Travel Blog 23: My first time ever insane Glacier Experience at Stubai Glacier, Austria

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my fellow steemit friends~
This is my first time ever to have finally made it on the top of a Glacier and holding the piece of leftover snows on my hand watching it slowly melts away on my palm. It's the best sense of achievement I ever had!

Let's talk no more and board onto "The Explorernations Time Machine" to experience the glacier with me.

IMG_9820.JPG

The Stubai Glacier is located only a stone’s throw from Innsbruck in the Stubaital valley. During the winter, it is the perfect spot for ski lovers as it is has a total length of 64 km with varied ski slopes with an altitude ranging from 1,750 m and 3,210 m asl.

The Stubai Glacier funicular has been put into operation in 1973. Nowadays the 26 lift facilities can be found on the Dauerferner, Eisjochferner, Gaiskarferner, Fernauferner and Windachferner mountains. At the peak of Stubai Glacier, there is a mountain restaurant which recorded to be the highest restaurant in all of Austria which is called the “Jochdohle” restaurant at 3,150 m asl!

As the time we went was during summer, which is a perfect time for maintenance and to prepare for the winter. Thus, it was very unfortunate for us to be unable to hike to the peak for the perfect dreamlike snow white landscape. This place could be pretty crowded and packed with tourist and locals which comes all over the world to experience the best lifetime skiing in Austria.

stubaital glacier.png

Source

It's another adventure for our lovely rented car to mark a wonderful journey with us. The journey from the place we stayed at a small valley "Mieders", it takes around 22mins of driving up the hill and curvy slopes. I'll get extremely excited every time I know that we are driving up the hill because it's definitely going to be a thrill! Also, not to mentione that there are always wild animals crossing the road where we have to watch out.

IMG_9700.JPG

Just so you know when I was speaking about the "Beware of Animals crossing", there are a bunch of wild cows are crossing the road ahead of us which we have no choice but to stop completely for them. As time passed swiftly, we arrived at our destination and I am super excited to be boarded on the cable car to meet my lovely glacier!

CLEQ2253.GIF

I finally made it! I am totally overwhelmed by the left-over snows! Even though the sun was shining, but it's freezing cold outside because we are literally almost at the high peak of the glacier! I was extremely happy to have finally made it there as if I've won a lottery!

IMG_9781.JPG

The rocky landscape makes every shot counts and super "Instagrammable"! I wondered when was the last time I had such perfect climbing shot at a rocky place like this. To my surprise, it was way more crowded than what I expected where I there's climbers everywhere creating their own adventure at the Glacier!

Now, you're about to witness the most childish things that I am going to do! Also, the most fun activity!

Snow Balls Making

IMG_9745.JPG

Please excuse me for being a dwarf where the snows are almost as tall as I do. Probably I'll be buried in deep snow when it comes to winter :D

IMG_9748.JPG

My snowball is almost ready!! BEHOLD!!

IMG_9750.JPG

Proudly made Snowball by ME!

I'm not gonna lie, this is the first time ever I've seen snow, forgive me for being nonsense, it's just a very common reaction if you're experiencing something new. Isn't it? :D:D

TSWL8977.GIF

The unlimited shots because I am just crazily excited to be there!!

It is definitely one of the best hiking experience that I ever been! Also, the most memorable ones, because the first time is always the best.

IMG_9798.JPG

This is definitely not the last time, I will definitely be packing up my bag ready for the coming adventures with the miracle amazing nature soon! This is not an end of my travels but rather the beginning of more and more travels and amazing adventures that are going to be created in future until the infinity!

Conclusion

Every travel marked a story in your life, treat your life as if a story, create memories, write it in your own unique ways! You're special the way you are! Hopefully, I will be able to inspire you to travel more, to explore and experience the wonders!! Cheers, til the next time~

*Photo Copyrights: Photos were captured with Sony A5000. Please drop me a message if you would like to use the photos. We could definitely discuss it :)

*Disclaimer: These photos were taken during the last summer at Austria, so, please do not be surprised on the difference of current weather.

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:

  1. Dailyfoodphotography: "Black & White Chicken Soup" be prepared to be shocked by the soup offered in Singapore!
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/dailyfoodphotography-black-and-white-chicken-soup-be-prepared-to-be-shocked-by-the-soup-offered-in-singapore

  2. Travel Blog 22: Revealing the "Secret Beauty" of Mieders, Tyrol, Austria
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-22-revealing-the-secret-beauty-of-mieders-tyrol-austria#comments

  3. My song cover of "Million Dreams" from "The Greatest Showman"
    https://steemit.com/music/@explorernations/my-song-cover-of-million-dreams-from-the-greatest-showman

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D

Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!


APP.png

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on "discord" that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
Join us at Discord! TeamGirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

!steemitworldmap 47.0106 lat 11.1550 long Insane Glazier Experience at Stubaital, Austria d3scr

Sort:  

Still Look wonderful with the left over snow ,26 lifts r like a lot.. will visit there if I go to Innsbruck.

Indeed! I was just unlucky to be there that day that I could not go to the highest peak or else I would be magnificent! It's a distance to drive there from Innsbruck. I would be great if you have a driving license to be driving there or else I might be a little troublesome to reach there. Anyway, thank you for dropping by and the support :))

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=explorernations
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-blog-23-my-first-time-ever-insane-glacier-experience-at-stubai-glacier-austria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Simply otherworldly!

Can't imagine what its like to be there or to pronounce the names!

Thanks for sharing this post with us!

You're more than welcome Bran, I am glad to be sharing with you guys :D

you can just flop into that blanket of snow and feel it =D

That would be really cool! Until the next time, I am returning with the full potential of snows!! I'll be frosted like a snowman :D

finally the glacier post is here! hahaha! notice that there's GIF this time. imgplay is it? not too sure about these stuff. not too much snow though?

p.s. from now on you won't be saying 'instagrammable' but 'steemmable'! ;)

Yes, Included some GIF because I have many photos but I don't want it to be too repetitive. I did it on my phone and transfer it to laptop :D

It's during summer, the snows are mostly melted. There's still snow because it's really up high.

This is beyond winning the lottery ticket! Super priceless - loving all your adventure stories heyyy :) Thanks for sharing!

Your comment totally made my day!! I am super happy to have you here and I am glad that at least I bring good insight for you~ Thanks for dropping by, keep in touch :D

This post has received gratitude of 1.89 % from @appreciator thanks to: @explorernations.

Very cool! I love the mountains. I've never been to Austria, but it looks awesome!! I have climbed a few glaciers here in the Sierra Nevada in California. I love getting out there and using my crampons and Ice axe and just climbing up the snow and ice. It's always so much fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44