Free Food-NOT ACCEPTED

in #food6 years ago

As many of you know, I have become the crazy chicken lady. Lol
With that comes great responsibility, with many great rewards. EGGS! Lots and lots of eggs.

15253509842152129219856.jpg

I barter what I can for them. I ask enough to have my feed expenses covered, so the chickens take care of themselves. The issue at hand is the surplus eggs. I get 2 doz eggs a day. I have 12 dozen eggs here every week.

The food bank! People eat eggs! It would be a win, win! Giving back to the community!

NO. They are not federally graded eggs.

Wow. So you can't take eggs that are fresh, not chemically treated, no antibiotics, hormone free, and handled with love.

People are ok with this.
People are being 'protected' by the government.
Do people even realize this is happening. Food banks are turning away wholesome food, that is locally produced.

'There are alot of crazy people out there, or we could be sued!' is their reasoning.
Fear is alive and well. I really wish the masses would see it. It angers me that people are ok with it. No one questions it. People agree with it!

Still don't think they control your food? Still think you can survive when they charge 50$ for a dozen chemical eggs? The prices are already starting rise quickly.
People are now 100% dependant on what the government deems edible.

Still think this is ok? Still not concerned?

My heart aches with sadness.
I have no more words...

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I know that this is a bot of some kind.... but it's a really good idea!

This issue is all too common.

Another we have run into with produce is folks not wanting it. We as a collective of growers sent a box truck chock full of fall goodness into the inner city... We couldn't get folks to take it as they didn't know what to do with it!!

With the perishable nature of kur cargo we punted and started driving north into more and more rural environs where the food was welcomed and embraced.

Simple kitchen education was all that needed...but we could do nothing but drive away... Broke my heart... I wanted to tell folks take this to grandma and ask how to cook it... Good for your soul and your belly.

Holy crap! I never thought of that. But it's so true! That's great to have a community to do that for other communities! Glad the food found good homes!
That's such a good point! Food preparations.

Oh sweet momma 💙 some moments in this life's journey are more challenging than others. It's a fuckered up system..... not a doubt about it. If there's a way to connect with folks in need directly then there would be win-win. But, not with a business entity at the hub. Is there a community fb page you could start some discussion? Find out who near you might appreciate an egg leg up? I doubt you could have complete conversations there but it could be the means to start discussions. They want you sad and feeling in despair. I am here! To offer my hand, to get you smiley and to help you feel good again. Chin up! Shoulders back. Big breath! Long sighhhhhhh! We have got this girl. Don't lettem have your joy! There's enough close to home to ruffle those feathers 🤣😂. HUGS! We are egg twins today 💙

20180503_070735.jpg

You hear my heart Jill! I am weaning off fb, but i get the idea. :) People will come. This will all unfold. For now, i boil them and feed them back to everyone. The dogs are in heaven!

Look at those eggs!!! I can't help but smile! Always a green egg in the bunch! Lol

Hahaha! Happy dogs and other critters go a long way! I get ya girl. Just keep talking to people when you see them. You'll find people wanting them in no time 💙💙 HUGS

Not a fan of people...lol that's a whole different blog. After the CPS fiasco, not so trusting. Lol but it will unfold :) creator has brought me this far!!

Cps is my worst nightmare. Bravo for coming this far girl. You've got this 💜

You probably do this already, but if you're in a somewhat populated area, simply having a table out by your driveway with an "honors system donation box" attached might be a way to go. When we had a lot of eggs, we did pretty well with that, and at least 75% of the people left the "suggested donation $5" for eggs they took.

Bright Blessings!

I live 2km in the bush. 13km from the nearest town. We used to do that with our vegetables, when I lived in town years ago...an elderly lady left me buttons one time. Beautiful buttons.
The part that saddens me, is that people are completely ok with the government regulations that are in place. And people being dependant on the systems, 'protecting' them from wholesome, local food with fear based coercion.

Interesting post, i thought this kind of bureaucratic lunacy only existed in Europe. Sorry to hear that's not the case. Keep spreading the word, hopefully common sense will prevail!

It is my hope one day common sense will prevail! I am sorry you have these same systems in Europe! I would have thought the "old country" would have stayed strong to their roots! :( thanks for dropping by!

This is a hard thing to accept. And not something I want to accept. Definitely checking the bylaws in this town, I keep forgetting to ask. Darn mommy brain I tell ya, I should be switched to remembering these things rather than forget everything!
I think thats why the locals are not jumping fast on these fresh eggs either, it doesnt make sense to not want any.

I am choosing to not engage in by laws, and the systems that are in play.
Those that are interested will come. I was surprised too, that people don't want them in town. I have faith that it is for good reason. Perhaps those people are the very ones that sue. Keeping the system alive and well.
Grateful for the people that see the value in what i do, and what i share. Thank you for that!!

How does one that lives in town choose to not engage? If the bylaws say we cannot have chickens, then we will be fined.

I lived in London and had chickens for years. Just no rooster. Bylaws said no.
For me it was becoming self sustainable. Being less dependant on the systems. Taking that leap of faith. No one complained.
4 weeks before i left, someone reported me, so it was then that i placed my chickens. They gave me a warning. Had i stayed there, I would have approached the city in a peaceful, spiritual way.
Moving through the paralyzing fear. The fear they feed off of.

Well I say let's give it a try. :) I will check with Danny. Who says chickens can't be pets :p

If you have a couple.. name them.. they are pets lol
I could "lend" them to you. Lol

Not sure if you know this life hack...

I live off grid..i have no freezer. :( but this is very good information!

A winter off grider life hack, then. 😎

That it is!! Luckily the hens slow down in the winter!! Lol :)

Very sad world our governments are making for the people they are suppose to be working for, most people are asleep to the fact that our freedoms being taking away from us daily in North America.

It is very sad. You are right! We have never really had freedom, we are just slaves to the systems. I really hope people see that they now control all our food and water. When they take these things away, how long can people live?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60