Keto Friendly Flax Bread - [3-Minute Recipes]

in #food6 years ago

20171226_184818.jpg


I watched probably more than a dozen videos of how to cook keto friendly breads and buns in the past few days. And I decided to try the one I considered as being the most simple, since it only takes a few minutes to have it done.

It was posted by The Keto King on their channel, so all credits go to them. I made only a minor adjustment to the recipe, by using 20 grams of ground flax seeds, instead of the 26 grams they suggest.

So, in my ingredients list:

  • 15 grams of butter
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2.5 grams of baking powder
  • 20 grams of ground flax seeds

First I melted the butter in the microwave oven, then I cracked the whole egg and mixed it with the butter and then I added the flax and the baking powder. I mixed them until I got a good consistency. Then I microwaved it in a square container for 3 minutes.

And that's it! It came out a 60 grams small bread which I cut it in 2 slices. The macros for the whole thing are:

  • Energy: 260 kcals
  • Protein: 10.1 grams
  • Fat: 25.4 grams (9.9 grams saturated, 2.3 grams omega-6, 4.7 grams omega-3!!!!, 6.8 grams monounsaturated)
  • Carbohydrates: 6.5 grams
  • Fiber: 5.5 grams
  • Net carbs: 1 gram.

I think this makes a very good optimal profile given the massive omega-3 load and the high-fiber content. I had it with some peanut butter (99.8% organic peanuts and 0.02% salt).

20171226_192918.jpg


Stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Hmmm, it looks very enticing, i would love to have a taste..i would defintely try making mine with the procedures you used.Thanks for sharing.

Hey @cristi, I'm astounded to see such a "bready"-looking bread in the microwave... it looks really good!

How is this bread when toasted? Have you tried it?

I havent tried toasting it. I'm not a big fan of :) I'd rather have it soft like that with something on it :)

Wow, this is awesome! I didn't realize it could be so easy to create bread... with a microwave! I guess if you used different shaped containers, you could achieve round or triangle bread if you wanted, haha

"Then I microwaved it in a square container for 3 minutes." this is the part I dropped my jaw.....

My question: how the flax seed match with the eggs and generally the taste of this bread? I tried to make tortillas with eggs and flax seed, texture was very good but taste not so.

No matter the taste, this really looks great! Will try this one man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70