🍎 STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #44 : Divine Chocolate Almond Ice Cream - Living Raw Journal #10steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

When our kids ask for ice cream for breakfast, we say, “Yay!” That's because our family makes super simple homemade vegan ice cream–equally delicious and nutritious! Our favorite right now is this divine chocolate almond ice cream.

This quick recipe demo shows you the start-to-finish process.


Divine Chocolate Almond Ice Cream

The Story

This past month, our family dedicated 30 days toward an immersion in the raw food vegan diet. Naturally, we documented our findings here on Steemit, as you can see in the various posts we've made, leading up to today's recipe. See: (1) Breakfast Chocolates; (2) Raw Cashew Coconut Fudgeballs; (3) Raw German Chocolate Cake; and (4) Breakfast Ice Cream.

To our surprise, we discovered a dreamy “ice cream” made with only two ingredients: activated nuts and frozen fruit. This creamy treat closely resembles the taste and texture of traditional ice cream. Add cacao powder, and you have a chocolate ice cream! Add the sweetener of your choice and you have pure divinity.

This recipe calls for four ingredients.

The Recipe

Almonds and frozen fruit, raw cacao powder... these are a few of my favorite things. For this dessert, the preparation is simply a matter of mixing ingredients in a food processor. However, there's also the opportunity to improve your creation further by giving your almonds a royal spa treatment. ;) Yes, ideally, you'll soak raw almonds for 8-9 hours and then remove the skins (see the demo video above). This activates the almonds and gives your family the ice cream experience.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C almonds (soaked and skinned)
  • 1-2 C mango or banana (frozen)
  • 2 T raw cacao powder
  • 2 T agave nectar

Instructions:

  • Soak almonds 8-10 hours. Remove skins.
  • In a food processor, blend almonds, frozen fruit, cacao powder, and agave.
  • Taste test and add more cacao or agave, depending on your family's flavor preferences.
  • Serve in an ice cream bowl.

Note: Dates work great as a substitute for the agave.

Soak raw almonds in water for 8-9 hours, ideally.

An ordinary food processor mixes and whips these ingredients into a delightful dessert.

This dessert serves our entire family of five! That's because raw desserts are potent and packed with satisfying substance.


What Makes This Recipe Divine?

The Superlative “Superfood”

Raw cacao is the ultimate ingredient in raw desserts, because of its terrific health benefits and its central role in a chocolatier's recipe book. While I can understand why people prefer the sweeter and milkier commercial chocolates we see in stores, there's such a richness to cacao itself. To me, cacao beans are among the most pleasurable foods on the planet.

Did you know that cacao beans once held so much value that they were used as a form of currency? Yes, the Maya and Aztec cultures revered cacao 5,000 years ago, and they concocted various cacao elixirs for ceremonial purposes. The Aztecs believed that cacao beans were the gift of Quetzalcoatl, the god of wisdom. The cacao tree is native to the Americas, centered in the Mesoamerican region. There, cacao beans are commonly harvested, fermented, and then ground to order at chocolate mills, where they can be mixed with a variety of ingredients such as cinnamon, chili peppers, almonds, vanilla, and other spices to create drinking chocolate. Ground cacao is also an important ingredient in tejate and mole. This information is paraphrased from Wikipedia.

The Accentuation

The qualities of our beloved cacao are often enhanced with ingredients such as vanilla, sugar, and milk. We can upgrade these desires for familiarity, sweetness, creaminess, with a bit of culinary creativity. In our family, we prefer to gain the creamy sensation through the use of nuts, like cashews, pecans, hazelnuts, and almonds. For most of our sweet treats, we rely on our staple fruits, such as bananas, apples, and on spacial occasions we go for berries or mango. For an extra sweet flavor, we favor dates, and we also appreciate agave nectar. These are the reasons why we choose these four ingredients for this recipe.


Steemit Culinary Challenge #44

The Invitation To Get Creative In The Kitchen

To me, I see this event as an opportunity to express ourselves creatively in the kitchen, week after week, while also gaining recipe ideas from other culinary artists. Personally, I am inspired by @progressivechef and @lenasveganliving, among many others. I am grateful to @woman-onthe-wing for creating this brilliant and beautiful invitation, and I'm also thankful to @leotrap, @gringalicious, @sirwinchester, and all the others who make the Steemit Culinary Challenge possible. Thanks too to you, dear reader, for allowing me to share a bit of creative energy with you.

