Christmas treats for GAPS, Paleo and other whole food or therapeutic dietssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

Yes, really there are all sorts of delicious things you can have!

Last year I was a busy little Steemian and posted heaps of festive food ideas in December. This year, everything has been a little different and yesterday was my first new recipe in months. But I know there will be many new people who might like some Xmas ideas, so here’s a recap.

The best Christmas cake in the world

This is based on a Nigella Lawson recipe for a boiled Xmas cake, which I’ve adapted to be GAPS friendly, Paleo or just plain gluten free, depending on your fancy. It has no added sugar, just the sweetness from the fruit. It’s quick and easy to make, and can be made and eaten the same day.

IMG_9423c600..jpg

Check out the full recipe here

Light but nourishing Xmas breakfasts

Our family Christmas dinner is usually later in the day, so we need to have a decent breakfast. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, followed by some berries is a favourite of mine. But you might just need a light one.

First option is the festive smoothie. In this post, I suggest several different options for a nourishing smoothie that will taste festive and get you in the Xmas mood.

egg-nog-smoothie-3.jpg

Another option was also inspired by Nigella. This post has two versions of an orange cranberry breakfast muffin, one made with coconut flour and one with almond flour.

xmas-muffins.jpg

What to take to the family dinner?

Even here in NZ, where we have a summer Xmas, a roast and some hot veges, plus some side salads, is customary. Or maybe a BBQ and salads. Either way, meat and veg usually provides some good options for most people. But ah, those snacks beforehand…

If you want to avoid chippies (crisps) or wheat based crackers, my almond based cheesy Xmas stars make a nice alternative. Team them with pâté or hummus, and you can feel quite virtuous.

cheese-stars8.jpg

For an after dinner sweet treat, try something from my range of homemade chocolates and fudges made from creamed coconut.

chocs.jpg

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg!

In this post I give you heaps more suggestions for a healthy but very tasty Xmas Day.

To finish the day off

In this post I talk about what we did to make sure that once we got home, we finished the day off with a light, easy and nourishing supper.

winter-soup-2.jpg

Thanks for reading and hope these help make your Xmas a healthy, happy one.

Photos by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

Good stuff @sift666 is a lucky guy.

I ate all the cakes! :)

Good for you. That's your job so there are none left for @kiwideb to get fat on.

Whaddya trying to say, Mike? ;-)

You look marvelous Deb. Just want you to stay that way. :)

You could go for a career as a diplomat, Mike ;-)

Nice to see posting here again, Deb! Those look so delicious! Having them super nutritious too is a real plus.

Hi Jed. Thanks for stopping by. Hopefully I will be here much more often in 2018, and not only posting but commenting more too! Fingers crossed.

Fingers crossed you'll get back to it. I've missed your wonderful thoughts in the comments section after all! Happy holidays to you and @sift666! I'm sure your stomachs would be full this season!

Our stomachs have indeed been full! Off to make a simple dinner of scrambled eggs and soup, though I do want to wander over to your blog first, to comment on a post I saw yesterday then couldn't get back to.

now this makes me hungry , this looks delicious and yummy. i want this for christmas

awesome.... i upvoted and followed you ...plz you do the same..

Hey @kiwideb I see you are using 100% power up option. You might not want to do that because you are loosing massive profits. I wrote a detailed post explaining why, you should read it.
DON'T USE 100% POWER UP - You Will Lose a Lot of Money
thank me later ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68