Low-Carb Keto Pizza - A Recipe that I often Make

in #food7 years ago

Low-Carb Keto Pizza - Almond Flour and Psyllium [Jan 2018].jpg


A few days ago I wrote about one of the recipes that I enjoy a lot during the holiday season, which was the cheesecake - its low-carbohydrate version. Today I'm going to briefly tell you about another recipe, which is for pizza.

So, to make pizza compatible with a ketogenic diet (which is very low in carbohydrates) you'd have to use flours low in carbohydrates for the crust. Other than that, the toppings for generic pizzas, regardless of low-carb or not, are overall low carb, unless you make some fruit pizza?!

Anyway, I used almond flour and psyllium husk for the crust. I mixed 130g of almond flour with 15g of psyllium husk and added 10g of baking powder and a pinch of salt. Then, I beat 3 eggs and mix them with the dry ingredients.

I spread the combo into a pan lined with parchment/baking paper and added some tomato sauce, olives, sausage and cheese. Then I baked it in the preheated oven for about 30-40 minutes.

I got a pizza of about 480g which was, in terms of macronutrient breakdown:

  • 1321 kcals
  • 109 grams of fat
  • 64 grams of protein
  • 46 grams of total carbs
  • 29 grams of fiber
  • 17 grams of net carbs.

So, it was pretty low in carbohydrates. I didnt have it in one sitting, but in 3. So the macros per serving are much lower, yielding about 440 kcals and about 5.7 grams of net carbs. In the future I'm looking forward to experiment with flaxseed flour which is much lower in carbs and also with a flour made of fibers which is basically 0 net carbs.

If these instructions are somewhat unclear, I wrote more detailed instructions at my personal blog:

Low-Carb Keto Pizza - A Recipe that I often Make


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

The crust looks weird but for some reason I am curious to try it. :) Did it taste any good?

Of course it did! :D

The crust is tastes very dense!

I've been meaning to get into cooking videos on DTUbe :) Can you recommend any kind of equipment for getting started in the world of cooking blogs?

Yes, none. Your kitchen and your phone camera. :)

Ohhhh neat :D Thank you!

That looks pretty legit - and by "legit" I mean pretty close to unadulterated pizza - and based om the recipe I would guess it tastes pretty good too.

I've been toying a lot with flax recently - food wishes had a great cracker recipe that's basically 100% flax seeds soaked and then slow dried in the oven. Turns out great and a perfect base for dips. I bet you could alter it to make a bit of an unconventional "flatbread" style pizza with resultingly very low carb macros.

You definitely can. And that's the next thing I'm going to try for the crust: flax plus psyllium. I had a great success doing the flax microwave oven bread (3 minutes) and I guess it'll go well for the pizza too.

Holy cow, the microwave bread looks amazing - but somehow we don't have a microwave! That and a TV are missing from our home - the result of limited space and luddite tendencies :)

Yea, I dont have one either. I made it at mom's place. I might buy one though...

Healthy pizza recipe. Good idea to use psyllium husk plus almond flour as pizza crust

delicious ... Very delicious! I hope you have a good appetite. Greetings from Venezuela

I've been doing keto for a while, i used to do the pizza dough with cauliflower egg and butter, i will try this recipe!

Looking foward to see some photos!

wow i first time watch cake and pizza mix
hahaha ahahha hahah

When I looked at the picture I thought it was a piece of pie. Fruit pizza just sounds weird, is it dry on the bottom part?

If you mean the crust, yes. The crust is dry :)

very good food life diet post.thank you so much.

mmmmh ,,,, looks so yami

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44