Blueberry Pancakes Anyone?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Before I continue rambling about my pancake journey, let me share a bit of pancake history with y'all from Food Timeline. I figured you guys might be interested ^''^

Pancakes & crepes
Did you know that the first pancake-type foods were eaten by prehistoric peoples? No, they were not the same pancakes we eat today. These simple, fried concoctions of milk, flour, eggs and spices were called "Alita Dolcia" (Latin for "another sweet") by the Ancient Romans. Depending upon the proportion of ingredients and method of cooking, the finished product might have approximated pancakes, fritters, omlettes, or custard. Some of these dishes were sweet (fruit, nuts, honey); others were savory (cheese, fish, meat). These ancient recipes are also thought to be the relatives of waffles, cakes, muffins, fritters, spoonbread and doughnuts. Pancakes, as we Americans know them today, were "invented" in Medieval Europe.

It is a little crazy to think that in a way pancakes were grandparents of omelettes and muffins, but then it is not surprising at all since they share quite a bit of ingredients. I recommend you guys check out Food Timeline, I often browse through the articles on it, if you like cooking, it is definitely one of the resources to check out to learn more about where modern recipes and foods take roots.

About a month ago I made a post complaining about my pancakes and asked everyone for tips to get better at making them. I have received a lot of tips and support from the community which helped me to better my batter and inspired me to try again. So thank you all :)

I think I finally nailed them!

But you guys are going to be the judge!


Here is the list of the ingredients for the Blueberry Pancakes:

  • a handful of blueberries + extra blueberries for serving;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 130 ml milk;
  • 2 eggs;
  • 1 tablespoon sugar;
  • 1,5 teaspoon baking powder;
  • 1 teaspoon butter for serving;
  • 120 g sifted flour.

Directions:

In a medium bowl combine salt, flour and baking powder, make a well. Separate egg whites from the yolk, set the eggs whites aside. Place the yolks and milk into the well and mix the batter, if it ends up being too thick add in a little more milk (although with the given amount of ingredients I didn't need to do that).
In another bowl combine sugar and egg whites, whisk until they form stiff peaks, I used a mixer for that. Add the mixture into the batter and stir. Gently mix in the blueberries.
Now this is where my batter seemed a little thinner than I'd expect it to be, but I solved this by adding about half a teaspoon of cornstarch into it.

Lightly oil the pan and cook your pancakes over a medium heat.

Serve with maple syrup, fresh blueberries, nuts, honey or anything else you like or whatever is available to you.


I was pretty happy with the way they turned out, this is actually the first time that I can honestly say I like my pancakes, feeling proud of myself haha.



My husband @matt-a ate most of these and I'm still feeling hungry, I guess now I'm gonna go search for more food in the fridge haha.

Traditional picture of one of my kitty cats, this time it is baby tiger Artax, enjoy!

Sort:  

they look amazing

they look great

dont they just

@rl90 Rape the rewards pool much? For shame . . .

You should be flagged for this. You pay yourself for writing three words and don't even help the person creating the content.

Is it worth flagging a spam comment? I get them from time to time. I was wondering about a good approach to them. I have just not responded to them so far.

When you hit flag a drop down menu appears and it basically tells you what you can flag people for and one of the options is disagreement on rewards, I think that would be fair

I didn't know there was a drop menu. I was always nervous to press it and accidentally flag someone. Haha That does seem like a fair reason. I just fear back lash. Even if it is justified.

Yeah, i've never flagged anyone either. There is a drop down menu, kinda. I mean just a list I guess haha
Untitled.jpg
A lot of people who flag someone they specify the reason in the comments.

Ahhh, thanks for the info and providing the example.

Anytime! I flagged that person by the way, no self voting in my comments hahaha

@rl90 is the content you've just created really worth the $5 bucks? Thanks again.
Untitled.jpg
right click on the image --> open in new tab for bigger resolution.

Yes can i get some lol looks really delicious

Nope! Not anymore, all gone, sadly :(
I will make more next time, thank you for the support!

So yummy looking!

It wasn't easy getting there, I messed up so many pancakes in the past!

Ill get some !

another goddess creation !!

Please! That cat :D

She deserve a piece don't she ? heh!

She does of course! :) pancakes are so good!

This brings back memories...

Hopefully the good ones :)

Those look SO good! Served with blueberrys and walnuts sounds awesome.

(I add a bit of vanilla extract to my pancakes and it gives them an extra "umph":)

Good point @drobinson! I actually did a couple drops vanilla extract to the batter, I wonder why I left that out haha, oh well! Not gonna edit the post!

Oh great!
I don't blame you, it always frightens me to edit long posts!

I'd just need to add another line to the ingredients, but it's okay haha, leaves some room for improvisation!

I think you nailed it! I like the bit of history that you put along with it. Not only are people learning to make some good ass pancakes, but getting educated as well.

Good post Ann!

Thank you Jesse! It is my very 1st time ever making decent looking pancakes haha

Your pancake skill has improved for sure. They look better than the last ones. Did they taste better?

They actually did! This is how I am going to be making pancakes from now on!
TRY MY RECIPE!

Looks delicious. We call then drop scones in Britain (amongst other names of course). X

I've never heard this one, didn't even see that name on Food Timeline, or maybe I just wasn't focused!
Thank you!

Scottish pancakes also known as I am sure. Lots of regions have their own interpretations in Britain. They are a winter teatime treat, plain served warm with butter and a good jam. You Americans as usual improved things by cooking fruit into them, etc. X

Yeah, if you read Food Timeline that I was talking about in my post, it actually tells the story that the pancakes, crepes etc were sort of invented in Europe, but then people in the different regions cooked them according to what was available.
Even though I live in the US, I'm actually from Crimea.

Ooops, sorry! History of food is really fascinating, I am with you here. X

No worries! :)

Ugh, I want pancakes now... Time to get some blueberries :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43