The Low-Carb/Keto Cheesecake I had this Christmas

in #food7 years ago

Low-Carb Keto Cheesecake - [Simple Recipes] - 1.jpg


Ever since my first experiment with the ketogenic diet back in 2013, I wanted to have little to no feelings of deprivation from certain favorite foods. Some of them were fries, pizza, and cheesecake.

While you cannot find an exact match for potato fries, you can get really close to the taste and the texture with celeriac (celery root) fries. I don't have them often.

As for the pizza and cheesecake, I dare to say that I find their low-carb/keto versions tastier and filling than the regular ones with wheat flour and added sugar.

The cheesecake that I had this year was about 650 - 700 grams and it yielded 1,755 calories. The total carbohydrate count for the entire cake was 46 grams and the net (usable) carb was 23.6 grams.

I didn't eat it entirely in one sitting, as you can image. So, if you divide this into 3-4 servings, the carbohydrate content is not worth counting as it becomes pretty low.

I still have 1/3 of it left and I'll have it today and tomorrow, about 100 grams each day. If you're interested, I wrote the full recipe and nutritional information on my personal blog:

Keto Cheesecake Recipe


Stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Ha, I didn't expect to find Keto folk here on Steemit, but it is a pleasant surprise!! Keto changed my life and the person who taught me the most was named Kristi (coincidence?)...no matter, I am happy to have stumbled on to you here. Yay for this platform and YAY for Keto!!!! :)

Hey there @cvmidwife, another keto person checking in here! We're alive!!!! :) I just joined a week or so ago, but I'm excited to be here.

I think that in order for Steemit to succeed as a social media platform, we need to all be talking about things that are worth reading about. It seems that most posts I see on the front page are about steemit or crypto in general and while those topics are really cool, it isn't really of interest to the general public, you know?

As for what keto did for me, well... since April I've lost 50 lbs and put my full-blown diabetes into remission, so I've got that going for me, which is nice. :)

Way to go! In what ways has keto change you? Weight-loss?

Yes, I lost 55lbs which was the initial motivation. The real magic/gift was learning what carbs had been doing to me my entire life!!! I'm not going to lie, I have taken some steps backwards over the past 2 years, but I quickly step back into what my body & mind knows is right for my health. It has also changed my husband WOE which means we are both enjoying better health together.
We are Keto seniors~~giggle :)

Thanks for sharing this...I want to get some yummy healthier dessert ideas after what I ingested over Xmas :)

has it been a big binge?

Not really... a lot of it has to do with lack of sleep, less daylight hours and very cold weather. I get a lot of exercise usually and I recently started running in Central Park I just have to get consistent with it until the weather gets milder :)

I like the way you've taken the carbohydrate content into detailed consideration as this is very important to avoid having high blood sugar... That's not pretty you know

I've never tried a ketone diet. I like carbs too much 😅 I'm sure I would feel better if I did though

It does feel much better-- so much that we ketopians call the Standard American Diet the "SAD" for short!

Give up carbs for just a month and you won't miss them! There are ways to have delicious things without carbs... I'll be posting recipes occasionally. I already have one up-- it's for chewy chocolate chip cookies!

Ill have to look into it. Unfortunately, im plagued with IBS and cant tolerate fructose lactose and gluten so I'm already pretty restricted ahah

nice
look delicious

Incredible way of keeping your health friend ...

i Love cheesecake
i have also written an article on Top Traditional food
check this
https://steemit.com/food/@usmanzeb/top-traditional-foods-of-pakistan

Le cheese -cake, un monument de l'art culinaire américain!

The cheese-cake, a monument of the American culinary art!

Wow good food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10