Cooking 6: Homemade heart-warming & soothing Korean Kimchi Stew

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians~
It's been a while since the last cooking series, today I have decided to share with you guys my recent obsession with Kimchi. Just in case you have no idea what is Kimchi, I'll briefly guide you through what are they.

Kimchi is literally translated from Korea "김치". Kimchi is a staple in Korean cuisine where every house, every restaurant you go, you'll be served with Kimchi without any doubt. It is the best thing on earth!! It is a traditional side dish made from salted and fermented vegetables like "Napa Cabbage" and "Korean Radishes". With essential seasonings including chillies powder, scallions, garlic, ginger, rice starch, Korean pears and sometimes with salted tiny shrimps for extra flavour.

kimchi.png

Source

My fridge is always packed with Kimchi as me and my boyfriend just love the flavour and also the convenience of it. Kimchi makes snacking a better option with way lesser calories and fats.

Since it has been raining all the time over here, a bowl of warm and spicy soup is all we need to keep up awake and ready for the day!

Let's Start!

Ingredients:
Servings: 2-3 pax

  • 150 grams Kimchi
  • 100 grams chicken slices
  • 100 grams of shrimps/squids
  • 1 yellow onions or red onions
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery (optional)
  • 1 packet of soft/firm tofu
  • 1 packet of Enoki Mushroom (optional)
  • 1 packet of meatballs (optional)

Broth

  • 1 litre anchovies broth
  • dash of soy sauce
  • dash of fish sauce
  • sesame oil

Steps by step tutorial:

1.As always, diced up all the ingredients into bite size so everything cooked at the same time.

IMG_3812.JPG

2.Bring water and stock to boil. Add in carrots, onions, garlic, celery and it simmers for 5 minutes.

IMG_3813.JPG

3.Then add the subsequent ingredients like kimchi, meatballs, tofu, chicken and shrimps into the pot to let it continue simmers for another 5-10 minutes.

IMG_3815.JPG

4.Season it with fish sauce & soy sauce with a pinch of sugar.

IMG_3852.JPG

5.Before serving, add Enoki Mushrooms and continue boiling for 1-2 minutes. Served hot with a few drops of sesame oil.

*Optional: If you wanted it to be heavier or creamier, crack an egg together with enoki mushrooms, boil for 1-2 minutes, you'll have a perfectly runny egg yolk with the steamy hot soup.

Whalaaaa~~ you're done!
Steamy hot, spicy and soothing pot of goodness is served! :)

IMG_3827.JPG

I hope you guys will enjoy it and let me know how it goes if by chance you're trying it out!

*Disclaimer: Recipe is based on my own liking & preferences. Might be slightly different from the traditional korean style. It's no absolute right or wrong. It's all depending on your likings.

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:

  1. Travel Tips: How I pack my bag for 16 days adventure in Dubai for less than 8 minutes with TIME LAPSE VIDEO!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-tips-how-i-pack-my-travel-bag-for-my-coming-16-days-adventure-in-dubai-for-less-than-10-minutes

  2. Travel Blog 23: My first time ever insane Glacier Experience at Stubai Glacier, Austria
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-23-my-first-time-ever-insane-glacier-experience-at-stubai-glacier-austria

  3. Dailyfoodphotography: "Black & White Chicken Soup" be prepared to be shocked by the soup offered in Singapore!
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/dailyfoodphotography-black-and-white-chicken-soup-be-prepared-to-be-shocked-by-the-soup-offered-in-singapore

  4. Travel Blog 22: Revealing the "Secret Beauty" of Mieders, Tyrol, Austria
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-22-revealing-the-secret-beauty-of-mieders-tyrol-austria#comments

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D

Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!


APP.png

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on "discord" that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
Join us at Discord! TeamGirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

this looks so hearty and healthy, I can get on with this kind of soup for months.

Thank you so much for dropping by :))) I totally agree with you! I can have that all day long! Because it's so comforting :)

SOrry for the late replies, I am away for my vacation. I merely have time to log in. Since I have few minutes in the cafe, so I am trying my best to reply on steemit :)

It is, soups are magical and you can throw so many goodie yumyums in them.
I love how they are drawn in anime too :]

don't apologize for late replies, we all have lives and I know the volume of communication on Steemit can get overwhelming, anyway thanks for making time to reply to me and I wish you a happy vacation. :]

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Explorernations from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This looks so delish 💓

Thank you so much :DDD

That looks so good. I love kimchi (especially kimchi pancakes), although I have always been nervous to try kimchi soup. I think I am afraid it will be too overpowering! I will have to give this a try though.

Don't worry, when it is made to soup, the kimchi taste is way milder also, it's not spicy at all :)

OMG this looks SO DELICIOUS! :-)

Upvoted and Followed!

Thanks for sharing and have a happy day and night! :-)

Thank you so much for your support! I am sorry for the delay of reply, I am way fro vacation. Hope to see you around :)

This post has received a 1.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @explorernations.

that stew looks not only tasty but healthy as well :D

mmmm Kimchi looks yummy.
Definitely trying it sometime this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99