[vlog] Fit@40 diary - Entry #3: No days off!

in #fitat406 years ago


2018-03-13 10.33.57.jpg

So today was a rest day. No weight training. No kickboxing. However it wasn't a time to put my feet up and get lazy. I'm a strong believer in going with positive momentum and right now I can feel my body responding to the changes in diet and workout intensity with weight loss.

I know there are going to be days when I plateau. Days when I train like a demon and see no results. So at times like this when my body is responding it is important to take advantage and maximise it.

Generally I'm trying to avoid days off unless I really can't train. That doesn't mean I go balls to the wall every day. It does mean that I do things on my rest days to remind my body that it is in training. It will be stretched, even subtly every day.

For me being about to push out a cardio session should be a basic requirement. I think everyone should hace a baseline activity. Even if it's just walking for an hour in the morning.

Our bodies were designed to move. Yet it is becoming the new norm to be static. There were days when I worked in an office when I'd literary walk around less than thirty minutes in a day. Two minute walk to the station, five minute walk to work; literally a whole day at a desk or in meetings then back home again.

Perversely it is looked at as a "convenience" to live and work so close to public transportation. Even better if you're able to commute easily by car.

It was indeed a convenience... to the corporation I was working for. Perhaps even for my financial bottom line. However for my health it was a slow and silent killer! Thankfully, I've rectified that now.

And on that cheery note.... here are the stats for today.

#Tracking those Macros - 21st March 2018

MORNING

WEIGHT

228.7lb

STEADY STATE CARDIO:

  • 20min walk

FASTED HIIT CARDIO:

Light Jogging 5 min (5.5mph)
Sprint 30 sec 50% max speed (6.5mph)
Light Jogging 2 min
Sprint 30 sec 60% max speed (7.5mph)
Light Jogging 2 min
Sprint 30 sec 50% max speed (6.5mph)
Light Jogging 2 min
Sprint 30 sec 80% max speed (9.5mph)
Light Jogging 2 min
Sprint 30 sec 100% max speed (11.5mph)
Walking on treadmill 4 min cool down

STEADY STATE CARDIO:

  • 20min walk

POST WORKOUT WEIGHT

227.0lb

BREAKFAST

Super Goodness Porridge x2 (30.7g sachets)
x2 eggs, x2 egg white (scrambled)
x2 wholemeal bread
x1 Wellman tablet
Bowl of Melons


2018-03-21 10.51.34.jpg

AFTERNOON

LUNCH

  • Salmon, Rice and Salad

    2018-03-21 14.57.30.jpg

EVENING

SNACK

  • Banana, orange

DINNER

  • Cod, Rice and Veg

    2018-03-21 21.12.39.jpg

Verdict

The Interval Sessions are getting easier as I feel my fitness improving. My intraday recover has always been pretty good regardless of how intense the workout however I now feel my intra-workout recovery picking up.

Previous:

Fit@40 dairy - No #2
Fit@40 dairy - No #1

Sort:  

Woooooo, I love your diets, wish I could come work out with you.

The Interval Sessions are getting easier as I feel my fitness improving. My intraday recover has always been pretty good regardless of how intense the workout however I now feel my intra-workout recovery picking up.

That's what happens when consistency is involved, your heavy weight today will be your warm up tomorrow.

It was indeed a convenience... to the corporation I was working for. Perhaps even for my financial bottom line. However for my health it was a slow and silent killer! Thankfully, I've rectified that now.

This is deep. For someone who works and go to school, how do I create the time to fit all these in perfectly?

P.S. I don't workout but want to

Personally, I like to make it compulsory and part of my daily routine. Even if it is just half-an-hour a day. Also build intensity over time. Little but often counts over time. Consistency is key.

Your diet is almost all green!
Is it possible to eat that little without going hungry the whole day?

Yep - it sure is! Lots of water and other activities to occupy the mind. Once I lean out, I'll be able to pack on the calories sensibly.

Ooh, it's a mind thing then.

Our bodies were designed to move. Yet it is becoming the new norm to be static.

As of right now I do not workout at all, but being a university student i am constantly on the move! Does it count?

Sure... activity is activity. It depends on what your goals are.

I have this genuine feeling that I would need this after school.. although for now I think the stress of school is enough work out.. w
My question is , for slender, do you need to still work out or just eat right?

Working out is important to retain muscle mass... it is also a great way to burn calories. So yes, do both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50