STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #15 : Fire-roasted Wild RootssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

If I misidentify one of these roots, I could die. But they are so delicious! And with elk and a weed salad, these fire-roasted wild roots are "to die for".

ST145ba8.jpg


Step 1. Forage The Roots

The risky root that I am after is the Wild Carrot or Queen Anne's Lace (Daucus carota). Yes, it's the same plant that became our domestic carrot through lots of selection and cross-breeding over many generations. You may notice its pretty flowers in mid-summer, out in open fields. The roots are no good to eat then. But in the late winter and early spring, they are so delicious when they are roasted!

I'm not looking for the old plants that have flowered. Their roots are dead now. I'm looking for the plants that sprouted last fall and have been growing with every break in the winter weather. They will start putting up a flower stalk soon enough, and then the roots will be all woody and no good. But now, when their greenery is just little tufts in the grass? Now they are so crazy good!

ST2-19cd74.jpg

The Wild Carrot is on the left and its flower is in the upper right. The Poison Hemlock is on the lower right. Can you tell the difference? They have distinct differences than anyone can learn, if they are careful observers and have a good sense of smell.

The big risk is to not get it confused with Poison Hemlock (Conium maculatum). Poison Hemlock is deadly, no exaggeration. This is serious business! Here at Haphazard Homestead, I have both of these plants. Sometimes they grow only a foot apart! But that's OK. Once you get to know them, though, they are easy to tell apart.

The Wild Carrot has little hairs on the stems of its leaves and it smells like a carrot. Poison Hemlock does not have any hairs, often has reddish-purple splotches on its leave stems, and it stinks! When the plants are older, they are even easier to tell apart, but that's fodder for a future post!

ST36b2b0.jpg

I'm also looking for two other roots that are great this time of year -- Jerusalem artichokes (Helianthus tuberosus) and Elephant Garlic (Allium ampeloprasum). Jerusalem artichokes are native to North America and grow in a lot of different places. Both plants often escape from gardens, too.

Once the roots are harvested -- DO NOT bring them into your kitchen with all that dirt on them. No! Soak them in a couple changes of water. You don't have to scrub, just soak and rinse. That's the voice of experience talking, with those big, bold letters!

ST4e056f.jpg



Step 2. Clean the Roots

I leave the tops on when I bring the wild carrots into the kitchen. This lets me double-check that I really have the right plants! I look at each one! Then I cut off their tops and scrub them better. But I don't have to scrub them too hard, because I peel them -- lightly. Wild carrots are really hairy compared to domestic carrots. My goal is to just knock off the hairs, not much more than that. They are not as fat as domestic carrots, so there's not a lot of root to spare!

I also slice the Elephant Garlic and Jeruslam artichokes. In the early spring, the Elephant Garlic is just one big bulb. It hasn't started splitting into cloves yet. I don't peel the Jerusalem artichokes. The peels are just fine to eat when they are roasted.

ST5c2f84.jpg



Step 3. Bag the Roots

I lay out some aluminum foil and put the roots on it. Then I put on a tablespoon or so of olive oil, and some salt and pepper. That's all. I wrap everything up into a tight packet, so nothing will leak out.

ST6ad2b4.jpg

Ingredients: Roots from wild carrots, Jerusalem artichokes, Elephant garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper. Pretty simple!


Step 4. Roast the Roots

I built a fire and let it burn until I had a nice bed of coals. I laid my package of roots in the coals and even put some coals on top. Then I let it sit for about 15 minutes. I turned the packet over and put more coals on top. After another 15 minutes or so, it was ready. I opened the packet -- and there it all is. Everything is tender and sweet and delicious!

ST75def6.jpg


Step 5. Enjoy Eating Those Roots!

I served my Fire-roasted Wild Roots with a wild salad of Chickweed (Stellaria media) and Wild Field Mustard (Brassica rapa), and some leftover roasted elk that I made the day before the Culinary Challenge theme was announced! With a good Cream Ale to drink and a warm compote from homegrown Concord Grape I preserved in my freezer, this was a great meal!

Make no mistake, even though there was meat here, it is not the main course. The star of this plate is the Fire-Roasted Wild Roots. This could be served at any restaurant -- it is that good! The smoky flavor of the Jerusalem artichokes, the sweetness of the carrots, and the mild leek flavor of the Elephant garlic. So simple, so delicious! It is worth getting to know the Wild Carrot!

