Cherry vanilla sherbet - Food Photos and Recipe

in #photography7 years ago

A cool sweet treat at the end of a hot day, this cherry sherbet is simple to make and pleases both kids and adults alike.

JI6A9863.JPG

If you're using fresh cherries, I highly recommend using a time-saving cherry pitter like this one. Otherwise, frozen cherries that are already pitted would work great in this recipe too.

IMG_9088.JPG

Bring your pitted cherries (about 4 cups) to a boil over medium heat. I used a potato masher to help things along. Reduce the heat to low and simmer uncovered for roughly 20 minutes until the cherries have softened.

Add some sugar (2/3 cup), juice of half a lemon, and vanilla extract (1T).

Once the cherries have softened and the sugar has dissolved, transfer the mixture to the blender and blend on high until smooth. Be careful, as it will be hot!

Add cream (1 cup) to the mixture very slowly to avoid curdling.

Blend again if necessary, so you reach the smoothness you'd like. I made mine pretty smooth. At this point, you could add some bourbon if you want to turn it into boozy bourbon cherry sherbet. Why didn't I do that?

JI6A9838.JPG

JI6A9851.JPG

Set the batch in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours or overnight, so the mixture is completely cooled.

When you're ready, set up your ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer's instructions. I use the ice cream maker attachment on my stand mixer.

If you don't have an ice cream maker, have no fear! Instead, put the mixture in the freezer, stirring it every half hour until the sherbet reaches the consistency of soft serve ice cream. Here are even more ideas on how to make ice cream without an ice cream maker.

Allow the sherbet to firm up in the freezer for at least 2 hours before serving to your eager friends and family.

JI6A9868.JPG

JI6A9862.JPG


If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:

Blueberry (cutie) pies and a lattice top photo tutorial


All photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 6/22 and 6/23/2017 using IOS10 or Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

Hello, Taica here. I am doing the selection of the most underrated posts and share it with my followers and the Steem community. I think that there is too much good content on Steemit which remains overlooked everyday and lost in the blockchain.

Here you can see my latest report containing your post, which I’ve also upvoted and resteemed.

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-13-share-moments-steem-life

If you like this post you can say thank you by upvoting and following me.

NOTE: In Taica’s selection thread I am searching for a (in my opinion) genuine and nice, quality posts. The topic is not about giving my critique about the posts or authors that I include. It is simply something that I like and want to share with my followers. Should you disagree to be included in my topic, please let me know and your links will be removed. Thank you.

All the best @taica

Awesome- thanks so much @taica!

My neighbor has cherry's now. I might have to try this. Thanks

@jaymorebeet this looks mouthwatering!

Thanks @kotturinn! It is really good - I made a big batch, so I might attempt to blend it up with rum and make a cherry daquiri :X

Nice recipe @jaymorebeet, looks like it would be a great summertime dessert!!! Good job with the plating too.

Thanks @cognoscere for the feedback :) I have to use the mint somewhere before it takes over my lawn, so I may as well pick some for plating! That stuff grows like a weed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32