Kerrygold Sued Over Grass-Fed Claims

in #food6 years ago

butter3.jpg

Kerrygold has become one of the most popular dairy brands in the world today with their grass-fed butter and other dairy products.

But now those grass-fed claims are being questioned in court.

One California man has recently launched a class action lawsuit against the company behind Kerrygold, Ornua Co-operative Ltd, arguing that they are using deceptive marketing practices by mislabeling the products as coming from milk produced by grass-fed cows, when those cows might be consuming soy or corn a part of the time.

The suit alleges:

". During certain times of the year, Kerrygold feeds its cows genetically modified and other grains – not grass – such that the resulting products are not strictly ‘grass-fed,’'

the class action lawsuit is looking to represent consumers who had purchased Kerrygold butter as far back as June 2014.

The lawsuit argues that the grass-fed claims are not only false but they are misleading and deceptive as well.

The plaintiff is reportedly looking for a jury trial over this matter and they've suggested that Kerrygold might be trying to capitalize on higher prices that consumers are willing to pay when they believe they are buying a superior product (grass-fed).

But what if the claims aren't true? Will it likely come as a surprise to many consumers who have purchased this butter over the years?

The lawsuit is looking for compensatory and punitive damages over the matter, as well as looking to have the company alter their current labeling on their products.

That's not all, they have also suggested that Kerrygold should dispose of all the profits they have made as a result of their false advertising.

A Top Butter Brand

Kerrygold has quickly become a favorite for many in the U.S., Germany, and elsewhere. As of this year, it's alleged that Kerrygold has become the 2nd best-selling butter brand in the entire country (U.S.). That includes importing more than 23k tons of butter last year alone.

Kerrygold is set to become Ireland's very first billion-euro dairy brand.

They reported an impressive €2.1 billion turnover for last year and they've been seeing record-level sales in the United States and Germany, which has enabled them to allegedly hit their target early of reaching €1 billion by 2021.

It's estimated that more than 50 percent of German households purchased a Kerrygold product in the last year and in the United States they saw double-digit growth in sales. They've been breaking butter sales in many regions and have become the butter brand that millions of people around the world prefer to eat.

Pics:
pic2 - source
pic3- source

Related Posts:

Cow-Funding To Meet Grass-Fed Consumer Demands

Grass-Fed Startup Offering Delivery Service To 48 States

Sort:  

Dang, Kerrygold is my go to!

Kerrygold is the butter I have always been buying and it not only is good tasting but I though tit was natural I am quite surprised they may be cheating on their claims

Had no clue of this! Kerrygold is a staple in my kitchen both unsalted and salted. I will still keep using it as I enjoy the flavor.

If true this sucks, I love me some kerrygold. Luckily we have #SteemIt to expose these fools without using state coercion.

I just hope the cows are full of yummy Bovine Growth Hormone!

I hope it's real grass fed butter, because that's what we have been using. But it is produced in such a high amount that I would be surprised if the cows were 100% grass fed. So while I would be disappointed if it's not, I will be glad that someone called the out and revealed the truth to the public.

So my understanding is that the plaintiff is saying that Kerrygold’s claim of their products coming from grass fed cows is false and misleading because their cows aren’t grass fed 100% of the time, but can you definitively say that 100% grass fed dairy is actually a superior product? Maybe but as far as I know there hasn’t been a definitive double blind study or studies done on it.

This product brand is not as popular in Argentina and the customs here are different cows are usually fed grass-based is cheaper than corn, consequently in an animal of lower quality to animals that are fed to corn , the product of these are of better quality
Excellent news dear friend @doitvoluntarily, thank you very much for sharing
I wish you a great day

I use a different butter brand and frankly I do it for its cheap price more than anything else.

Truth be told, in this world where practices of food industry has been long since in question, it would be no surprise if kerrygold looses. I would actually be surprised to see it win. In the end a profit seeking organization is just 'profit seeking'. I am not saying that they are all necessary evil but in the end we have seen that too many of these good things turn out otherwise ......................makes a man a little cynical.

Let me just put it this way. I wouldn't have bought this butter even if I had the money. Its not a question of them speaking truth or not. Its a question of us knowing better. I have not given up on food. I have given up on food coming from places where I don't have a say or transparency of open inspection.

My mother has made me homemade butter and I know its taste well. I bet that Kerrygold or any other brand couldn't hold a candle to that.

It is very good that as users they express their criticism so that some products improve their quality

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44