Travel Blog 32: My First Ever Swiss Marketplace Concept Restaurant in Singapore

in #food6 years ago

No one in the world doesn't love eating, including me. I love food! For those who know me enough, instead of addressing me with my name, I'm often being called the foodie. Well, I do not deny that at all because the truth is, where ever I go, food is my number one goal.

Despite all these good food is able to fill up my tummy but it also allows me to expand my knowledge in learning different culture. From the method of preparation to the ingredients being used, I'm able to learn so much from a culture.

As my food hunting policy goes on every weekend, I stumbled upon this restaurant "Marché Mövenpick". This is a Swiss-style restaurant with a marketplace concept that perfect for families, couples and also friends. For those who can't agree on the one cuisine to eat, this is the perfect solution for you. With all the variety of dishes, from freshly made pizza, Swiss-style crepe, fresh grills, swiss-sausages to fresh greens, I am pretty sure you'll find something here that suits your taste buds.

IMG_6710.JPG

At Marché, different dishes are served with Swiss market style where diners order meals from their desired stalls and have it cooked upon order. Upon arriving, we are given a guest card where the card is being used to tag your order. At the end of your meal, we can check out at the counter and pay the bill. It's easy and convenient as that.

The outlet at Harbourfront Singapore offers a wooden Swiss-market interior. The Swiss alpine-style decorations are highly reflected on their pieces of furniture where you almost feel like you're in Switzerland.

IMG_6703.JPG

Of course, if you're wondering how it works, it is fairly simple as each dishes are tagged with prices, description and also you're allowed to speak to the chef on how you want to customize your dish. For people like me that are indecisive on what to pick from the extensive menu, because everything just looks too tempting, it is best for us to roam around the market first. Well, the lucky thing is you can watch and observe how each dishes are being cook. The transparent manner is able to ensure you to have a safe and hygienic preparation of your dishes.

IMG_6705.JPG

IMG_6707.JPG

IMG_6704.JPG

Since I wasn't too hungry the last time I went, I decided to try the signature Swiss dish "Rosti with Chorizo". Rosti is one of the famous Swiss dishes where potatoes are thinly shredded are pan-fried into crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. It is best paired with sour cream and Swiss sausages.

IMG_6687.JPG

Honestly, with so many selection of sausages being offered, I find it almost too difficult for me to decide for one. But, I got to say that the chorizo is actually quite delicious. It's perfectly spiced and the strong flavour of the chorizo goes extremely well with the Rosti.

However, if you're more on a pizza or a crepe kind of person, you can definitely find some really good quality pizza that is bake upon order. The thin and crispy crust with the generous amount of toppings on the pizza definitely going to satisfy you.

IMG_6693.JPG

IMG_6697.JPG

For salad lovers, you definitely won't be left out here. Different stations that offer salads and soup will never disappoint you in any way. For the salad, you can even choose your salad base and customize your bowl with a variety of toppings such as pomegranate seeds, corns, grilled chicken, zucchini, smoked salmon and etc.

IMG_6700.JPG

IMG_6701.JPG

Finally, end it with some sweet desserts and home-made drinks at the dessert and drinks section. You'll be surprised at what you can find.

IMG_6695.JPG

IMG_6714.JPG

Check out some of my recent posts at the links below:

  1. Travel Blog 31: Is Paris Your Dream City To Visit Too?
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-31-is-paris-your-dream-city-to-visit-too

  2. Travel Blog 30: The 8 Authentic Street Eats in Bangkok That No One Tells You
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-30-the-8-authentic-street-eats-in-bangkok-that-no-one-tells-you

  3. Travel Blog 29: This Is How Travelling to Munich, Germany Going To Be On Your Bucket List!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/this-is-how-travelling-to-munich-germany-going-to-be-on-your-bucket-list

  4. #3 Travel Hacks: How to get the Best Deals on Hotels and Resorts!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/3-travel-hacks-how-to-get-the-best-deals-on-hotels-and-resorts

  5. Travel Blog 28: The Promising and Splendid Nature Beauty of Ronda with Dazzling Pictures!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-28-the-promising-and-splendid-nature-beauty-of-ronda-with-dazzling-pictures

  6. Cooking 9: Melts in your mouth "Cantonese Style Roasted Pork Belly Recipe" with full photos Tutorial
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/cooking-9-melts-in-your-mouth-cantonese-style-roasted-pork-belly-recipe-with-full-photos-tutorial

  7. Travel Blog 27: Discovering the Underrated City of Málaga, Spain (Part 1)
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-27-discovering-the-underrated-city-of-malaga-spain-part-1

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D
Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

This looks like a really cool place. I have never seen anything quite like that concept-wise. I really like the idea though. From the way you described it, it sounds like this is set up is quite common outside of where I live. The pictures were fantastic and highlight the many colorful foods very well. I am a big fan of chorizo, so the dish you ordered looks amazing! Thanks for sharing.

I love Rosti and chorizo so much. I almost had it every day when I was in Switzerland. I was actually pretty amazed that they actually expanded their restaurant to Asia countries. If you have the chance, you definitely need to try it out!

I hope I do get the chance someday. Thank you!

wow. excellent post. and very good photos. congrats dear friend

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:10:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 38.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks like a great place!

It is indeed a nice place to hangout with friends and family. Thanks for dropping by :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

your pictures are awesome! keep it up! :)

Thank you :) Will definitely keep it up :)

This food and ambient in the restaurant work very well together. And you got me hungry now reading this post! You have my upvote and follow.

Indeed, the ambient resembles the Swiss essence so well that it really does reminds me of the days that I was in Switzerland. Thanks for the support :)

Oh God, how much tasty food! You must have a lot of customers because in addition the site is very welcoming, successful!

just looking at it is enough to make me hungry.

That's indeed cruel to be posting food photos, but, sharing is caring isn't it? :P

Ohh no.... the foods look so delicious... haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93