30 Day Movie Challenge - #1 - What is your favorite film?

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Day 1 - What is your favorite film?

Answer: Scarface (1983)

Is there really anything I need to say about this film? It has been so deeply ingrained in pop culture over the last three decades that I would be a little surprised if someone doesn't at least have a base knowledge of Scarface. It is often listed in the Top 10's of many quintessential gangster films in its genre. For good reason, too. I had a hard time picking just one favorite film. There's so many I really enjoy. I tend to overthink things and end up breaking them down into different genres. I can't really pick just one film. However, if there's one movie that fits all the criteria of what I consider to be one of my favorite movies, Scarface is one of them.

The film features one of my favorite actors of all time in the starring role. Al Pacino owns the role with his portrayal of Tony Montana. There's just something interesting about having a gangster with a heart of gold. Yeah. He is a ruthless criminal climbing his way to the top of the food chain, but that honesty he has in his heart really sets Tony Montana apart from the others. Loyalty to people who are loyal to him. Keeping his moral compass in tact. Refuses to involve women and children in their crimes. I don't think I can see anyone else in the role. It's kind of funny too considering this film is a loose remake of a 1932 film with the same name.

The difference being that the 1932 film is a closer representation of real life gangster, Al Capone, with it being set in the prohibition era and is more in line with the classic idea of a gangster film. Brian DePalma updates the film, changes the location from Chicago to Miami, makes Tony Camonte into Tony Montana, and puts the focus on the widespread distribution of cocaine. Crime movies are some of my favorites and Scarface is at the top of that list. The cast is top notch. The film's soundtrack oozes that classic 80's synth sound. The script's update to fit the time period it's set in is well done. There's really nothing more I can say that hasn't already been said before.

So, I'll say Scarface is my choice and leave it at that.


Sort:  

Hi @d-steezy, I see that you have just started a very interesting #challenge #30DaysMovieChallenge 🎥🎬
I also value the Scarface movie very much, and Al Pacino is one of my favorite actors 🔝🔝
Speaking about my favorite movies, these are Silence of The Lambs, directed by Jonathan Demme in 1991 with the invaluable Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster in the main roles - to which I have a huge fondness 🎬👌
Or Godfather, directed by Francis Ford Coppola with the daring roles of Marlon Brando and Al Pacino, and the amazing music of Mario Puzzo in the background. This classic from 1972 has stolen my heart forever ❤🎥
I think I'll have to start this challenge on my profile, to finally decide 😉
Thank you for an entertaining publication! 👍👋

great i love film..

Is this a challenge or something? I will try to do this. A post daily is more fruitful.

Yeah. I want to do a post a day with this idea. I know it was typically done on Tumblr or something. But Steemit seems as good of place as any to have fun with it.

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Awesome Challenge! and an excellent choice for a Favorite Film.

It was definitely a very complete film, great actors and director, with a strong screenplay. The rise and fall of tony Montana will always be a remarkable jewel in the history of film.

Looking forward to the day 2 in your challenge, good luck!

Great idea @d-steezy

I love your pick of Scarface. A really great movie in a genre full of great movies.

If i'm going to pick one I would have to say The Usual Suspects. Awesome twist, fantastic actors and great direction.

Keep up the good work. Followed. 😁

Gaz

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18