30 Day Movie Challenge - #21 - What is the most overrated film?

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Day 21 - What is the most overrated film?

Answer: Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977)

Yeah. I know. I'm aware I might make some people a little upset with this answer. I know this is a controversial answer, but I'm sticking by it. I really don't understand what all the hype is about when it comes to Star Wars. People lose their minds whenever some new Star Wars something gets birthed into existence. Sometimes it's because people are in love with the series. Sometimes it's because the new thing somehow ruins somethings and it gets them all in a tizzy. I just don't see it. I don't get why people are so passionate about this series. I guess the same could be said about something I really enjoy. I don't know. I'm just not seeing how Star Wars blew up into what it's become after seeing these films.

I could chalk it up to having something of a weird history with Star Wars. I'll be honest. I didn't end up watching the original trilogy until about a few years ago. It was fairly recent. I was one of those weirdos that just never care to or never had the chance to watch the films. I somehow made it to 26 years old and had never seen Star Wars. Ironically, I could still tell you everything about Star Wars because the films have been so ingrained in pop culture that pretty much everyone has made a joke, a reference, or a parody at some point. That kind of leads into my experience with Star Wars. I watched the original trilogy and found myself getting bored. I didn't really care. I wasn't invested in the film like I should've been.

Since Star Wars has been everywhere in pop culture, I pretty much knew beat for beat what was going to happen in the movies despite it being the first time I was watching them. (I was sorely disappointed in Boba Fett's character. I thought I was going to really like him from all I had heard about him, but apparently he only gets more interesting outside of the films.) I'm not saying I don't like Star Wars. I'm not saying they're bad films. I'm not even a Star Trek fan, so I'm not holding any loyalty to the rival franchise. I just don't see what all the hype is about when it comes to Star Wars. I think people get way too excited over these films and it's mind blowing to me how much of thing this is. I really don't think there's anything special about it.

Sort:  

Тоже не являюсь поклонником этого фильма.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67