Chicken meatball with fennel soup : Soup that comforts body and soul

in #food6 years ago

1B4C8350-D045-4B18-96E4-90A7F6E13174.jpeg

Hi guys. Here is another recipe of the week. I’m trying to post one recipe a week.

This week I want to post a comfort food recipe. When I think of comfort food, soup comes to mind.

I love soup, to me soup heals both body and soul. It comforts me either when I’m sick or home sick. It’s good on a rainy day or on a winter day. Who am you kidding! It’s even good in a sunny day!! I’d love me some soup everyday.

Chicken meatball soup is what we are going to make today.

D0472248-CE9E-43D5-83C8-138E728412D0.jpeg

I’m going to show you what we need for ingredients and I will give you some options if you want to substitute some of the items.

383A2E6B-AB2B-4B73-A14F-B724B8B396C6.jpeg

These ingredients in the picture are for the chicken meatball.

79BDA190-C0F7-42A4-BACB-32D40BE51D4F.jpeg

Now you are thinking why is my breadcrumbs so green!! I made fresh breadcrumbs from rye bread that I had on hand. I teared a slice of rye bread in to pieces and put them in my magic bullet( food processor will do the trick as well)
I also put a table spoon of fresh parsley in there so I didn’t have to chop them up by hand. That’s why my breadcrumbs turned out green. So don’t forget to add about 1/4 cup of parsley to the ingredient list. You will need them in the meatballs and in the soup. 1tbs for the meatballs and the rest goes into the soup.

These are ingredients for the soup.

17B6FC25-5EC4-4160-8AE3-6B9466EC11B3.jpeg

I chose to use millets in these recipe as I’m trying to stay off wheat but you can definitely use Israeli pearl couscous or small pasta.

Millets are gluten free small grain-like seeds, belong to grass family. Millets are packed with vitamins and minerals especially Manganese.

Another ingredient that you and change is fennel. You can use cabbage instead but I love that sweetness and the subtle smell of fennel.

And you will definitely need chicken broth about 1 litre will do. I always have homemade stock on hand in my freezer but you can use store bought one.

Let’s get started making the meatballs.

Add ground chicken in a mixing bowl.

![240628E3-9A35-4D19-A8B9-2BB643C0B31A.jpeg](

Add garlic onion and egg into the bowl.

7131B486-9CAF-4876-B6F1-608C87B33574.jpeg

Then add breadcrumbs salt and pepper.

64B74EBD-95DE-4D57-AEB5-6780B863B0C2.jpeg

Mix all the ingredients together.

0B54BF04-5A0B-4E52-802B-BF8957468B93.jpeg

Then scoop out about a tablespoon of the chicken mixture and roll it into ball. You should end up with about 25 balls.

1503F2B1-DD6F-412C-B139-53BEA2D5D515.jpeg

Then put them in the refrigerator while you getting you soup ready.

Add your stock into a pot bring it to a boil then add carrots, onion, fennel, garlic and bay leaf.

Cook for about 10 mins then add the meatball into the pot and cover for 20 mins.

Season your soup with salt and pepper.

Add chopped parsley and cooked millets or your choice of pasta into the pot just before serving.

475494DC-7CA0-48E0-A25A-B5E02CA48DBC.jpeg

Bon Appetit guys!!

I hope you will give this recipe a try and please let me know it turn out maybe a picture of your soup as well!

#foodphotography @photocontests by @juliank

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 18:01:36
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 246.37/400.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Gladly accepted. Thank you.

Wonderful post ..thanks for sharing...Best of luck friend ✫
this is the best bot for steembottracker clik here https://steemit.com/bots/@hassanbenali/the-best-bot-for-service-how-to-create-steem-bot-tracker

Transfer 0.200 SBD or 0.250 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 5 good UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers

Congratulations human. This post is included in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-70

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63762.28
ETH 3107.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84