Tastebud Teasing

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending a soft opening for a local restaurant where one of my friends will be a chef. Unique, trendy, and fresh are some of the best words to describe the food and atmosphere, and I am very glad to have had the opportunity to sample so many dishes. Each plate had at least one or two things that I had either never tried or never tried paired! I am not really one to constantly photograph my food, but for this occasion I thought I would try and share my experience through pictures with the Steemit community.

Unfortunately, two of my favourite dishes I did not even take photographs of (a risotto inspired dish using ingredients like sunflower seeds rather than rice, and a bread and cheese dip with perfectly crisp bread and a very creamy, frothy, flavourful cheese dip) but like everything else on this post they were delicious. I also regret not taking a photo of the menu so that anyone reading this can see how innovative the ingredient combinations were as my memory does not do the combinations justice. Feel free to browse, drool, and ask questions about the dishes.
20170623_203805.jpg
A spicy clam starter with a hint of apricot.
20170623_202242.jpg
Kohlrabi rolls topped with pea shoots and sunflower seeds.
20170623_202259.jpg20170623_202258.jpg
Fried chicken skins paired with fresh radishes.
20170623_203331.jpg
I believe this was a sourdough with pickled onions and cheese, a great appetizer for those with a soft spot for pizza bread.
20170623_203801.jpg
Homemade chips (yum!)
20170623_213314.jpg20170623_212244.jpg
20170623_205730.jpg
The entrées we tried- A lovely fresh chicken dish (which had the most perfectly cooked chicken I have ever tried), a pork shoulder with a side of beets prepared in various ways (the dark red beets had gone through some sort of a rehydrating process when I asked about them- whatever it was, I was a huge fan), and grilled bok choy on a black sesame sauce.
20170623_215844.jpg20170623_215840.jpg
And to finish it off we chose to try the grilled and candied rhubarb with a side of shortbread cookies and milk, and a pear sorbet. Both were a refreshing change from a typical chocolate brownie or cheesecake dessert menu!

The next time I return, and I am quite certain I will, I think I will turn my focus to their wide variety of craft beers.

Sort:  

Assorted yummy dishes. Feel like grabbing the plates already.

They certainly were- you know it is good when you don't think that photographs do the tastes justice.

This looks so good ... might need to try that restaurant! Yum!

great shots the food looks so tasty and beautifully presented

Congratulations @jilianh! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jilianh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50