STRAWBERRY & WATERMELON with KIWANO FRUIT PUNCH 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Trying to ascertain what you all want to see right now is rather difficult on this 18th day of January. So I thought I would try some exotic fruit click bait. Tell me in the comments if it worked or not, please, pretty please with sugar on top.

A large number of you are making a valiant effort to eat healthy / healthier and my sweets posts are probably a little agitating, sorry about that. On the other hand, you will have to acknowledge, that there's a lot of us out there that are attracted by that thumbnail. That first pic, the one that becomes your banner for the community to see is pretty darn important. And let's not forget the chocoholics out there, they're really almost choco-zombies. Chocolate posts are almost always my best 'performing' posts.

In other words, I have tried to be all things to all people. Sometimes I post healthier ideas, sometimes fun, sometimes easy and then sometimes just pure pleasure to they eye. That's really my goal, is to please your eye. I don't intend for those working so hard to obstain from sweets, and the like, to be tempted to fail, I apologize if that is the case. I am always attempting to please my audience.

Ok, enough of that. So today we have an exoctic fruit. I have had people tell me to post images of Patagonia, (which I have in the past, by the way). So I thought something interesting would be to do a post about an exotic fruit. This will certainly be eye appealing and cater to those working so hard.

You may be asking, "What the hell is that?!" If you are, you're not alone. Here in Patagonia, it is referred to as 'Kiwano.' In other parts of the world it know as the African horned cucumber, jelly melon, blowfish fruit, and many other names.

It is actually a melon, believe it or not.

Since moving here to Southern Chile, Ive come across many new fruits and veggies. Some good, some bad, and some just plain weird. My dad likes to bring home obscure items that no one has a clue about and give them to me to figure out what they are. Plus he thinks it adds variety to my blog.

These spiky yellowish orange things are the latest addition to our list of discoveries.

I have had some bad experiences when just diving in on these new discoveries. So, I’ve learned my lesson, you must first do a little research first. Take my word for it, as my Dad says, "Measure twice, cut once." After some time on internet, I found out what they were. They are said to taste like a love child of zucchini, cucumber, kiwi, and lime. I would have to agree with that. I also read that they appeared in a Star Trek episode.

Most of you won't have access to these, I know. So, just enjoy the photos and imagine what it is like during the summer here in Patagonia.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

@gringalicous your photos are always an eye catcher
I always love your presentation!

As for the kiwano I've seen them in the market and I wonder what they actually taste like.

I thought they were cucumbers and been wondering about it since @papa-pepper posted about them - so #til they're actually a melon - thanks to you.

As for the fruit punch I wonder what it taste like?
I suppose the fruit back ground makes up that tasty looking punch?
The sweetness of the watermelon is enough - you got me at watermelon
at least this click bait works for you ;)

you are such an awesome commenter. Thanks so much!!

@gringalicious you're welcome!
I mean them!

Weird and wonderful, right up my street - never heard of these but they look super good - love the 'love child' analogy
"Measure twice, cut once." - but this quote caught my attention even more - now going to use this when dealing with my girls in required situations- its a good one :)
Beautiful photos again- definately not seen these here so will just have to imagine the taste :)

My Dad uses that saying, 'measure twice,' all the time. One of these days it will sink into my thick skull, ...I hope. Thanks so much for commenting!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful! That's an exciting flavour combination.

Definitely unique, without question. Thanks so much for commenting!!

It looks very fresh :)

Thanks so much @natord, and thanks for all the upvotes, greatly appreciated

thank for sharing colorful and tasty kiwano punch @gringalicious

you are so welcome!! Thanks for commenting!!

Looks good and awesome photos!

You're welcome :)

Your click-bait worked! There was no way I could scroll past without looking at these, they look amazing!

yeah, score 1 for click bait! Thanks so much for commenting!!

Those look weird ! Lol ! But i will try anything once ! Im sure i could find it in my grocery store , where all the other wierd fruits are haha! Plus i like cucumber , kiwi and limes , zuchinni so it must be good ! Your drinks look awesome ! If i find one i will let you know ! Steem on 😊👍

If you find it, I will be shocked. But, in these days of export / import trade agreements, you might. I'd love to know

Omg ! Theres so much wierd stuff in the produce section these days I dont know what half the stuff is ! Lol ! and British Columbia is very much so a multicultural province ! Next time i shop i will take a picture , i hope i find one !👍😊

These are definitely eye candy, and I fell for the click bait, and found another unique, exotic and amazing combination. Great job on the presentation display. The spikes don't seem too friendly but I'm sure they can't be that sharp that you can't hold it. This is a drink I would love to see served at the next celebratory event I attend for sure. Great conversation piece and tasteful delight. Speaking of which, I didn't see it in your post, but could you please tell me how the combination of flavors taste as a whole from the drink? Great job as always. Upvoted

Well, it was an explosion of flavor with many, actually too many parts. As you said, this was a great conversation piece.

Haha, so it was intense! Nice, my kind of drink. Thanks for the heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47