Aeropress - Manual espresso/coffee press review

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello all, I'd like to share a way of producing a manual espresso with you from an Aeropress. If you enjoy espresso or a strong cup of coffee, you may like this technique of making coffee.

Here is a shot of the components, the top and bottom of the unit, perforated cap, measuring spoon, stirrer, grind funnel and filters.
aeropress.JPG

I used a Hario manual ceramic burr grinder which does a pretty good job.
IMG_1239.JPG

You assemble the top and bottom unit, in this case it is upside down so the coffee does not start dripping when you pour the water in. Drop in your coffee from the top of the press.
IMG_1241.JPG

I use a pyrex measuring cup and let the water cool down from boiling to just under 200*f, fill it to the top.
IMG_1244.JPG

Mix it a little with a spoon, the coffee aroma is pretty good right around now...
IMG_1247.JPG

Place the perforated cap on the press with a filter. (The filters are reusable, just wash them out. You can probably just cut a normal filter to fit too)
IMG_1248.JPG

Turn the press over and onto your cup.
IMG_1249.JPG

You can time the duration of the water mixing with the grounds, I do about a minute or so. Then start pressing down on the press.
IMG_1250.JPG

All the way until it bottoms out.
IMG_1251.JPG

You have yourself a manually pressed espresso! (This stuff potent and BLACK!)
IMG_1252.JPG

To clean up, just unscrew the perforated cap, peel off the filter and press the used coffee grounds into the trash. Wash the residual grounds in the sink.
IMG_1253.JPG

This time, I added hot water to make an Americano (Or just a regular cup of strong coffee) Add a sweetener/half and half to taste.
IMG_1254.JPG

The press is small enough to take on a vacation and you can make a cup in a hotel room instead of the 'house' coffee. (Bring good beans!....and maybe the Hario burr grinder)

It produces a good strong cup of coffee that does not have bitter aftertaste. Freshly roasted beans and the correct grind will provide the best cup as always.

It is another way of making coffee that you can add to your repertoire, especially if you do not want to spend 1k+ on a good espresso machine.

Happy Tuesday !

SteemitFooter1.png

Sort:  

I love this little baby. I use mine every morning. I also use it "right side up" (since your use is "upside down"). As simple as it is, I've found about 15 ways to have an interesting experience while making my coffee. Several of them create a complete fail. Seriously.

Hmm, really popular device! I've pretty much settled with the upside down method, no disasters yet!

Nice. I've had Aeropress brewed coffee at a shop but never made it myself as the only units I've had were for resale.

I think it the unit is another good option for brewing. With the same coffee, it tastes different with different brewing methods.

One of my favorite ways to make a cup of joe!

I know this method/device is popular among coffee connoisseurs

Nice review!

I love mine and also use the upside down method. I got it to take camping and then ended up using it at home because I think it makes the best coffee.

The reason being is that the hot water spends just the right amount of time with the grinds before being pressed out. A standard drip machine pours good coffee at first and then the grinds get more and more burt as time goes.

Thanks for stopping by the blog, a manual pour-over is much better than a drip machine. I think this press is comparable to a good pour-over, it is close.

Certainly and my pleasure!

I write about life hacks and self growth, just getting started but if you like such feel free to follow me.

it uses cold water?

Not this press, I boiled the water in the pyrex measuring cup and let it cool to 195*f.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @glennolua
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @glennolua to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This post has received a 4.34 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @glennolua. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65