Filipino food with a twist, art and hopefully, a new minnow or two!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

My husband and I checked out a new restaurant, Flip'n Patties, based on the over 50 5-star ratings on Yelp. It was 3 pm so we were surprised to see it abuzz with really great energy. There was a section full of college kids because they eat at random times.

High Expectations

When you walk up to the counter, the backdrop exclaims, Heaven in your Mouth. In my mind, I thought to myself, "Oh boy, I sure hope their food is as good as everyone says!"

IMG_20180211_150429_1152x864.jpg

Dissecting their Signature Dish

We ordered several items off the menu. Their claim to fame is their Flip'n Patty. Here is a photo of their signature dish. The burger is sitting on a homemade steam bun. On top of the burger is a breaded and stuffed Portabella Mushroom and the bottom is a tasty, juicy burger.

IMG_20180211_151816_1152x864.jpg

Boy, did they deliver! It was a mouthwatering explosion of deliciousness. In fact, everything was so tasty! I made a mental note to check out another dish next time when I overheard a girl at the next table tell her friends, "You have to try one of my Flip'n Fries. I get them all the time."

History in Art

I asked one of the servers the history of the place and realized that I had stumbled upon a very bloggable story. Apparently, the restaurant, started by two cousins, got its start as a Filipino Street Food Truck six years earlier. They grew and ended up with a great following giving birth to this restaurant. Murals around the restaurant told the story.

Miniature Superheros

Each of the owners' kids is represented in this mural. One of the kids is holding a steamed bun and two are holding Flip'n Patties like Thor holds his anvil. One of them is riding a winged unicorn. Another rides a pig. All led by the chicken... miniature superheroes on a mission!

IMG_20180211_150812 (2)_1152x864.jpg

Truck Gods

Look at the intensity of the cooking station in this mural! Each person is completely dedicated to their craft. Their expressions are priceless. There's even a guy holding up the sign, "We can never go home!" That's dedication! I regret not taking a video of the hustle and bustle of the kitchen because it had the same energy the mural depicts.

IMG_20180211_150834_1152x864.jpg

A Family Affair

We met Don, one of the owners, and his extended family. Some worked behind the counter, some sat and socialized in the main dining area. My husband and I have lots of Filipino friends and have experienced first hand the emphasis our Filipino friends put on on family, food, friends and fun!

IMG_20180211_153243_1_1152x864.jpg
(Don's wearing the green braids.)

Uniting Filipinos Worldwide

At the counter was a local newspaper specifically for the thriving Filipino community. I loved their motto, Uniting Filipinos Worldwide.

IMG_20180211_152600.jpg

Knowing how people like @surpassinggoogle leads the charge with uniting Filipinos worldwide on Steemit, I knew I had to share with Don exactly what we do without overwhelming him with to much detail. So, I mentioned to Don that I would send him my blog after I wrote about our great experience with their place.

Future Steemian(s)

This led to further discussions about how Steemit pairs social media with cryptocurrency. He was happily surprised to learn that there was a way to get paid for what he's already doing on social media. As questions arose, I let him know that there is a learning curve and that I would be available to help should he join our platform. So, be sure to give a very warm welcome when he does join. Who knows, maybe Steemit can become a family affair too!

My husband gained lots of weight working with the Filipino community in business at one time because congregating around heaps of food was the norm. Who here has felt the warm embrace of a cultural norm? I'd love to hear about it!

Recent Post

Sushi, Anyone? Hello, Conveyor Belt Sushi.

karencarrens fukako Steemit footer.gif

Sort:  

Wow, that burger made my mouth water! I can see I'm going to be experimenting with that idea in the near future!

I love LOVE the history of this. I love htat you thought to not only capture the photos, but also talk with them and learn more of the history of how they came to be and what the artwork represents. It is adorable and awesome that they included their kids in the artwork.

I love seeing small businesses make it and then go forth and share the steemit world with them is just so incredible.

Wow. Just an awesome post!

@byn

@byn, OMG! Thank you so much for your awesome encouragement! I do hope they Steem with us! Really great people.

Be sure to update when they do :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 47 (2/16/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

I love to hear stories about successful family-owned business. Once the family is united they can truly do anything. The burger looks delicious and I loved family and restaurant dedicated graffiti. It gives their restaurant amazing character which is very important in anything you do.

Loved how you got them into talking about Steemit and recruited them to maybe try in future. I sure hope they do. Let us know if it happens?

Great post my friend. Well written and organized. Enjoyed reading it. Thank you for sharing. Have a great day. :)

@awakentolife, they were such a great group. It was so great to see how much support Don has with his family and friends. And, yes, I will certainly let everyone know if they join us. I let him know that I would help him with his introduceyourself post.

It really is great that we get to live our lives, take photos, blog about whatever moves us, and get paid to do it. 😁

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 83%.

Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

-Quality, technique and aesthetics of photography (Good framing, good focus, sufficient brightness, adjusted to what the photograph intends to express.)
-Adaptation and relationship with the general theme raised (clearly reflects the proposed theme)
-Capacity of the composition (causes sensations, emotions)

That is awesome. I love that the owner was open to the idea of starting a steemit page. Shows that he's really business-minded. That burger is massive. Looks like a great place to visit. :)

Yes, we'll see! It was massive. If you're ever in town... 😁.

Gosh. That burger, all while here I'm trying to decide what to have for lunch right now.

LOL, @fknmayhem. Right now I'm starving. I feel your pain. Hope you found something yummy to eat!

What an amazing restaurant. I love how they used the murals to tell their backstory rather than just placing random art all over the walls. This is definitely a restaurant I would love to check out!

Yes, @keciah, it's super cool!

You got a 5.77% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @karencarrens!

This just made me so hungry, that Flip'n Patty looks delicious! I love the mural art. It's so sweet that it includes their kids, and tells their story. Hopefully they decide come Steem with us!

It really is creative! I would love to learn more about the artist. Hopefully, we'll learn more about it later!

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @dreamingirwin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19