Walnut Carrot Cake Morning Muffins

in #blog6 years ago

20190119_212202.jpg
This wonderful recipe came from @birdsinparadise blog four days ago. I was so excited about trying this recipe because I had all of the ingredients in my pantry and the muffins in the picture looked so delicious. Because I was using almond flour I knew that they would have a different texture.

I re-steemed the post and I thought that I would be able to add my thoughts to the blog. I am a newbie still learning my way around Steemit.

Here is the recipe from @birdsinparadise.

Walnut Carrot Cake Morning Muffins
I used
Gluten Free Flour (2 ¼ cups)
Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)
Flax Egg (1 1/2) or 2 Fresh Eggs
Ripe Bananas (qty 2)
Maple Syrup or Agave Syrup (3/4 cup)
Unsweetened Applesauce (1/3 cup)
Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
Baking Soda (1 ½ tsp)
Cinnamon (1 tsp)
Almond Milk (1/2 cup)
Grated Carrots (1 cup packed)
Walnuts (1/4 cup)
Raisins (1/4 cup)

Here are my ingredients:

20190119_184848.jpg

I used almond flour instead of other gluten free flour, I used my homemade paleo apple butter instead of applesauce. these were the only substitutes I used.

20190119_193559.jpg

The batter was a little thin too me, I think next time I will add a little coconut flour to absorb some of the liquid.

20190119_193638.jpg

I baked them for about 40 minutes to make sure that they were done.

The taste of these muffins is incredible. You can taste the banana and nuts, the texture is soft, the raisins add a little more sweetness. My husband loves them, he doesn't want me to change a thing . He even said that I could have added some pineapple to kick it up an notch.

Kudos to @birdsinparadise for this recipe.

@paleotwist

Sort:  

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

They do look very good and I think I will try the recipe in a couple of weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64