Cooking 11: Did I hear Someone Calling For Some Homemade Tacos? Step-by-step recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Honestly, having to be living in this multicultural country of Malaysia and Singapore, it is never a problem to think of what to eat. From street food to high-end restaurants there is always something for you to choose from. However, if you wish to have something different and it's totally out of your league, finding this food could be pretty hard or even too expensive for a small portion.

Mexicans food like tacos is a very good example where it's perfect for some of us who are craving for something different with a variety of choices. But, what's better than having it at home with friends and family. It's not only an excellent taste but it's extremely entertaining to be devoured. Lucky thing is in Asia, fresh produces are fairly cheap. So, why not try to recreate it yourself? Just a little twist and turn to suit your taste buds.

So, allow me to share my recipe.

IMG_6894.JPG

Servings: 2 pax (12 tacos)

IMG_6880.JPG

Braised Pork
Ingredients:

  • 1000 ml of water
  • 300 grams of pork shoulder
  • 200 grams lean pork/pork belly
  • 3 garlic cloves (crushed)
  • 2 tablespoon of Tobasco sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of Italian mix herbs
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Salsa
Ingredients:

  • 1 onion (chopped finely)
  • 2 garlic cloves ( chopped finely)
  • 4 tomatoes (chopped finely)
  • a handful of cilantro (chopped finely)
  • salt to taste

IMG_6881.JPG

Toppings: Corn
Ingredients:

  • 1 garlic clove (chopped finely)
  • half a small onion (chopped finely)
  • 1 stalk of cilantro (chopped finely)
  • salt & pepper to taste

IMG_6879.JPG

Toppings: Butter Shrimps
Ingredients:

  • 200 grams of cooked shrimps
  • 2 cloves of sliced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_6882.JPG

Instructions:

  1. Finely chop all the measured ingredients like garlic, cilantro, and onion.

  2. Boil 1litre of water, lightly blanch the pork to skim off the dirt. Reboil another litre of water with all the measured ingredients to braise the pork. Cook it on high heat for 20 minutes, turn it to low for another 60 minutes.

  3. Pull the pork into tiny pieces.

  4. Next, prepare the butter shrimps by blanching the shrimps then add garlic and butter to the pan and cook until fragrant. Add the cook shrimps and season it with salt and pepper.

  5. Grill the sweetcorn until it's slightly charred. Add the chopped garlic, onion and cilantro into the into the corn, season it with salt and pepper. Mix until everything is fully combined.

  6. Add all the chopped tomatoes, garlic, onions and cilantro in a blender. Slightly blend and then season it with salt.

  7. Toast the tacos shell in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 5 minutes. Then serve it hot.

IMG_6889.JPG

This is the end result of my recipe. I have to clarify that this is not an authentic recipe for Mexican taco, this is just my style of making tacos. Although it's not entirely authentic, it's definitely good to go.

Hope you enjoy the recipe :)

Check out some of my recent posts at the links below:

  1. Travel Blog 31: Is Paris Your Dream City To Visit Too?
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-31-is-paris-your-dream-city-to-visit-too

  2. Travel Blog 30: The 8 Authentic Street Eats in Bangkok That No One Tells You
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-30-the-8-authentic-street-eats-in-bangkok-that-no-one-tells-you

  3. Travel Blog 29: This Is How Travelling to Munich, Germany Going To Be On Your Bucket List!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/this-is-how-travelling-to-munich-germany-going-to-be-on-your-bucket-list

  4. #3 Travel Hacks: How to get the Best Deals on Hotels and Resorts!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/3-travel-hacks-how-to-get-the-best-deals-on-hotels-and-resorts

  5. Travel Blog 28: The Promising and Splendid Nature Beauty of Ronda with Dazzling Pictures!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-28-the-promising-and-splendid-nature-beauty-of-ronda-with-dazzling-pictures

  6. Cooking 9: Melts in your mouth "Cantonese Style Roasted Pork Belly Recipe" with full photos Tutorial
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/cooking-9-melts-in-your-mouth-cantonese-style-roasted-pork-belly-recipe-with-full-photos-tutorial

  7. Travel Blog 27: Discovering the Underrated City of Málaga, Spain (Part 1)
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-27-discovering-the-underrated-city-of-malaga-spain-part-1

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D
Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

YAY! for braised pork! ALways so succulent and juicy!
I have never once thought about shrimp on tacos! Now that is something I will have to try!

You gotta try! I love love love shrimps on tacos especially with salsa, it's super refreshing. Let me know how you like it :)

Wow, this is the post that keeps on giving :-) Not just one, but two lovely taco recipes. Right, I'm off down the shops to buy the ingredients lol I didn't know I wanted Mexican food until I read this, honestly, my mouth is watering. Thanks for sharing @explorernations

I went grocery shopping because my favorite tacos' restaurant was close the other day. So, I decided to just make it myself and it's actually a pretty good activity to carry out during the weekend :D Good luck @raj808

The food images just made me very hungry, time to hit the kitchen. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Definitely something I will try out.

Perfect! Hope you enjoy it :) Have fun in the kitchen~

Have not seen taco prepared this way. Awesome recipe makes me crave for one right now.

Unfortunately, this is not the traditional or neither the authentic way of preparing, it's just my opinion of how to prepare it to suit my taste buds. Hope it wasn't too bad :/

It's unique that's what makes us shine. What's the point in life if we always follow the usual. I love it will give it a shot. 😊

DELICIOUS! And who doesn't like tacos? :-)

So right!! I bet everyone lovesssss tacos! I really just can't get enough of it :D

One thing that a person can crave is a good taco. I used to spend so much time in Mexico and this flavor is unique. You can have tacos today and want some again tomorrow.
Do you have a recipe for frijoles charros?

Unfortunately, I haven't been to Mexico yet. It's so lucky for you to have been there, I've heard so much good about Mexico, especially the food. I hope to make it there one day.

I'm so sorry that I didn't have a recipe for frijoles charros either, but I'll try to figure it out and I'll keep you updated :)

I have had the fortune of visiting 35 countries so far. I love to experience different cultures, the sites, food and people.

On Tuesdays I like to eat meals like these paired with a Porter. Fridays are another story... evil laugh

Hahaha, Fridays are a winning story where it commonly comes with beer :D Your profile name says it all~

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Explorernations from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Looks delicious, just need to change the meat to chicken, will it taste as good?

Sure you can replace with any meats that you prefer :) Salsa will make up for any meats that you use :)

That's cool, will give it a try.
Thank you!!

Oh nice! I love tacos! Didnt know we can DIY! Where do we buy taco shell? 😄

It's really easy to make tacos :) I guess in Malaysia if you're going to cold storage, paul's grocery and etc should sell it. Sometimes even Aeon has it.

Ahhh coool! Okayy thanks for your detailed information! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82