Bozz BBQ's: My First Brisket

in #food6 years ago

A year or two ago, my brother in law got the offer to buy part of a cow from a farmer.

As a kid, my aunt and uncle used to keep cows on their farm. I remembered how good that beef was compared to what you get in the store.

So when my brother in law asked if I wanted to go in on the half cow that he was purchasing, I was a little more than excited.

I took some ground meat and some steaks, but knowing that I enjoy BBQ'ing, my brother in law insisted that I also take the brisket.

I was a little hesitant at first. I mean sure, I have smoked pork shoulders and turkey breasts before, but briskets are a whole different animal (excuse the pun).

I knew from reading that there were a lot more factors you had to take into consideration when smoking a brisket. Likewise, they can be a lot less forgiving if you mess them up than another kind of meat.

I finally agreed to take the brisket and it then sat in my freezer for quite some time. My fear of messing up such a choice cut of meat was overwhelming.

Eventually, we were coming up to a time when our family was going to be having a get-together and it was decided that I was going to smoke the brisket as the main course.

I have used this picture before for other stories, but this was actually taken the night before I smoked this brisket.

I used the offset barrel charcoal smoker up on the top of the deck to smoke the meat.

I used the little grill sitting next to it to keep coals going for when I needed to add some fuel.

My barrel smoker is a pretty cheap model, so it doesn't hold the tempurature as well as some other models. This forces me to have to add fuel more frequently than I would like to.

This is a picture of the brisket before I put it on the smoker.

I had put a (store bought)rub on it the night before and I put it in the refrigerator covered. The next morning before I started the smoking, I pulled it out and let it get up to room temperature.

When I smoke pork I usually like to use applewood because the sweet smoke goes well with the white meat.

With the brisket, I decided to use some hickory. I thought the heavier and more rustic smoke would go well with the red meat.

This cut of meat was relatively small compared to some briskets I have seen. At only about 6 pounds, I figured this one would take about 9 hours to smoke.

It was getting time to head to the location we were having the family get together, and I still had a bit of time left on the brisket. It was at a safe temperature to eat, but it wasn't quite at the perfect temp brisket should be served at which is right around 195 degrees Fahrenheit.

I threw it in the oven quick at the house we were eating at, but by then it had lost some of its heat due to the travel.

Everyone enjoyed it and by the time we left what hadn't been eaten was already claimed as leftovers.

I definitely learned some things that I will be taking into account if I ever smoke a brisket again... Next time I will for sure make sure I give myself enough time. I think this one needed another two or three hours to get the fat and tissue broken down properly so that the brisket would be the right consistency.

Additionally, if you look at the picture at the top, you can see there is a red smoke ring around the outside of the cuts. I think it is a bit too pronounced though. I feel like I might have hit it with too much smoke at the beginning and I should have cut back a little on that.

Some people like a lot of smoke flavor and some people don't, so my opinion on the smoke ring could be subjective.

Thanks for stopping in and checking out my BBQ. I hope to post a lot more on this subject as the weather starts to warm up.

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

just looking at it make me feel hungry.

Thank you!

That's a nice lookin' brisket.

I don't do brisket much, I often use a smaller tri tip. It's close to the same density... I do like to soak a hunk that size and I generally use fruit juice but have used Dr. Pepper when I leave it over night in the fridge. I also generally speaking mechanically tenderize at least some.

The last couple I have done were on a Traeger, with mesquite. A good combination, for me I like the smoke..

Thanks for a great post. It's always good to see us old farts trying new stuff.

Thanks for the pointers and the compliments. I have never had tri-tip before. I'd love to try it some day. My mom used to do baby backs baked in coca cola then you finish them on the grill. Wow a Traeger! That's some fancy stuff. I have been looking at the rec tec grills that are similar. My dad just bought a kamado Joe but I don't know if I could ever spend that much on a grill. It's not like I am Steven Reichlen 😁 thanks again for the reply!

I had no idea that was a smoke ring. I'm totally jealous as some good ole bbq sounds downright delicious right about now! We can't figure out the cut in Spanish to get some brisket, but hopefully someday. I think that sounds really tasty. Thanks for sharing and making me drool.

No problem. Thanks for the great comment and thanks for the compliments. Do you guys at least get some decent carne asada there?

No we don't and it's sad. Meat here is pretty expensive in restaurants, tough for some reason too. Most people say not to eat the pork chops for the same reason. Panamanian food is bland and not very memorable. I wish it were more like Tex-Mex. ;)

That is sad! 🙁 Interesting to be aware of my misconceptions though. What is a typical evening dinner like? What would it consist of?

We do not eat typically here. We usually have a sandwich for lunch and then some dinner with meat, veggies and pasta/rice. Most Panamanians (like all other Latin American countries that I know of) eat a heavy lunch of chicken and rice and then they'll have something like soup for dinner. Chicken, rice, yucca, plantains...those are all big here. Not tortillas at all. Not really any dairy (because it's expensive). Veggies aren't a big deal or fruit really for most. Processed foods have made their way in and you can see it - chips, crackers, cookies, cokes.

Very interesting!

That looks absolutely delicious! I hope you didn't have too much trouble keeping it away from your dog ;-)

I bet the meat tasted really good, always does when you buy it straight from the farmer.

She is pretty pathetic. I try to tell her ladies don't beg but she follows you around hoping for a scrap anyway. The difference in fresh meat is so astounding.

I have this bad association with the word 'brisket'. It comes from when I was as a kid and the meat I ate was bad, boring or something else. I really need to shed this from my mind, as this looks pretty awesome.

9 hours to smoke? Hope you had something to keep you going during the wait :)

I'll be honest, if I had to choose between pulled pork and brisket, I would probably take the pork every time. I definitely don't want to give up though. I'd like to get the process down so I can do it I ever need to. The cost for brisket is just too high if you mess it up though. That is part of what I love about BBQ'ing/Smoking. You just put it on and relax. Let it cook, maybe have a beverage or two. It's a lot of fun!

This is a very US thing, sadly not really in our culture. Theres some things I miss about your country.

Maybe someday you will make it back. I'd love to make it across the pond myself someday. My dad got to visit a little bit of Europe when he was in the Navy.

There is the whole science about it, lol, but yeah, those things require time, we were doing a lots of smoked fish and meat back in the days we live at the farm.

Very cool! I am really excited about trying some new stuff this summer. I would like to do some chicken wings and maybe a whole chicken, but we will see. I might be too busy camping to get anything done!

Bozz, it looked real good, get rid of the charcoal and just cook the beef with wood, did you foil wrap it while it cooked, that slows the smoke ring down as well. Personally I like my BBQ with all the smoke flavor I can get, mesquite is my favorite wood to cook with, it is a little hotter wood but it is pretty easy once you get the hang of it.

I didn't foil wrap it until towards the end. I had wanted to try mesquite, but I couldn't find any in enough time. Thanks for the tips!

Oh my god I so want to cry now that looks so good, here bulgarians do not do beef. And if they get it they do it wrong, they don't let it mature and they don't use the adult cow which is used for dairy not meat. So we get veal which is nice but it's not the same great post im hungry now looking for cookies.

I eat far less beef now than I used to, but I don't think I could go without it completely. My wife understands I need to occasionally feed my cravings. I don't know if I could do veal. I have seen the conditions they are raised in and it gives me the willies.

Im drooling here already 🤤🤤🤤🤤 i just had a good one few weekes ago n now i really need to get more of it! 😋

Thanks for the comment. Yeah I could eat some form of BBQ every meal if my wife would let me :)

Try it with a Berliner Weisse next time!

Noted! and Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65