenges as often as it is only possible. I think they are a lot of fun and there are always many recipes that I want to try. I hope you will enjoy the burgers!!

@knittybynature thanks that's sweet.

Yes, Himalayan salt is indeed healthy and hopefully even though your entries seem ignored now despite the great effort you exerted out here presenting that beautiful looking red patty - I hope that you go on participating. It'll soon pay off !

Thank you very much !

Look awesome! Thanks for sharing this great post, Knittybynature!
Upvoted & Followed you as well.

Thank you so much!!! I think you are my 100th follower!! So amazing!! Thank you again!!

Very glad you won @knittybynature, this really was a great recipe, so nutritious!!!

Thank you so much @woman-onthe-wing!! I am so happy that you like this recipe. You always make such healthy and delicious food that hearing you liked my recipe make me feel proud :D

Aw thank you, that's lovely of you to say so :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47