Wishing you an incredible edible day!

–Cabe


All content is original, by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

I still think your kids are so lucky to get ice cream for breakfast! Yum!

Yeah, all of us ice cream eaters are lucky, aren't we? Ice cream is one of the yummiest creations. And when it's on the breakfast menu and you're a little kid, I think you're a pretty lucky duck, yes indeed. :)

Years ago, when my kids were little I remember how thrilled they were when I made oatmeal and served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream melting on top. They still talk about it 25 years later!

Oh how fun! Yeah, oatmeal has been our long-time favorite. We can't beat yours, with the ice cream on top. :) We've had some successes, though. Steel cut oats with almond butter and chocolate chips... Yum.

Congratulations @cabelindsay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hooray! I enjoyed your post so much I had to give applause :-) A delicious chocolate dessert made divine by its nutritional qualities, just what I love to see! And what a lucky child who gets to enjoy that instead of the sugary kind. Your video is fab, shows the process in a really interesting way, and how easy it is to make. Great nutritional information about the ingredients... I think people are starting to use raw cacao more these days... finally appreciating the difference between that and commercial 'chocolate flavoured' products. Great recipe and photography... good luck @cabelindsay!

Sweet, thank you, yay! I'm thinking I can improve the quality of my photography, but have to view a few more posts by @gringalicious and figure out how she does it so well. :) I really admire your event here, and I do aim to participate more. Thanks so much.

I love this Cabe! So awesome to be able to give our kids something good to eat that they actually want right? I wish I would have paid attention to this week's challenge! I made a triple layer chocolate and peanut butter, raw, vegan, nice cream cake that would have been perfect! <3 Chocolate is always my go-to ;) Love this and am a huge supporter of healthy treats!

Oh yeah, your recipe there would be a standout in this week's challenge. I seemed to notice there weren't as many entries as I expected, but maybe it's because I'm so new to the event. Yeah, chocolate is my go-to too!!!

There used to be a lot, we had a pretty big community but I think everyone's kind of getting overwhelmed! For me, I ALWAYS (I mean ALWAYS) forget to do the sign and as small of a thing as it is, it makes it so hard for me lol so I stopped entering contests sheerly because I am too lazy to make a sign... OK, I said it ;)

Yeah, I know what you mean. Awhile back I made a printable sheet of tagging cards for that exact reason. Here's the post: Printable Steemit Tagging Cards. You'll find a downloadable PDF file that you can print from home and then add your name and date. Good to go!

Congratulations @cabelindsay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love healthy snacks :D this looks really great!

Thank you. I'm happy to hear from you. You know, I was just checking out your blog yesterday, after noticing you entered this same culinary challenge, and I see you have some really interesting recipes there. I'm excited to try your kimchi! Glad to know you now (just followed you). BTW, are you familiar with the "Aquatic Ape Hypothesis?" (see Wikipedia). It explains that humans are more closely-related with aquatic mammals, like dolphins, rather than land mammals, like monkeys. This justifies the real possibility and likelihood of mermaids! Do you believe it? :)

Thanks for your kind words ^^

Haha, I don't know. I just know that I love the ocean and I would really love it if mermaids were real :$ I also enjoyed the docu about it ^^

Oh, I'm glad to know about the documentary. I'll have to check that out. Did you feel like it gave any substance to the aquatic ape theory? I worked with Animal Planet on a video project once, and I tend to admire their work.

It was mainly a docu about 'what if mermaids were real?' and they explained as logically as possible about that what if theory ^^ (but part of the explanation was indeed about apes that got into the water)

Hmm vegan ice cream is the best, especially for breakfast lol. Can't wait till mango season starts again.... but I'll give your recipe a try with banana. Have so much of them in the freezer right now. Enjoy the rest of your day!

Yeah, that's exactly how I figured out about this recipe–an abundance of frozen bananas!

This sounds incredible! Thank you so so msuch for sharing! Sounds way yummier than my chocolate banana nice cream! Well maybe not way yummier but a lovely alternative cause we too eat lots of nice cream... also for breakfast lol. Looking forward to more delicious recipes!

"Nice cream," yeah that's a great name for this. It's perfect! I'm stealing that. ;) Thanks for your encouraging reply!

Looks so tasty! I have to try this recipe :) Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94