Salute your Health! | Quick Tips and Walnut Carrot Cake Morning Muffins

in #food5 years ago

IMG_0223 (2).jpg

Morning my favorite foodie friends! We’re in snowy Colorado today!


I love looking at the snow on the mountains, but I’m afraid to say I don’t miss this cold weather. No matter how much hot tea I enjoyed this morning, I was still cold!


As you know, I love making special food for my kids when I visit. Usually breakfast is filled with muffins and fresh juices. Just a great way to start the day! Today is no exception. They were busy with the little guy so I thought I would fill in as morning chef!


How do Walnut Carrot Cake Muffins sound?


Yes, yes, you can eat carrots for breakfast! They're great! They’re gluten and dairy free, filled with walnuts and raisins!


Quick Tip

Need grated carrots? If you juice carrots regularly feel free to use your carrot pulp, works great in muffins, cakes and breads!


Want to give it a try?

todaysjourney.jpg

Walnut Carrot Cake Morning Muffins

I used

  • Gluten Free Flour (2 ¼ cups)
  • Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)
  • Flax Egg (1 1/2) or 2 Fresh Eggs
  • Ripe Bananas (qty 2)
  • Maple Syrup or Agave Syrup (3/4 cup)
  • Unsweetened Applesauce (1/3 cup)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Baking Soda (1 ½ tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1 tsp)
  • Almond Milk (1/2 cup)
  • Grated Carrots (1 cup packed)
  • Walnuts (1/4 cup)
  • Raisins (1/4 cup)

Quick Tip


Don’t have applesauce on hand? Just grate 1 medium apple and you have ½ cup Unsweetened Applesauce!


Let’s Make Muffins!

  • Mix the Bananas, eggs, carrots, applesauce and Maple/Agave syrup together in a medium bowl.

    IMG_0201 (2).jpg

  • Now add all of the dry ingredients and mix until everything is well combined.

    IMG_0205 (2).jpg

  • Chop the walnuts and add along with the raisins.

    IMG_0210 (2).jpg

  • Pour into your muffin tin. Bake at 375 degrees or until a knife when inserted comes out clean!

    IMG_0216 (2).jpg

The family is up! Juice and Muffins are ready! Voila!


IMG_0221 (2).jpg


It’s always great to start your day with a warm healthy breakfast! Hot tea and a muffin do the trick! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

so, whenever I'm perusing the Steem Engine baggage car, I tell myself I'm going to find someone new to support, but your food posts are too hard to resist. And this one I actually, literally, have everything listed here in my kitchen right now :O ...except a muffin tin. I really need to invest in one of those.

hmmm, well if you have a bread pan you could always make a loaf of bread! I improvise a lot with bread making. lol Sometimes I use little little oven proof bowls to bake in, fun shapes for bread :) You are so kind, thank you for the inspiring message this morning!

This looks like a recipe I could handle. I only miss the apple sauce for the moment. Thanks for sharing it!

hmmm, do you have any apples? You could grate apples for applesauce. Bananas would work but as you know would change the flavor a bit. The sugar is minimal so perhaps it would work for you! So glad you stopped in :) Be well!

Banana carrot raisins leap out to me things I love so I am sure without a doubt I would love these

oh good!! Perhaps you'll make them some time and let me know what you think! The sugar is minimal and with carrots, how could you go wrong! That should certainly be on your diet @tatoodjay! :)

I have bookmarked this post so I can try it sometime and I am sure that I will :)

Oh I'm the same @birdsinparadise! I love snow on the mountains but don't like the cold. But muffins for breakfast almost make the cold bearable! These look delicious. I have been scratching my head about easy new recipes for my little boy. Guess I'm making carrot muffins for breakfast! Thank you for sharing. Enjoy time with your family - and baby cuddles!

You would like theses, they are low in sugar. I know how you love to juice so you would have lot carrot to use! I love looking at these snow covered mountains, but I don't want to go outside, lol! Thanks @buckaroo, I appreciate your sweet words. Needless to say, I'm enjoying lots of cuddle time :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 374 (01/18/19)

Thanks @thesteemengine! So appreciate the feature today!

Carrot cake is @dandays favorite cake and you make it look so easy. I swear you alone make this no sugar thing much harder. Haha. Again, these are joining the “when I can eat sugar again” list of things to bake. You have your own list in my phone 😉

Yay! Carrot cake is a favorite around here too. Loved having them as as muffins...the sugar is minimal so with a touch of butter...oh my! Looking forward to your next post once you get settled! Take care my friend :)

Thank you @birdsinparadise!

Thanks for another great recipe. Can I make these muffins with Almond Flour?

Yes of course! As I'm sure you know the muffin will be a bit denser but I like using Almond flour when I can. I just didn't have any on hand. Let me know what you think!

I made these delicious muffins today. They were soooo good. They are not as pretty as yours but boy, do they taste great. Here is the link to my post. Thanks again for the recipe.
https://steemit.com/blog/@paleotwist/walnut-carrot-cake-morning-muffins

Now I want to bake some muffins...😉 Definitely my kind of way to start the day! Stay warm my friend. 🔥

Thank you Katie! These were nice because they weren't too sweet! They were a hit with the kids which is what I always hope for! I hope you'll try them and let me know what you think! Hope all is well with you and your new year is off to a great start! :)

I also make my applesauce, I just boil the apple and blend it :) Love your recipe, thanks for sharing

I know, that's the way I would usually make it, but I was in my daughters kitchen and didn't have a lot of supplies to work with....so I improvised! Everything worked out well so I thought I would share the tip! lol Thanks for your kind words. So glad you stopped in :)

Perfect breakfast muffins @birdsinparadise, I just love homemade Carrot cake, yours sounds and looks scrumptious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82