You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunday Cook #19 Portuguese green soup [Caldo verde]

in #food7 years ago

It's raining and snowing, mixed together, here in Oregon's Willamette Valley today, so your Calo Verde green soup looks so good! I'd like to have that right now! And thanks for bringing some to my Icicle Party.

Thanks for the shoutout - and I'm glad you liked seeing my Portuguese Kale. I can see why you are proud seeing that plant -- it is such a productive plant that holds up to hot or cold weather, and isn't bothered by insects. It's great! I've never seen it for sale in stores here, let alone already sliced so nicely like yours.

I'll write a post about this great plant, but here's a picture from a past harvest. The leaves are huge! I'm glad to know someone who knows how to really use this plant in its traditional ways.

PKharvestDec15-16c464.md.jpg

Sort:  

These Portuguese Kale are worth growing! And that picture is from December, so they can provide a lot of food well into the winter.

I've never made kimchi, but I do like it. These leaves would be good for that, I think. Great idea!

It's a great cabbage indeed. There's nothing more "comfy​" than that cabbage with potatoes and boiled egg seasoned with olive oil! It's wonderfull! I love to eat the tender stalks...nhami!

I was amazed how tender those whote central stalks are. I like to slice and eat them right out in the garden, lol. I like the sound of your "comfy" food, too! :D

Ahah, I was saying about those stalks boiled with the potatoes. Believe it's a great combination, but guess it's the olive oil that makes the difference. I'm not sure if it's easy to find good olive oil on North America. I prefer Extra virgin oil.

Thanks for this great photo!! Your cabbage grow so beautiful!!

Your welcome. It's nice you can buy it already sliced. But their leaves are so impressive, I thought folks might appreciate seeing it in a garden.

This is the cabbage I bought for Sunday Cook #10. It's really impressive.
DSC_3541.JPG

In this link you can see the "fancy aparail"that our grandmas used to slice the cabbage! My mother had one, but she hated it!! lol

That's an amazing contraption for slicing these big leaves. It's impressive how thin it slices. And isn't that just a beautiful cabbage in your picture? Yes, it is! I am a big fan of these plants now that I know them. They should be grown by a lot more folks. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44