Fitness & Health, Chemical Free, Herbs vs. Big Pharma, and Homesteading & Permaculture

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

2016-05-20 14.32.04.jpg

My name is Marlene Olsen and I am brand new to Steemit! I have always wanted to start a YouTube Channel, but have not truly felt as though I could speak my mind without being censored.

Let me start by telling you a little about my self. I am 29, born and raised in Nebraska, and married to my gorgeous husband for almost 8 years now. We have no children and 3 dogs.

Some of my interests include fitness & losing weight, as well as living a healthier lifestyle that is chemical and toxin free. I am not really the "tree hugger", "save the whales" or "global warming" type, but if it benefits my body (and my family) and being the healthiest I can be, then I am all about that! I am very interested in learning more about using herbs & food as medicine instead of reaching for the drugs from big pharma in order to heal my body.

One of the other major interests in my life is Homesteading & Permaculture. I am interested in living off the grid and being able to provide for myself and my family as much as possible. This is for a couple of reasons. I try to keep a "middle-of-the-road" approach, but you never know when a disaster could happen and I want to be as prepared as possible and not have to completely rely on Government assistance or handouts in a situation like that. The other reason goes along with the health benefits/concerns above. If I am providing for most/all of my needs, then I know where my food is coming from and what I am putting in/on my body. With Permaculture, I feel like it is the best way of gardening, because honestly homesteading is a lot of work and I am kinda lazy. If I can setup a gardening system once and provide minimal maintenance (other than harvesting) then it is a win win situation for me!

As for the direction of this Channel...I have no idea yet. I am very passionate about researching everything! I also tend to question the "official story" almost always. I may do some videos sometimes and other times I may just write a blog post. By no means have I ever claimed to be an English major either! The key is participation and feedback in my work. The more you comment and the more you upvote my work, the more I will be motivated to keep posting. I look forward to getting to know you soon!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I really like how you phrased your values... " I am not really the "tree hugger", "save the whales" or "global warming" type, but if it benefits my body (and my family) and being the healthiest I can be, then I am all about that! " That's totally me! I blog about my experience trying to cultivate a healthier lifestyle right here on Steemit! Can't wait to see your future posts!

@kiaraantonoviche Thank you! I think I am going to start by talking about what I have been doing lately to try to lose fat. Be looking out for a post tomorrow!

Welcome Marlene great post, welcome to Steemit great place to express and learn new things,enjoy. @kevinace

Thanks for the reply, Kevin! I am excited about the community and look forward to interacting with others!

Welcome to steemit !! Enjoy this beautiful world! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86