The Most Refreshing Kiwi and Key Lime Frozen Custard - Recipe and Food Photos

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Oh man, this one is good.

It all started with me buying kiwis in bulk from Costco. There are many things you can buy from Costco and use well before they turn or go bad. Paper towels, for example. Great shelf life. Some new tires for your minivan, a spare toolshed, or a lifetime supply of Q-tips. All very solid choices for a weekend Costco run. Kiwis? Not so much.

dJI6A2559.jpg

dJI6A2351.jpg

I found myself with two dozen kiwis and there was no way we would consume them before they turned into a slimy green mess resembling Ecto Cooler.

Image source

The easy and brilliant solution is kiwi ice cream! Nay! Kiwi Custard! What's that? I also thought it wise to buy key limes at Costco too!? Into the custard they go! And that, my friends, is the story of how kiwi-key lime custard was born.

dJI6A2360.jpg

Let's get to the recipe, shall we?

Start out by bringing 2 cups of heavy cream to a simmer. Add 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract and heat until the sugar dissolves.

dJI6A2346.jpg

In a separate bowl, whisk 6 egg yolks until the color turns from deep yellow to light yellow, roughly 5 minutes.

dJI6A2336.jpg

Now you've got to combine the egg yolks and the cream mixture. However, if you added the yolks directly to the hot cream mixture, you'd end up with scrambled egg yolks in your custard. So to avoid this, we "temper" the eggs. Here's how: Slowly pour 1/3 of the cream mixture into the egg yolks while whisking the egg yolks constantly. Then, add the egg yolk mixture slowly into the remainder of the cream mixture while whisking the cream mixture constantly. This way, you've gradually warmed up the egg yolks so they don't scramble.

dJI6A2366.jpg

Now, let the entire mixture simmer over low heat until it thickens enough so that when you dip a spoon into the pot, the spoon remains coated with the custard base. Turn off the heat, and strain the mixture to remove any scrambled stragglers and smooth out the mixture.

Now, start the kiwi and limes, which will be added to the custard. Cut each kiwi in half around the equator and, using a spoon, scoop out the insides of as many kiwis as you have into a medium saucepan over medium-low heat. I think I ended up using about 10 of them, but as few as 4 would be fine: Your custard will just be less kiwi-y.

dJI6A2368.jpg

dJI6A2374.jpg

Squeeze about 8 key limes, or about 2 regular limes, over the kiwis, using a strainer to catch any lime seeds. Now, add 1/2 cup sugar to the kiwis and lime juice and bring to a simmer. Use the back of a spoon or a potato masher to soften the kiwis and get them to break down a bit. Once the kiwis are mostly broken down, transfer the entire contents of the pot into the blender or food processor, and pulse a few times to break down any large chunks of kiwi. You could continue to pulse until your desired smoothness is reached. Some like it chunky.

dJI6A2382.JPG

Now, combine the kiwi and lime mixture into the cream mixture and stir until they are combined. Pour into a bowl or a large container and refrigerate at least 4 hours or overnight.

dJI6A2397.jpg

The next day, churn the frozen custard according to your ice cream maker's instructions. As I mentioned in my cherry vanilla sherbet recipe, if you don't have an ice cream maker, have no fear! Instead, put the mixture in the freezer, stirring it every half hour until the custard reaches the consistency of soft serve ice cream. Here are even more ideas on how to make ice cream without an ice cream maker.

dJI6A2556.jpg

dJI6A2561.jpg

Allow the custard to firm up in the freezer for at least 2 hours before serving. If you're feeling saucy, we loved this with a drizzle of chocolate syrup. This might be the most refreshing ice cream I've ever had. The creamy custard base and tart fruity kiwis and limes are a perfect balance. I hope you agree!

dJI6A2563.jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 7/5 and 7/6/2017 using a Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

That looks yummy! I actually want to buy an ice cream maker this summer. I have a fantastic recipe book from a place in San Francisco. I'm going to add this recipe to the list as well!

Thanks for stopping by @joeyarnoldvn! I know you'll enjoy it if you decide to make it!!

OH MY GAWD!
I love you. Seriously. I never buy kiwis in bulk because of the ecto cooler mess (LOL) and I don't make smoothies or eat fresh fruit often enough to justify the purchase but this sounds AMAZING. I cannot wait to try it as my special treat. Thanks for sharing it!

Yesss! I will only ever buy so many kiwis again if I am making this recipe. At least I'm glad they didn't go to waste or turn to mush in my fridge drawer :) Nothing I hate worse than cleaning out a stinky fridge drawer!

😂😂😂😂. Your story is not only hilarious, but it resinates within the deepest parts of my soul. This is why I started fermenting things like garlic and also pickling things. Kiwis and limes, not so much. 😂😂😂 I go to Sams instead of Costco, and God, I have a really bad love/hate relationship with that place. The Kiwi Custard looks incredible and by looking at the ingredients and technique I bet it was amazing. 👌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼💯

Hah! Glad you liked it :) man Costco/Sams kills me! I love it and while I'm there I feel like I'm in wonderland but that feeling quickly fades when I load the car, can't see out of the rear view mirror, need a second job to pay for it all, and I'm like um...what just happened there...?

This looks delicious! Although I would swap the eggs for chia seeds and almond milk since I cannot eat too many eggs. Have a great week!

Woah great idea! I love chia seeds and they would look so cute alongside their buddy kiwi seeds! Have you ever made ice cream with chia?? I'd definitely want to try making it.

Nope! Waiting on my popsicle molds since I have a recipe I want to try with chia seeds. But I'm sure it will taste great.

Woooo can't wait for your recipe! I bought chia in bulk so now I'm on the lookout for ideas!

Awesome post and great food pics @jaymorebeet. I think I could consume a pint, no problem!!! Up-voted and re-steemed.

Thanks @cognoscere! Brain freeze alert!! Easy does it!! hahaha

This sound amazing. I haven't tried making ice cream (or custard) but I enjoy reading your recipes. Maybe someday I'll get an ice cream attachment for my kitchen aid. Thanks!

Yes! Actually, I got my attachment at Costco....womp.

My son would love this recipe!! Thanks for sharing @jaymorebeet

Yah my kids love it too --- especially with chocolate syrup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56