30 Day Movie Challenge - #13 - What is a film you used to love, but now you hate?

in #film6 years ago

Day 13 - What is a film you used to love, but now you hate?

Answer: X-Men (2000)

I kind of don't really understand this day's challenge all that much. Maybe it's just me. I don't really have any films that I used to be a big fan of and now I despise for whatever reason. I don't change my mind on movies that often. If I enjoy a movie, I like it. If I don't enjoy a movie, I don't like it. Sometimes I can change my mind on movies I didn't like initially, but I gave it another chance sometime down the line and maybe that changed my opinion on it. However, I don't really have any movies that I stopped liking. I can acknowledge when a movie doesn't age well or if a movie isn't as good to me now as it was before, but I can still find enjoyment out of it. Something really terrible has to happen for me to just automatically start hating a movie I used to enjoy. So... You know what? I'm going to tweak this challenge just slightly. Hate is too strong of a word. I'll make this challenge be... "What is a film you used to like, but now you don't find the same enjoyment of?" Yeah? Yeah. I guess I'm going to pick the original X-Men movie for this one.

Again. I don't hate this movie. I don't even really dislike the movie either. I just don't find the same kind of enjoyment watching it now that I used to. The reason being is that superhero movies have come a long way since 2000. We've seen some good ones come out. We've seen some terrible ones too. My problem with X-Men is that it kind of falls somewhere in between. It's just kind of okay. The film has problems. It could be better. Considering how well superhero films are doing these days and how much better it is to do something more accurate to the source material, I kind of hold this genre to a higher standard now. It's hard to go back to older films that aren't that good anymore when there are so many films that have done it better now. It's kind of a shame because X-Men could've capitalized on the ensemble film idea before Avengers did, but they've kind of had a bad track record with the series as a whole.

Honestly, I could really put the entire X-Men film franchise as a whole on this particular challenge. I'm conflicted. I both want to see where things go from here and I want to see the series get rebooted at the same time. Some of the characters have had excellent casting. Hugh Jackman owned the role of Wolverine. Sir Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart were amazing choices for Magneto and Professor Xavier. Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy are actually pretty good replacements for the younger versions of the characters. I know they did a soft reboot with X-Men: Days of Future Past, but I feel like ever since they did X-Men Origins: Wolverine that continuity has kind of gone out the window. X-Men: First Class made it a little worse by putting so much focus on the character Mystique and giving her some kind of strong connection with Professor Xavier that was never even hinted at in the original trilogy. The whole franchise has been kind of a mess and I want to see the series start over from scratch. Unfortunately, I do like some of the casting choices we have at the moment. I don't know. I guess we will see where things go after X-Men: Dark Phoenix and New Mutants.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50