Meet Herman - The Chain Letter Cake

in #food8 years ago

A while ago I was given a container of bubbling batter with an accompanying one page letter. 

The letter opened by saying 

Hello my name is Herman. I am a sourdough cake

The rest of the letter contains specific instructions on how to look after, and ultimately bake, Herman The German Friendship Cake. The bubbling brew is a type of sourdough starter, used to make the cake rise.  The letter sets out daily instructions on how to feed Herman and cultivate him over the course of ten days. 

This is the chain part - on the ninth day, you are instructed to divide the starter into four segments. Keep one and give the remaining three segments of Herman away, together with a copy of the letter.  

On day 10, use your remaining portion and follow the recipe to bake a delicious warm spicy apple and cinnamon sourdough cake. 

What is so special about Herman?

If you are not familiar with sourdough starter, this whole chain cake concept would seem a little off-putting.  Rest assured, Herman is perfect for this sort of culinary sharing. Sourdough starter is designed to multiply and can do so for generations (if looked after properly). It does not require refrigeration and multiplies off wild yeasts that naturally exist in the air.  It is a combination of how the bacteria, wild yeasts and acids produced from the bacteria react together.  Some of the worlds best sourdough bakeries use starter that has been nurtured for over one hundred years.  If you are cultivating your own starter, it is necessary every so often to remove some of it, and feed it more flour and water to keep it healthy. This is why dividing up your “Herman” and passing it on to others is actually what keeps Herman alive. Herman can keep multiplying and growing, provided he is continually divided and fed. 


I must admit I was skeptical about the hygiene of baking a cake using a starter that I was given.  But curiosity got the better of me and for 10 days, I welcomed Herman into my kitchen. I followed the instructions through to completion. I baked the cake. I ate the cake and it was good.

Does Herman Travel the World?

I told my mum (who lives on the other side of Australia) about Herman and she was surprised Herman was still doing the rounds. She remembers coming across Herman years ago. I started to wonder how many people around the country, even the world have come in contact with Herman? How many people before me, contributed to 'my' Herman The German Friendship Cake? How many countries has Herman visited? I had no way to answer these questions.  I wrote about the chain letter, recipe and my baking experience on my personal blog. The readership on my blog is relatively small and mostly Australian. 

I still am curious - how universal is this culinary chain letter? 

Then boom!  Enter Steemit and suddenly I have a platform on which to ask that question again, and this time maybe get some answers. 

So, have you seen Herman The German Friendship Cake? 

If so, in which country and in what year? Did you bake the cake and pass on the instructions to keep the chain cake alive? 

I truly would love to know.   


Until next time, long live Herman.   

xx Isabella
 

Sort:  

I have actually had and made Herman, so it has definitely reached Denmark.

Oh @nenad-ristic, that is cool, thanks for letting me know. I suspect Herman has European origins, so it is probably more of a crazy thing that it reached Australia. I feel stoked that at least one person here has actually met Herman. Yay!

I remember when I sent out 'Davo the potato'. I never did see him again. I had so much trouble getting him in the envelope. Anyway, another interesting read from you bridget!

Haha Davo and Herman should be friends.

I bet they'd be great friends. I just need Davo to find his way home first. I think he was kidnapped by a potato-hater!

This is a lovely idea. Thanks for sharing Isabella :)

Nice reputation of 11. Glitch in the matrix? :D

I thought it was too! How do people even come up with the idea of a chain letter sourdough starter in the first place. I wonder who started it originally? Ah all these questions! Thanks for reading @rosemarydavey

It's about time Herman comes to me, don't you agree?

Herman breeds better than rabbits so there has to be a fair few of him out there in the world.

Awesome post Isabella!! Loved it! Very creative and I'm hungry now :)) heheh

Thanks for dropping by @allasyummyfood. I am a huge fan of sourdough bread, but it was only recently after I visited a bakery for a private tour that I learnt about 'starter.' I think it is the most amazing thing ever that you can harness naturally airborne yeast to bake bread. I guess this is how it was always done back in the day but somehow over time, commercial yeast has eroded the bread making art. Now I am hungry too :)

yeah back in the days they did it right! I bet the flavour and taste was even better! :)) In Latvia we have fresh yeast and obviously in packets, here in UK really hard to get fresh yeast!

I will experiment with this cake recipe @bridgetbunchy

Great @quynhtn - You can start Herman from scratch yourself too. Share the love. It has so much potential for experimentation.

Great story! My grandmother used to do something similar. I don't know if you plan on writing more food related posts but if you do you should think about joining our group! We all love food and there is a lot of diversity there. I'd love to have you on board. You can go to the SteemIt chat, and get ahold of us, or direct message me. I just did an interview about it here that has a little more info https://steemit.com/steemianfoodnetwork/@steemitqa/q-and-a-today-we-interview-the-steemianfoodnetwork-which-is-launching-today

Sorry if this looks "spammy" lol. I just get excited talking about it. Either way, great post SteemOn!

Hi @kryptik - Thank you for stopping by. #steemianfoodnetwork looks great. I first started writing with a food blog, but have branched out into the handmade vintage textile business over the past years. But I always come back to food, you are right in your interview about how food has the ability to connect people. I like to write about food that has a provenance, taking a recipe and following the ingredients back to the source.

This is so wonderful. I remember Herman from about 40 years ago (starting to show my age LOL) My sister had some that she shared and it made the greatest cake. At that time we always had company coming over, so having the starter on hand was just a treat for getting baking again.

Alas, Herman died due to unforeseen climate change. We didn't have any heat in the house and he froze. I gave him a worthy burial and flushed him down the toilet. I figured that if he was so wonderful in making my cakes rise that his makeup would be beneficial to the septic tank as well.

The only problem is that I have never seen him again since that day so it's delightful that you started a post on him.

Any ideas on how to get a new Herman other than sending him through the post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45