๐ŸŽ„ CHRISTMAS COOKIES - SNOWY BUTTERBALLS ๐Ÿ“ท FOOD PHOTO SHOOT ๐Ÿ“ทsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food โ€ข 8 years ago (edited)

It's Friday!!! AND, that means Christmas is approaching FAST!

ARE YOU READY?!?!

Well, I don't know that I am, but I can tell you that I am working my little bum off trying to get there.

A little side note before I go to much further: Last night I tried out the 'scheduled post' from Streemian. There was a post yesterday about this by @chainsquad - you can find that post HERE. I can tell you that I am happy with the results it gave me and I'll be using it again.

Ok, about these cookies: Obviously, everybody and their aunt Bertha has a recipe for these cookies. In our house, for generations, we have called them Butter Balls. And, we only make them around the holidays. So, for us, they are very festive and bring back tons of memories, plus they taste amazing.

I've heard these cookies called Snow Balls, Russian Wedding Cookies, you name it, they are known by many different names. So far, in our 4th year hear in Chile, they are not a tradition here. Every time I make these and take them to a party, they are a huge hit, and I mean every time, AND I KNOW they would be for you too.

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup finely chopped pecans
about 1 cup powdered sugar for rolling

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ยบF (180ยบC). Beat butter until creamy then add powdered sugar, salt, vanilla, and flour and mix well. Mix in pecans until well combined then roll dough into 1 inch balls and place them about 1-inch apart on a parchment lined baking tray.
  2. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until very lightly browned.
  3. Remove from oven and let them cool for 3 to 4 minutes then roll each one in powdered sugar while warm.
  4. Set aside and allow them to cool, then roll in powdered sugar again.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!!ย 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

ย ย ย ย ย ย 

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort: ย 

Hello @gringalicious,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Wow, I am honored! I have watched the progress and work of @steemtrail and so glad to be mentioned!

Alright, @gringalicious, it's the middle of the night here and you've now made me hungry for these beautiful ButterBalls...

Unfortunately, I'm no baker... Perhaps I can bribe my wife to try making a batch of these?

Thank You for another beautiful post!๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡

@creatr

I hope bribing works for you. The recipe is super simple and I know they will become a tradition in your house if she gives it a try. Just don't over cook them. Thanks for the great comment!

Thank you, dear, for a great post and recipe! :)

It looks very tasty, and the photos give the Christmas mood !!!:))

Awesome, that was my goal, to give good taste and Christmas mood. Thanks so much @milaoz

Mmmmm! I will definately try and make these , time is not on my side these days ! Thanks for shareing ! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜‹๐ŸŽ„

I totally understand, time is way not on my side. I want to participate in the challenges, but there just isn't time. This weekend, I am absolutely slammed. Going to the nutcracker on Sunday, yeah!!

Oh WOW ! But thats a good and fun busy ! Lol, wish I could join you ! Have a great time ! And happy holidays ! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜‰๐ŸŽ„

@gringalicious, like butterballs a lot. Nice post as usual.

Thanks so much @runridefly. Thank you for your continued support!

Looking delicious as usual! Great work!

Thanks you so much @anca3drandom. Congrats on the reputation of 66. So glad to be here with you on this steemit experiment.

My goodness, hot chocolate and butterball cookies. I'm glad I'm not Santa having to fit my backside down a chimney. These are on the top of my list to bake. I always keep some homemade gingerbread cookie dough in the fridge at Christmas so I can bake fresh cookies for visitors (ok, me). These sound heavenly I will have to give these a go too.

One important thing, one of the KEY parts of this cookie is the texture. Make sure not to overbake these as they will get too dry. You don't want them too under done, but under done is way better than over done. Hope that helps. Super easy recipe.

Upvoted restemeed followed

Awesome, a triple whammy, thanks so much!!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.61 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These look amazingly beautiful :D

Thank you so much @richman. As always, that means a lot to me coming from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40