ST83aad7.jpg



What Do You Think?

Have you ever seen Queen Anne's Lace out in the wild? Have you ever eaten their roots? Are you interested in trying to eat this great wild food? What are you foraging now? I really want to know!

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @Haphazard-Hstead,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Great post @haphazard-hstead, I fondly remember learning foil cookery skills in the Boy Scouts 👍🏻

Thanks! I'm glad you got to do outdoor cooking in foil. It's still a lot of fun, whenever there's wood to burn! What sorts of food did you cook that way?

@haphazard-hstead Congratulations!
better almost late than never ;)!

What a nice surprise! This was a fun entry to do. Wild carrots are such a common weed and they are so good to eat. And they are a good for teaching that it pays to pay attention to identification! I'll be cooking more of all these great roots! :D

@haphazard-hstead lol - this is a spoiled comment probably days ago? :P

I've neglected my comments. I didn't want to seem unappreciative of my prize. I enjoyed this challenge a lot. And - I'm practicing for Hardfork 17, when all our posts and comments can get payouts for 7 days, lol. So there will be lots more interaction on posts that are a few days old. ; )

@haphazard-hstead replying on the nested one
don't think too much
nobody thinks that only you maybe :P...
live in the moment cause everyone is just busy on posting and replying but I appreciate it a lot though

haha -- you keep me on track here, @englishtchrivy! I'm glad you are here on Steemit!

Typically, cubed steak or chicken, cut up carrots, celery, potatoes. Nothing exotic. But it sure tasted good back then 😉

That's a standard foil dinner for a reason -- so good! And everything tastes better outdoors by a campfire! : )

Wow, that does look good. A delicious, high tension meal with life and death in the balance. Ok, a bit exaggerative, but glad you know what you are doing none the less. Great presentation and photos. I hope you do well in the Challenge.

Thanks! These wild carrots are so good, that I wish people wouldn't be so scared about them. They are distinctive, in their own way. And they are all around us! I hope you get to have some, too, sometime. :D

We had Queen Anne's Lace all over the place when I lived in New York. I never knew they had edible roots!
My mouth is watering now. The only foraging I'm doing tonight is for something in the fridge. :(

haha -- I laughed at your foraging in the refrigerator. I've been there, too, lol! Queen Anne's Lace are so underappreciated. They are pretty much entirely edible, with different parts at different times, of course. And each part has its own way of being prepared. It's not true for every wild edible plant, but some of them, like Queen Anne's Lace, are great because once you learn to identify that plant, then you have food across different seasons, using its different parts. And I'm not exaggerating when I say how good these roots were. Really worth doing!

I agree! It's definitely worth doing. I've already bookmarked your post for future reference. :)

If you ever do a foraging field trip or taste review, I'd like to read what you think about their roots or trying to identify them! Here's to weeds! :D

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow, amazing post haphazard-hstead I`ll follow you

Glad you enjoyed this post. These wild roots really are worth getting to know. And it's nice to have some food out there, ready to harvest, even before gardening season has started.

I totally agree

Beautiful food post, really done in superb fashion.

Thanks! Domestic carrots are bigger, but these wild carrots have such great flavor in the early spring. It took more work, but people in the old days were eating pretty tasty stuff, I think!

I can imagine the robust taste

So good! Those three roots go so well together. And I think the wood coals add something that an oven just can't. Restaurants wish they could serve something this good, lol.

What a roast! Those roots look great! I like the added danger element of your ingredients too.

Thanks! Foraging is a good way to improve observation skills, just like painting I think. There's real incentive to get it right, with wild carrots!

Yes, get it wrong and this post would have had a very different vibe to it!

You are so right. It's not hard to tell them apart, once you know them. But it does require looking at each individual plant. Not just digging up a whole batch. And it's not like buying a package at the store, that's for sure. : )

Entry into SCC #15 acknowledged! and also well done for getting in before the deadline!

Yay! Glad I got it posted in time. @englishtchrivy will be glad I paid attention about the shifted time, lol. I'm always up against her deadline! :O

I know I usually keep an eye out near the end for yours!! Lol

haha -- there's no fooling anyone. I'm one of those people, the reason that deadlines exist! But it's given me lots of experience working under pressure, which has been good for other reasons. I guess it takes all kinds. Thanks for helping out with the entries, while @englishtchrivy is gone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97