@allaboutpastries: Natural Yeast Starter in Real Time (Episode 2) Plus more of your Interesting Posts which Many of you Have Missed, so I am Highlighting Tose I Like for You to View!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

OMG!!!****!  Bugger me I have killed the starter!  In less than 12 hours since I began this Challenge with you, my poor starter is Morte.....Dead.....RIP.  I cannot believe I have been so stupid. Well, actually, yes I can.  Unthinking, and 'plagued' by flies at the moment, I cover everything and that included the poor starter.  What I forgot in my haste to be hygienic was: yeast is a living, BREATHING organism.  It requires air as well as food, water, and warmth, to activate.  I had starved it of oxygen!  Oh well, this is a good way of showing you how practically indestructible a natural yeast starter really is.

You can quite clearly see the separation of layers.  Yes, it will separate normally given time but this has just separated, no activity at all.  You have to let it bubble up and fall back, then separate, before you refresh.  This is my point, less than 12 hours and "we have separation Huston" with no rise at all!

Lets reconstitute and repair my starter.  If you haven't begun yet, then just carry on from this post.

  1. Pour the 'dead' starter into a small bowl.
  2. Rinse out the jar and leave to drain.
  3. Add one heaped tablespoon of flour to your starter.
  4. Add a little water (I used a tablespoon of water as my starter was a little runny to begin with)!
  5. Stir or whisk until combined.

         6.  Pour back into the jar and mark the fill level.

         7.   COVER WITH A PIECE OF BREATHABLE FABRIC AND TIE ON WITH AN ELASTIC BAND!!!!!

Oh well, lets see what happens.  Next, lets look at.......

More Interesting Posts:

@stella87s gives us a very interesting recipe for vegetable cous cous nuggets.  They look really good and tasty.

@rufaz.  Have you ever had soup and then eaten your bowl afterwards?  Well you can now with this lovely recipe for cheesy broccoli soup.

@ihatebanana visits a clay oven shop and we get to see these yummy breakfast flat breads filled with lots of goodies.  Delicious food on the go!

and finally for now.....

@kotturinn shows how to make delicious blueberry pancakes.  I just love pancakes in any form: these especially look good - light and fluffy, and with added blueberries - delicious! 

Well, I will be taking images of my starter shortly and see if I have managed to revive it; I will post later.  

In the meantime....Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

Especially though, keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   





Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36