Bluelueberries are a superfood and Picking them can be a fun family activities

in #food7 years ago

Blueberries picking has been a fun family activity for the past many years. My parents, my siblings and our kids set out to the beautiful blueberry farms in the Midwest during the summer vacations and try to pick a year supply and store them. After picking we clean, then bag them and store by way of freezing them.

The blueberry have a lot of health benefits, their fiber, potassium, folate, vitamin C, vitamin B6 and phytonutrient content, coupled with its lack of cholesterol, all support heart health. The fiber in blueberries helps lower the total amount of cholesterol in the blood and decrease the risk of heart disease.

Blueberries are considered a superfood packed with vitamin K, vitamin C, fibre, manganese and other antioxidants (notably anthocyanins). Valued for its high levels of antioxidants,

I recently read an article published by South Dakota state university stating that frozen blueberries deliver a bigger dose of disease-fighting antioxidants than fresh. Frozen or not, blueberries have one of the highest antioxidant capacities among all fruits and may boost memory, cardiovascular system, and eyesight.

A medical news article I read a while back mentioned that the color of blueberries is a result of compounds called anthocyanins, powerful antioxidants that shield the skin against harmful free radicals that can damage the collagen that keeps your skin firm. On top of that, blueberries are also packed with vitamin C, another antioxidant crucial for collagen production.

IMG_0523.JPG

Blueberries fresh from the farm

IMG_0525.JPG

At the farm we buy different blueberries products like organic blueberry syrup

IMG_0528.JPG

Above is Blueberry jam that we buy at the farm as well. They make many blueberries products including honey that I am not exactly sure how it is made....

I am a believer that if you make only one change to your diet, it should be to adding the blueberries.

Sort:  

Just as good as acai berry but it doesn't need to shipped across the world, yay! blueberry!

@openparadigm I have not yet done enough research on the Acari berry to see how it's health benefits compare to those of blueberries. I am glad that you mentioned it because I used to buy Acai powder and have it shipped over, lately I found it in juice bottles at Costco and stocked up. I have to say home made blue berry juice is much better tasting and cheaper than the acai berry powder juice or liquid juice. If the health benefits are similar then I will only do blueberries and save some $$$
Thank you so much for sharing that information :)

Your Welcome. I love to bust fads that promote expensive alternatives when local plants( and weeds that you can pick anywhere) will keep you healthy.

@openparadigm that is really helpful, I can honestly say that I have wasted $$$ by purchasing overpriced acai while an alternative (blueberries) were in the freezer.... one wonders how many more are wasting money on same :(
Keep doing what you are doing, I am sure many will find it helpful

No problem, I have been using herbs, nutriceuticals, and super foods for a long time, feel free to ask me anything!

Oh wow great, what recommendations do you have for healthy weight loss @openparadign

@openparadigm, what a nice article, the seaweed has more benefits that I anticipated. Definitely going to find some and see what happens.
I am abit conflicted on the fact that it increases appetite....

Sounds like a fun activity. We actually have some blueberry bushes in our yard, but the birds get to them before we do!

@financialcritic, the blueberry bushes are a good fruit to have, not sure how you will overcome the birds battle lol. I think it can be a really cool activity to pick the berries in couple years with the baby girl and the wifey. I hope you will plant some in the new home they can make good plants along the back fence....
My mom is toying with the idea of blueberry farming lol... pray for me lol

Yeah, will try in the new house for sure....along with a fig tree.

That would be nice, good luck with the house hunting and the sale of the old home @financialcritic, I am going through the same process and know it can be demanding to say the least. If you have friends that would like to buy in DC, let me know, it is a gem :)

Agrre. Its fantastic activity. It makes u appreciate this wonderfruit.

To pick 1 liter i need 3 hours. How about you? Upvote for bb!

@pocketrocket Hahaha don't ask, between picking and chasing kids around I have never filled any of those buckets lol. We go to different farms and spend an hour because the little ones get tired and irritated quickly. The buckets are between one to three litters and not once have I filled any of them lol. I think in three hours I might come close to three quarters of the one litter bucket but I can't be certain :)
Do you pick them in this area?

Cool. No, i pick them in forest at Europe. Well, i did 2 years ago. Very hard job, easier to write articles on steemit:)

@pocketrocket yes it is a very difficult job, too much work and time for a small harvest but very well worth it. Wow a forest in Europe , where in Europe? I love Europe, spent some time in England, Italy, France and visited other countries there

Congratulations @fshllc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Congratulations @fshllc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Smoothies with blueberries and other forest fruits are excellent in the summer, they are very refreshing. Consumed in the morning, at breakfast, gives us energy all day

Absolutely @allesia, they give loads of energy. I use them together with greens and their sweet taste and smell makes the smoothie yummy and easy for the family to consume :)
I am glad that you like berries in smoothies as well :)

Love bluberries, the antioxidants are an excellent resource fot fighting cancer.

Hi @creso, thanks for sharing, I didn't know that they can fight cancer, how I wish the world knew how prescious those little fruits are :)

Goji has one of the highest ORAC values last time i checked

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71